Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons For all LFX related parts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2013, 08:15 AM   #1
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
Strange Idle with VMAX PTB

Well ive had my intake mods done for a while so was hopeing this problem would work it self out but it hasn't. My car ran better than fine with no problems after i intalled my CAI and then i finally got my VMAX PTB and after i installed it noticed a little hiccup. I have noticed that as im coming to a stop, at a light or sign, when i come to a complete stop the car will try to idle to low and almost cut off then it will idle high about 750-800 rpms. Sometimes after it idles high it will drop back down too far again and then idle high again other times it will slowly drop back down to about 500 rpms and sit steady but even then the idle seems a bit rough. Could this be from having more air flow than the untuned computer can handle? I havent had any CEL's and it hasnt completely cut off on me yet but its just a bit odd. Anyone else experience this?

Last edited by V6 LS Supercar; 05-30-2013 at 04:10 PM.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:19 AM   #2
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Have you data logged? It could be a vacuum leak. Did you hook all the hoses back up properly?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:21 AM   #3
TheShowStopperLFX
 
TheShowStopperLFX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LFX
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Macomb,Michigan
Posts: 102
It Could be the TB. if it was CNC alittle pass the blade it could cause that. I made a post about doing my own CNC TB and this was the answers i got.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=298221
TheShowStopperLFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:52 AM   #4
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
No i havent data logged and honestly dont know how. The only line i saw from the TB was the electrical connector so idk what hoses i could have switched. I have installed a Catch Can and breather cap. So i sealed up the hole in the intake up good and sorted out all problems with my Catch can a good while before i installed the TB. Same goes with the CAI i went back over all my connections. It could be like ShowStopper said a little too much taken off from VMAX may cause the issue and even with a good CNC machine anything can happen. Having a stock tune dosent help but i dont want to lose my warranty.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:01 AM   #5
Camaro588
 
Drives: 2012 camaro LS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Albany N.Y.
Posts: 140
I Have noticed this in mine as well, Exactly like you stated. I noticed it a little with the CAI only, and once installed the VMAX it was more pronounced. Ive had issues with the car in the past thought too, so I still have to make a trip to the dealer.
Camaro588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:04 AM   #6
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 LS Supercar View Post
No i havent data logged and honestly dont know how. The only line i saw from the TB was the electrical connector so idk what hoses i could have switched. I have installed a Catch Can and breather cap. So i sealed up the hole in the intake up good and sorted out all problems with my Catch can a good while before i installed the TB. Same goes with the CAI i went back over all my connections. It could be like ShowStopper said a little too much taken off from VMAX may cause the issue and even with a good CNC machine anything can happen. Having a stock tune dosent help but i dont want to lose my warranty.
No yea I understand, and you capped off the valley cover connection?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:36 AM   #7
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
I have the one on the CAI capped off and the one on the right hand side near the back of the motor if facing the car from the front.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:11 AM   #8
TheShowStopperLFX
 
TheShowStopperLFX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LFX
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Macomb,Michigan
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 LS Supercar View Post
No i havent data logged and honestly dont know how. The only line i saw from the TB was the electrical connector so idk what hoses i could have switched. I have installed a Catch Can and breather cap. So i sealed up the hole in the intake up good and sorted out all problems with my Catch can a good while before i installed the TB. Same goes with the CAI i went back over all my connections. It could be like ShowStopper said a little too much taken off from VMAX may cause the issue and even with a good CNC machine anything can happen. Having a stock tune dosent help but i dont want to lose my warranty.
Fine a dealer that is mod friendly. you might have to look around. that will help you in out favor. because they know tunes won't mess up the car if it is done right.
TheShowStopperLFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:00 AM   #9
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 LS Supercar View Post
No i havent data logged and honestly dont know how. The only line i saw from the TB was the electrical connector so idk what hoses i could have switched. I have installed a Catch Can and breather cap. So i sealed up the hole in the intake up good and sorted out all problems with my Catch can a good while before i installed the TB. Same goes with the CAI i went back over all my connections. It could be like ShowStopper said a little too much taken off from VMAX may cause the issue and even with a good CNC machine anything can happen. Having a stock tune dosent help but i dont want to lose my warranty.

Hello V6 LS Supercar,

Have you considered visiting a dealer to see if they can pinpoint what the issue is? If so, we are able to set that appointment for you to save you some time. We would need some information from you which you can private message me. Here to help.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:02 AM   #10
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camaro588 View Post
I Have noticed this in mine as well, Exactly like you stated. I noticed it a little with the CAI only, and once installed the VMAX it was more pronounced. Ive had issues with the car in the past thought too, so I still have to make a trip to the dealer.
Hello Camaro588,

We can help you as well. Would you like some assistance making an appointment to get you into a dealer? We are able to locate one nearest you for your convenience.

