Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2013, 03:20 PM   #1
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 83
stabilitrack message after header install

I finally put headers on my car and it was a handful. Now I drive it and the stabilitrack message comes on. Anyone have an idea what it could be.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
omgitsmikeyC

 
Drives: 2014 CTS-V Coupe
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,038
But loads of torque management and a computer tune issue
__________________
2014 CTS-V... with some go-fast bits coming
omgitsmikeyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:32 PM   #3
SPCBA


 
Drives: pleather and Chiclets
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: a line somwhere
Posts: 4,101
mine was a cracked spark plug after header install..never threw a cel just gave the stabilitrack message. its like the one message fits all for our car.
__________________
SPCBA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:34 PM   #4
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Did you remove the spark plugs before install?
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:16 PM   #5
Devilfish
US Navy Chief
 
Devilfish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rotten Groton, CT
Posts: 354
Check your plug wires.
Devilfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:18 PM   #6
white ZL1

 
Drives: none
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW area
Posts: 1,835
Misfires, for some reason or another.
white ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:31 PM   #7
omgitsmikeyC

 
Drives: 2014 CTS-V Coupe
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,038
Any other sensors he could have hit? Tps or crank sensor?
__________________
2014 CTS-V... with some go-fast bits coming
omgitsmikeyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:10 PM   #8
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 7,430
Cracked spark plug. Had the exact same issue. Check em!!
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:17 PM   #9
JOHNSON SPEED SHOP
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2 SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Park City, UT.
Posts: 15
Loose plug wire.
JOHNSON SPEED SHOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:26 PM   #10
Nightmare2012
come find out;)
 
Drives: stockish 2012 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: speed county
Posts: 2,167
Anybody know the exact size for the spark plugs is it a 14 or 15mm?
Nightmare2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:54 PM   #11
LSX Camaro
Master ASE, GM, LSX Tech.
 
LSX Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Irvine, CA.
Posts: 728
5/8 is the correct size.
LSX Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:17 PM   #12
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
Did you remove the spark plugs before install?
Yes I did.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:43 PM   #13
heymatt

 
heymatt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 IBM 2SS Vert.
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tequesta, Fl.
Posts: 781
Do you have a code reader? May have a code showing which cylinder is misfiring.
__________________
LS3/M6 K&N, VMAX throttle body, RX Catch Can, skip shift eliminator, DT shorties and Solo HFC, DRL harness and 5K LED DRL, ZL1 rear sway, 1LE front sway
heymatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:44 PM   #14
mikeyg36


 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28 #533, 2016 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Garden City, NY/Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 6,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by thjr59 View Post
Yes I did.
Hmmm. Check plug wires then.
__________________
“Driving a muscle car fast isn't that fun, it's driving one slowly and making a ton of noise and pissing people off, that's what’s fun.” –Matt Farah
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:48 PM   #15
matt55

 
matt55's Avatar
 
Drives: CTS-V
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 1,057
Me to , it was a plug wire :-/
__________________
11.9@119mph, 495 whp , Airaid + tune .
matt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:25 PM   #16
black79ta
 
black79ta's Avatar
 
Drives: 79 transam with 582cid dart motor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 519
this is funny, i just (2hrs ago)finished mine also, kooks, cats i got a stabilitrack error also..
__________________

2010 Camaro (inferno orange, 2SS, RS and such)
cat backs, catch can, CAI on the way
79 Transam, 582 cid dart motor 779hp 315's out back 40spline gdaxles tko tranny
black79ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:51 PM   #17
ajax.
 
ajax.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 12SS,12SRT8,14COPO,77Vette
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 176
It's almost too funny. My engine blows up as the only message I get is Serice Stabilitrak...lol. When I installed my CAI I was so excited I just fired it up and forgot to plug back in the maf sensor and all I got was a rough engine and service Stabilitrak.
__________________
ajax. is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.