Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SNL Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2013, 02:20 PM   #1
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 82
stabilitrack message after header install

I finally put headers on my car and it was a handful. Now I drive it and the stabilitrack message comes on. Anyone have an idea what it could be.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:29 PM   #2
omgitsmikeyC
Mike
 
omgitsmikeyC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Anniversary 2 SS auto
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 949
But loads of torque management and a computer tune issue
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary/Auto
going back to stock
Metroplex Muscle Car Club
Lonestar Camaro Club
omgitsmikeyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:32 PM   #3
SPCBA
Blake
 
SPCBA's Avatar
 
Drives: pleather and Chiclets
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: a VA line somwhere
Posts: 3,714
mine was a cracked spark plug after header install..never threw a cel just gave the stabilitrack message. its like the one message fits all for our car.
__________________
SPCBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 02:34 PM   #4
mikeyg36
The GT Troll Hundred
 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: Cammed '12 2SS/RS LS3 '15 Z/28
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 8,247
Did you remove the spark plugs before install?
__________________
Click For Build Thread ***CAI Intake, ARH LTs, FSP Big NA Cam, Tuned By Matt@FSP***
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:16 PM   #5
Devilfish
US Navy Chief
 
Devilfish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rotten Groton, CT
Posts: 358
Check your plug wires.
Devilfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:18 PM   #6
white ZL1

 
white ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #7922
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW area
Posts: 1,557
Misfires, for some reason or another.
__________________

2013 ZL1 #7922
ADM CAI, 90mm tb, 9.55 lower, LS9 cam, ID 1000s, SW 1 7/8" headers, ADM/Ron Davis hx
white ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:31 PM   #7
omgitsmikeyC
Mike
 
omgitsmikeyC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Anniversary 2 SS auto
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 949
Any other sensors he could have hit? Tps or crank sensor?
__________________
2012 2SS 45th Anniversary/Auto
going back to stock
Metroplex Muscle Car Club
Lonestar Camaro Club
omgitsmikeyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:10 PM   #8
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,775
Cracked spark plug. Had the exact same issue. Check em!!
__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #9
JOHNSON SPEED SHOP
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2 SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Park City, UT.
Posts: 15
Loose plug wire.
JOHNSON SPEED SHOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:26 PM   #10
Nightmare2012
come find out;)
 
Drives: stockish 2012 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edinburg tx
Posts: 2,146
Anybody know the exact size for the spark plugs is it a 14 or 15mm?
__________________
Fastest n/a 5th gen in rgv area build in progress
Best 1/4 mile time: 11.3@123
Nightmare2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 05:54 PM   #11
LSX Camaro
Master ASE, GM, LSX Tech.
 
LSX Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Laguna Niguel, Ca.
Posts: 450
5/8 is the correct size.
LSX Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:17 PM   #12
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyg36 View Post
Did you remove the spark plugs before install?
Yes I did.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:43 PM   #13
heymatt
 
heymatt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 IBM 2SS Vert.
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tequesta, Fl.
Posts: 721
Do you have a code reader? May have a code showing which cylinder is misfiring.
__________________
LS3/M6 K&N, VMAX throttle body, RX Catch Can, skip shift eliminator, DT shorties and Solo HFC, DRL harness and 5K LED DRL, ZL1 rear sway, 1LE front sway
heymatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:44 PM   #14
mikeyg36
The GT Troll Hundred
 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: Cammed '12 2SS/RS LS3 '15 Z/28
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 8,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by thjr59 View Post
Yes I did.
Hmmm. Check plug wires then.
__________________
Click For Build Thread ***CAI Intake, ARH LTs, FSP Big NA Cam, Tuned By Matt@FSP***
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:48 PM   #15
matt55

 
matt55's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS AMB , mini revo
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 930
Me to , it was a plug wire :-/
__________________
matt55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:25 PM   #16
black79ta
 
black79ta's Avatar
 
Drives: 79 transam with 582cid dart motor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: missouri
Posts: 442
this is funny, i just (2hrs ago)finished mine also, kooks, cats i got a stabilitrack error also..
__________________

2010 Camaro (inferno orange, 2SS, RS and such)
cat backs, catch can, CAI on the way
79 Transam, 582 cid dart motor 779hp 315's out back 40spline gdaxles tko tranny
black79ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 10:51 PM   #17
ajax.
 
ajax.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 12SS,12SRT8,14COPO,77Vette
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 160
It's almost too funny. My engine blows up as the only message I get is Serice Stabilitrak...lol. When I installed my CAI I was so excited I just fired it up and forgot to plug back in the maf sensor and all I got was a rough engine and service Stabilitrak.
__________________
'12 L99 IOM, 1 7/8 Stainless Power Headers,SW S-Tube Exhaust, Tuned, Rx catch can, Nitto NT05R DR's, GM 3.91 Gears, TCS 3600 Triple Disc stall
ajax. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:56 PM   #18
Denis


 
Denis's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lexington Park, MD
Posts: 5,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by thjr59 View Post
Yes I did.
Hmmmm well if removed them and didn't drop them or anything check your wires.

When I did mine I had the same exact issue and everyone said to check the plugs. So I did and found this.

__________________
Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:55 AM   #19
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 82
That's my next step, to check the plugs, since I checked the wires twice.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:08 PM   #20
mikeyg36
The GT Troll Hundred
 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: Cammed '12 2SS/RS LS3 '15 Z/28
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 8,247
If that doesn't work, read the code(s) and see what cylinder has the misfire.
__________________
Click For Build Thread ***CAI Intake, ARH LTs, FSP Big NA Cam, Tuned By Matt@FSP***
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:08 PM   #21
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 82
Went to advanced auto and they said they didn't see any codes. But I'm going to check the plugs anyway.
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:09 PM   #22
mikeyg36
The GT Troll Hundred
 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: Cammed '12 2SS/RS LS3 '15 Z/28
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 8,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by thjr59 View Post
Went to advanced auto and they said they didn't see any codes. But I'm going to check the plugs anyway.
That's odd. Does it still have the message?
__________________
Click For Build Thread ***CAI Intake, ARH LTs, FSP Big NA Cam, Tuned By Matt@FSP***
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:44 PM   #23
thjr59
 
thjr59's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 82
Still has it
thjr59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:46 PM   #24
mikeyg36
The GT Troll Hundred
 
mikeyg36's Avatar
 
Drives: Cammed '12 2SS/RS LS3 '15 Z/28
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 8,247
Quote:
Originally Posted by thjr59 View Post
Still has it
I'm out of ideas
__________________
Click For Build Thread ***CAI Intake, ARH LTs, FSP Big NA Cam, Tuned By Matt@FSP***
mikeyg36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:21 PM   #25
need4spd
 
need4spd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS Black on Black
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 279
There is a big bunch of wires by the firewall driver side behind steering shaft. Check the coonectors. That might have been hit when installing headers. That gives out funny codes when loose.
__________________
previous ride - 2010 CGM 2LT RS auto w/roof, eibach lowering springs, volante cai, mrt v2 axle back

current ride - 2012 Black on Black 2SS RS w/ sunroof, muffler delete with SLP exhaust tips, rotofab cai, Falken RT7 wheels, gm strut brace, BMR 1.4 drop springs all four corners, Stainless Power 1 7/8 long tubes, Hex Vents, Jannetty Racing Tune, Helmholtz J pipe.
need4spd is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.