Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Anthony @ LG Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2013, 07:43 AM   #1
hrpiii
AKA "Beefcake"
 
hrpiii's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM w/Black stripes
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indy
Posts: 4,106
Quick Question/observation

This is my first supercharger (new TVS 2300) and my first long trip with it, through the mountains. My trip was from Indianapolis to the coast of NC, traveling through the mntns of WVa. When I was in the highest part of the mountain, I got a "Service Car Soon" in the DIC. Anytime I would stop for a break, restart the car, the message would again appear. Once I got back to a lower altitude, the message would never come on again. On my return trip, once in the upper part of the mountains, same error displayed. Once out of the mountains, no more error displayed.

Was it just the 'thin' air that would cause that? I had never read anyone else having that on the forum and was just curious. Car ran great, had plenty of power climbing the mountains and was a blast on the way down. weeeeeeee.

It was a great trip, had a blast, put 1,835 miles on it round trip and motor never skipped a beat. Drove straight through on the way there, 12 hrs, was still going strong. I love this car.
__________________
Pfadt Suspension, Supercharged, Showstopper 'bling', Pedderized by Bruce and Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports
hrpiii is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:40 AM   #2
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrpiii View Post
This is my first supercharger (new TVS 2300) and my first long trip with it, through the mountains. My trip was from Indianapolis to the coast of NC, traveling through the mntns of WVa. When I was in the highest part of the mountain, I got a "Service Car Soon" in the DIC. Anytime I would stop for a break, restart the car, the message would again appear. Once I got back to a lower altitude, the message would never come on again. On my return trip, once in the upper part of the mountains, same error displayed. Once out of the mountains, no more error displayed.

Was it just the 'thin' air that would cause that? I had never read anyone else having that on the forum and was just curious. Car ran great, had plenty of power climbing the mountains and was a blast on the way down. weeeeeeee.

It was a great trip, had a blast, put 1,835 miles on it round trip and motor never skipped a beat. Drove straight through on the way there, 12 hrs, was still going strong. I love this car.
Best to Check for Stored codes.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:55 AM   #3
hrpiii
AKA "Beefcake"
 
hrpiii's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM w/Black stripes
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indy
Posts: 4,106
Thanks Ted. I have a Diablo Tuner I took with me. I checked when I got to NC for any codes and none were displaying/found. It was just odd.

I will also stop by my tuner and let him take a look to see if it has any. I am by no means a professional when it comes to that. I will leave it to you pros!
__________________
Pfadt Suspension, Supercharged, Showstopper 'bling', Pedderized by Bruce and Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports
hrpiii is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:11 AM   #4
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrpiii View Post
Thanks Ted. I have a Diablo Tuner I took with me. I checked when I got to NC for any codes and none were displaying/found. It was just odd.

I will also stop by my tuner and let him take a look to see if it has any. I am by no means a professional when it comes to that. I will leave it to you pros!
The Diablo tuner May not be able to see all the codes, you will probably need to see a Dealer with a scanner that can look at all of the modules in the car.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:11 AM   #5
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
You should have stopped by on your way through. We could have lined it up real quick. I've always been curious if thinning air could do that with an agressive tune.. Keep us posted.
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:32 AM   #6
hrpiii
AKA "Beefcake"
 
hrpiii's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM w/Black stripes
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indy
Posts: 4,106
will do guys, thanks.
__________________
Pfadt Suspension, Supercharged, Showstopper 'bling', Pedderized by Bruce and Tuned by Mike Norris Motorsports
hrpiii is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:43 AM   #7
04GOAT-11SS
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS 2004 GTO
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 36
I beleive that the computer takes a measurement of barometric pressure using the MAP sensor each time prior to starting. On some vehicles this is done when it goes WOT. Obviously on a car with forced induction that's not going to apply as MAP pressure would not be atmospheric but instead boost pressure. There may be some correlation between that and why it wasn't happening at lower elevations. But Ted of course is 100% here and you gotta see what codes it has stored in history. Otherwise it's all guesses.
__________________
2011 2SS/RS - Kooks Headers, HFCs, Corsa exhaust, Magnacharged, Cold Air Inductions CAI, tuned by JRE
04GOAT-11SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:03 AM   #8
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,806
Never had an issue, and I live at 5500ft.
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:12 AM   #9
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SS45th View Post
Never had an issue, and I live at 5500ft.
Yes but you were tuned at that DA correct? Our concern is being tuned at low DA and traveling to say 9000ft.
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:30 AM   #10
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,806
I was tuned at roughly 4500ft, and have gone as high as 12k feet in elevation with the car, and have had no issues.
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.