Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Nobody has any info or has used the PAC SOEM-4!!

I bought a PAC SOEM-4 to hook up my Kicker system to my stock radio and trying to find out if it is better to hook it up behind the radio with the 2011 camaro adaptor or in the trunk attached to the rear speaker wires?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by CamaroLS; 05-28-2013 at 08:46 AM. Reason: Add picture
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:39 AM   #2
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 304
This pice is best behind the readio if you are going to using a 4 or 5 ch amp. If it is just sub and amp a sni- 35 will do the job with out taking out the radio or any 2ch high low. So whit that be said what are you planing on doing with the whole system ???
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:48 AM   #3
KMAN114
 
Drives: 2010 Black LS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 289
I am using that same LOC hooked up to the rear speakers and I happy with it.
KMAN114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:56 AM   #4
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
I am running a sub amp and a 4 channel amp for my 6.5 and 6x9 speakers. I bought the 5th Gen adaptor to plug into the radio OEM wiring. Looks like this!
Attached Images
 
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:11 AM   #5
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 304
Look like a t harness one side in to the oem plug and the other into the radio look like you have to wire the out put side to the input side of the PAC pice Wires should match up
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:21 AM   #6
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
I have it connected to the pack like this! My question is once I plug this into the factory harness and than to the radio I should not have to run any wires to a ground or power source right? Instructions suck that they sent with the unit!!
Attached Images
 
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:45 AM   #7
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 304
You have to grand it yes or radio will not turn on
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:52 AM   #8
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfree11012 View Post
You have to grand it yes or radio will not turn on
Ok. Thanks
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:43 AM   #9
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfree11012 View Post
You have to grand it yes or radio will not turn on
Should I ground it to the radio ground or find a piece of metal to attach it to?
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:57 AM   #10
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 304
Metal is going to give you the best ground
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:47 AM   #11
CyberPunk223
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 LS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 388
I don't know how you would fit that unit behind the Radio, there's almost no room back there, you may have to extend the wires and mount it somewhere else. Maybe someone else could answer,,

also that SOEM-4 is meant to only hook up a SUB amp,, I know it's confusing because there is 4-channels coming out of it but if you look there is no speaker return wires for your 4 speakers and the harness is designed to only power your 4 speakers off of the factory HU,,,,you have to run your own speaker wires for a 4 channel Amp,,, you could modify the harness to do this,,,, what I did was modify the harness to feed back into the front doors and then just run new wires for the back speakers since the amp was back there anyway. I guess the PAC keeps the 4 channels separated but I don't know for sure.

Check out my thread on how I did mine, I decided not to use the PAC since seemed that it would just complicate the install, it's something else to run power & ground too, I just ran speaker level inputs into my amp, I'm happy with the out come.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296351

If you use the PAC for all 5 channels please let us know how it turns out,,, I just decided not to mess with it.
CyberPunk223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #12
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Ok, got it all hooked up and sounds good but the last couple of days the amp will turn on and off even when I don't have the power turned on to the amp!! I installed the PAC just like the guy at PAC told me to. Said hook yellow up to power and black/blue wire to ground and the blue wire to amp. Said not to hook up the black wire in this set up to a ground so I did not. It works great but like I said even when I don't have my power turned on to the amp sometimes it still turns on itself.
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:36 AM   #13
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Here is the email from PAC!!!

If you have the kit the harness will plug right in to your factory harness and that will supply you with the input connections you need to the SOEM-4. On the output side the RCA's will connect to inputs on your amplifier. The power wires only need to hooked up if want to use the remote wire from the SOEM-4 to turn on the amplifier. The yellow wire connects to constant 12 volts. The blue/black wire connects to ground. The blue wire connects to the remote in on the amplifier. The black wire will not be used.
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:26 PM   #14
CyberPunk223
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 LS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 388
where in the car did you get power for the yellow Wire? your power source is probably turning on & off causing the amp to do the same. these cars are very sophisticated compared to the old cars and do weird things, some people run from the accessory plug so it's only on when the ignition is on.

the chimes all play through the door speakers so that can cause it to act funny.
CyberPunk223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:56 PM   #15
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
I have it hooked up to the acc in the center console. But I have it where I can unplug it when I don't want the amp and subs on. But with it unpluged it turns on for no reason.
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:10 PM   #16
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroLS View Post
I have it hooked up to the acc in the center console. But I have it where I can unplug it when I don't want the amp and subs on. But with it unpluged it turns on for no reason.
You do have the blue wire connected to amp do you?
__________________
Caddy

Caddy
Caddyroger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:13 PM   #17
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caddyroger View Post
You do have the blue wire connected to amp do you?
Yes. Blue remote turn-on wire to the amp.
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:14 PM   #18
CyberPunk223
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 LS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 388
your amp may have the signal sensing turn on feature, it may be getting a signal from your HU and might be turning itself on,, but I don't know if that is possible with the PAC unplugged..
does your amp have that feature?

unplug the RCA's from the amp and see if it still turns on with the PAC unplugged.

that's going to take some experimenting & thinking.
CyberPunk223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:32 PM   #19
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
I am going to check everything this weekend. I sent PAC support a email about it today. I am running a Kicker 300.1 to 2 10" comp subs.
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:04 PM   #20
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Ok here is a update. I had it right before I installed the PAC but the way the instructions showed I thought I had it backwards so I switched the wire harnesses on both sides. So after talking to them I found out I had it right the first time. So I took everything apart and switched them back. Now it is working like it should with no problems!! I tweaked the settings some and now it sounds awesome with any type of music. Happy Happy Happy
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:59 PM   #21
crashprime
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS IOM M6
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 172
PAC makes this product specifically for GM vehicles under the sku "PAC AA-GM44" if you are looking for information about it.

Lots of folks like this product for it's t-harness, but not so much the actual LOC portion.
crashprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 09:21 PM   #22
CyberPunk223
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 LS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroLS View Post
Ok here is a update. I had it right before I installed the PAC but the way the instructions showed I thought I had it backwards so I switched the wire harnesses on both sides. So after talking to them I found out I had it right the first time. So I took everything apart and switched them back. Now it is working like it should with no problems!! I tweaked the settings some and now it sounds awesome with any type of music. Happy Happy Happy
I knew you would find it, just took some thinking, so you had the 2 blue wires mixed up?
CyberPunk223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:33 AM   #23
CamaroLS

 
CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Yellow Chevy Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberPunk223 View Post
I knew you would find it, just took some thinking, so you had the 2 blue wires mixed up?
No! The 2 wire harnesses that plug into the PAC. The T-connector plugs into the input side and the RCA's plug into the output side. That fixed my turning off and on when there was no power to the PAC. Thanks
CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.