Reggie B.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:09 PM   #11
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
Well i have spoke with Pete from Vmax Motorsports. He said that this is the first time he has heard of any issues with the new LFX PTB. He says that a good tune would fix the issue but im not yet ready to throw a tune on the car yet. He is going to send me a new PTB with a little different porting on it to see if this fixes the problem. He said the new port would hide the blade more or basically lessen the amount of porting done near the blade. He said that i shouldnt see any performance difference down low but it could lose 1 HP or so at WOT. He doesnt think the PTB is bad but i could have the blade slightly hanging up or he said some computers just react a little different to different mods and it varies from car to car so this could just be a computer tune issue. But we shal see.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 05:48 PM   #12
Robmoney23
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS 45th Anniversary
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 61
I have noticed this same issue. It was kinda noticeable at first, but I just recently took a drive to pismo beach at almost zero sea level and it was very dramatic. I thought for sure becasue the revs were so low it was gunna die, but then it would over rev to make up the difference. I am from reno which is 4500 ft elevation. If the new PTB helps please let me know.
__________________
13.27 at 110.1 MPH on street tires, & Dyno 410RWHP/409RWTQ
2012 2SS/RS 45th Anniversary Edition, Tinted Windows, AAC Aqua interior lights & foot lights, CAI Intake, Catch Can, Gloss Black 20" 45th Rims, Kooks Headers, Kooks High Flow Cats, Flowmaster American Thunder Cat Back Exhaust, BMR Lowerin Springs, BMR sway bars, BMR rear end links and bushings, Jannetty Racing/SCT Tuned 91 ctane, 12inch Kicker Comp Sub, Custom Driverside Box, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, and Plasti Dipped bowties, emblems.
Robmoney23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:26 AM   #13
Camaro588
 
Drives: 2012 camaro LS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Albany N.Y.
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robmoney23 View Post
I have noticed this same issue. It was kinda noticeable at first, but I just recently took a drive to pismo beach at almost zero sea level and it was very dramatic. I thought for sure becasue the revs were so low it was gunna die, but then it would over rev to make up the difference. I am from reno which is 4500 ft elevation. If the new PTB helps please let me know.
Let me know as well, cause I will ask for a replacement as well
Camaro588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:29 AM   #14
Camaro588
 
Drives: 2012 camaro LS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Albany N.Y.
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 LS Supercar View Post
Well i have spoke with Pete from Vmax Motorsports. He said that this is the first time he has heard of any issues with the new LFX PTB. He says that a good tune would fix the issue but im not yet ready to throw a tune on the car yet. He is going to send me a new PTB with a little different porting on it to see if this fixes the problem. He said the new port would hide the blade more or basically lessen the amount of porting done near the blade. He said that i shouldnt see any performance difference down low but it could lose 1 HP or so at WOT. He doesnt think the PTB is bad but i could have the blade slightly hanging up or he said some computers just react a little different to different mods and it varies from car to car so this could just be a computer tune issue. But we shal see.
I would also mention that you arent the only one having some issues.
Camaro588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:46 AM   #15
TheShowStopperLFX
 
TheShowStopperLFX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LFX
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Macomb,Michigan
Posts: 102
u guys let me know how it goes. im am porting my TB first thing tomorrow.
TheShowStopperLFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 06:21 PM   #16
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
Good luck with the port job I hope it turns out good . and when I speak to him next I will let him know a few others are also having a issue. If anyone else if having problems just let me know.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:36 PM   #17
cam45
 
cam45's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th anniversary 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: GA
Posts: 31
Add me to this problem as well lol. I had mine for about 3 months and when I first installed it, it was going below and over the usual idle. As of now, it is not as bad, but it still does that. I thought this was normal so I just drove it but I guess its not supposed to happen?
cam45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 01:59 PM   #18
angryv6
Lake Erie Monster
 
angryv6's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Hyundai Sonata and Santa Fe
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 764
I guess it's a no on this mod for me.
angryv6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 05:59 AM   #19
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
well I definitely wouldn't say no to a PTB other than a few of us they work great and if you plan on tuning the idle problem can be tuned out. Pete thinks the idle is mainly due to a sensitive computer and not so much as the PTB itself. Even if I can't correct the problem without a tune I wouldn't go back to stock.



Posted from Camaro5.com App for Android
__________________
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:46 AM   #20
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,080
With over 4-5000 in use the few with any issue are probably less than a fraction of a percent. And most are a vacuum leak or other simple fix. At the most, a tune tweak to adapt for the additional air flow. As with any bolt on, in most cases it is true plug and play needing no tune, but not all cars are equal so the tune tweak needed to optimize is inexpensive and will give you the most out of any mods.

SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 01:47 PM   #21
Gen-X45
 
Gen-X45's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th Anniv.
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles CA.
Posts: 27
I had a similar situation when I installed my MRT V2 Exhaust, the idle dropped by about 2-300 RPM. I was getting some drone and decided to put a Magnaflow X-Pipe on and although the idle hasn't changed, it hangs out around 6-800 RPM. It seems more balanced and the car runs a lot better overall. I've got an order in for the Throttle Body so I'm not sure if that is going to change things up again. I'm only looking for a tad more low-end and I'll be content with the V6 if I can get that.
Actually, the car is running really well with just the V2's and the X-Pipe. I'd love to hear from anyone else who has this combo and the VMax TB, I may not even benefit any further by bolting a ported TB on at this point. I don't know. All I have done to my car is the axle backs, the x-pipe and a drop in K&N air filter. Those three together have made the car a lot smoother getting off the line and there is no drone at all, it's a nice mellow tone.
Gen-X45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:04 AM   #22
Camaro588
 
Drives: 2012 camaro LS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Albany N.Y.
Posts: 140
At some point this week Im going to switch back to my OEM TB and see if it goes away. If it does, I would like to know about receiving a refund for the Ported throttle body. With the idle being so rough, it seems be messing with my shift points(manual). Im also experiencing rough deceleration and acceleration, When letting of the gas it seems to still want to stay and the same speed. When accelerating it bogs down and wants to then just take off. SC2150 ,Where should we be checking for a vacuum leak? no vac. lines where touched during the install, could the vac. leak be caused by over tightening the TB itself if one did not use prop torque specs. As far as tuning and voiding my warranty, that is not an option for me. I would love to keep the TB if I can resolve this issue without a tune, but if I cant I would like to return the TB and receive a full refund.
Camaro588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 07:02 PM   #23
porkrind
Unapologetically American
 
porkrind's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Dusk Special Edition 2LT/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ft Rucker, AL
Posts: 344
Any updates?

Sent from here...not there
__________________
TEAM LFX
porkrind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 09:18 PM   #24
V6 LS Supercar
I hate the AY6
 
V6 LS Supercar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1LS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 305
Well I’ve received installed and tested the PTB that Pete from VMAX sent me. Well I can say that it did help but it did not completely eliminate the problem. I can say with the new PTB that it lessened the amount of times the rpm would fall to low, and when it revved itself back up to keep from cutting off it didn't rev up as high only to about 600-700 rpms. So it did help. We talked and agreed that if he choked up the PTB there would be no point in the PTB anyway. I believe that all cars even the same model and motor can be different. I think that my computer like a couple of others can’t adjust themselves enough to make up for the extra air flow. One guy up here said that this RPM problem started when he installed only a CAI. So I’m going to install my original PTB because it’s painted IOM. I will say that even with this problem I would still buy it again. My car is at least smart and quick enough to keep from cutting off at idle so the little RPM flux I can deal with. Maybe this will convince me to just put a tune on this bad boy as Pete said that a tuner who know what they’re doing can tune this problem out. I can’t say enough how great Pete from VMAX was during the whole process. He told me he was going to port a new TB to try and fix the issue before I even asked! He even covered shipping to me and to return the PTB. So if I ever need another PTB VMAX is the company to go with Great service and staff. If you have any issues you want to discuss just give VMAX a call they will help anyway possible.

P.S. I hope this doesn't stop anyone from getting this product as it does help. And think only a hand full out of the hundreds that have been made and installed have this problem.
V6 LS Supercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 10:00 PM   #25
KaBoom1701
KaBoom1701
 
KaBoom1701's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2LT RS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: I.E. SoCal
Posts: 2,257
Well I've never had an issue with my Vmax...

Sorry you guys are having issues. Sounds like a weak MAF sensor to me..
__________________
Performance Upgrades: CAI Intake, VMAX Ported Throttle Body, RX Catch Can, MRT 2.0 Exhaust w/ Magnaflow X Pipe & custom J-Pipes, 1LE Strut Brace, SS Brembo Brakes w/ Hawk HPS Pads & Goodridge brake lines, 1LE Suspension Upgrade, 1" Eibach lowering springs.
Exterior Upgrades: Ceramic Tint 30%, Axis Allies rims 20x9(front) 20x10(rear), Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar G:2 Tries 285 (front) x 305 (rear), ACS T-5 Front Splitter, Oracle Lighted Rear Bowtie, rk sport spoiler.
Audio Upgrades: Image Dynamics 10" Subwoofer w/custom leather box, ID 5 Channel Amp, Audio Control LC 6, Morel 6.5" Coax Speakers
KaBoom1701 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.