Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2013, 08:12 PM   #15
itguy
 
Drives: CTS-V Wagon
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SE
Posts: 161
I attached a pic showing my WOT shift points and a log of my very first 1/4 mile run which I managed a 12.1. My car shifted at commanded MPH and not RPM.

Since this was my first time running, I have since tweaked my tune for track use only as traction isn't as good on the street. If I increase my commanded shift points on the street I bounce the limiter when I lose traction.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip first run 12.1.zip (395.6 KB, 45 views)
itguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:13 PM   #16
E.T.


 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by itguy View Post
That table does nothing for your shift points. These tranny's shift by MPH not RPM. Yes, I know this can be confusing but it's true...you can set it to shift at 10000 RPM but if your WOT 1-2 shift is set at 30 MPH that's when it will shift.

IMO, you have to spend some time fine-tuning the shift points on the 6l80e as you also have to consider your converter and even your tire due to traction issues...you have to lead into the shift. With my setup, my 1-2 is at 29 MPH because I know my RPM's climb close to 6900 (HPTuner logging) during the shift. I also utilize torque management - some shops turn it off.

That was probably more than you wanted to read but it is what it is

Experts correct me if I'm wrong as I'm speaking from my personal experience.
Thanks. That sounds kind of confusing, but it sort of makes sense. Last night I was trying to watch when it shifting while barreling down an on-ramp, and it was somewhere over 6000, but it didn't seem like it went all the way to 6500.

Well after reading a little more about it and talking with Livernois, I think I'm just going to leave well enough alone. I initially chose them because of all the good things people said on here. They seem to have a good reputation, so I will trust their judgement. According to them, they have tuned over 2500 cars with DOD/AFM (not just L99's) and have never had a customer with lifter failure due to RPMs. **knock on wood**

Also, since it was tuned on the dyno (as opposed to mail order) I'm assuming they had all the data they needed to set the proper shifts based on MPH.
__________________

E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:22 PM   #17
white ZL1

 
Drives: none
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW area
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by itguy View Post
I attached a pic showing my WOT shift points and a log of my very first 1/4 mile run which I managed a 12.1. My car shifted at commanded MPH and not RPM.

Since this was my first time running, I have since tweaked my tune for track use only as traction isn't as good on the street. If I increase my commanded shift points on the street I bounce the limiter when I lose traction.
Could just be that you're already right at the MPH flag?
I intentionally left my MPH flag's low and figured I'd start creeping up on the shift point that I wanted. And my RPM flags were set right at 6400.....and the shift happened at 6400. As I started upping the MPH, the shifts were still happening at 6400.
Either way, a few others have had the same experience I have.....and others (like you) haven't.
white ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:26 PM   #18
itguy
 
Drives: CTS-V Wagon
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SE
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by white 2SS/RS View Post
Could just be that you're already right at the MPH flag?
I intentionally left my MPH flag's low and figured I'd start creeping up on the shift point that I wanted. And my RPM flags were set right at 6400.....and the shift happened at 6400. As I started upping the MPH, the shifts were still happening at 6400.
Either way, a few others have had the same experience I have.....and others (like you) haven't.

Yep, I wish mine was as easy as commanding the RPM...boy that would have saved me some stress..haha
itguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:51 PM   #19
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 11,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by white 2SS/RS View Post
I'm no expert, but certain T42's definitely don't shift JUST based on MPH. Mine is one of them. 1-2 is almost purely based on mph, but my 2-3 and 3-4 are shifting based on RPM.
This is 1000% correct. This uses both mph and rpm to determine the shift point. There is no way to dictate which one it uses. I know from experience a while back. It took many passes to get the wot shifting perfect. I would bet that 99% of the l99's are shifting all over the place. It takes a lot of effort to get the shift point exactly where you want it.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #20
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 11,122
There are Multiple TCM operating systems and they all have they're own Quirks.

Some you can just set the RPM and it will nail it,
some you can just do MPH
some require Both to be dead on or it will favor one or the other.
Any Tire spin and everything goes out the window.

Ted
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 09:38 PM   #21
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 11,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
There are Multiple TCM operating systems and they all have they're own Quirks.

Some you can just set the RPM and it will nail it,
some you can just do MPH
some require Both to be dead on or it will favor one or the other.
Any Tire spin and everything goes out the window.

Ted
Isn't it past your bed time?
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:13 PM   #22
Motion427
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Red Jewel L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NB,Canada
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
Isn't it past your bed time?

Must be working overtime.
Or he's now working late at night because you bug him all the time during the day.
Motion427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 02:07 PM   #23
Pro Stock John
Writer
 
Pro Stock John's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS / 1951 Mercury
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,408
Poked around, okay to piggy back on this thread?

So if I am tuning my own shift points for an L99 with HP Tuners, and let's say I was going for a 6200 shift point on 2-3. Let's say I hit my targeted goal last time with '58' mph and '6000' RPMS in the appropriate tables. So to try to and hit 6200, should I go up 1 or 2 MPH? And should I also command 6200 for RPMs?
__________________
PROJECT HEAVY CHEVY
Camaro Now: Mods for the Masses Part I | Part II
13.15@106 1.95 | 100% Stock
12.37@112 1.85 | + Kooks Headers/Cats + 20" 555R + CAI + BW TB + UDP + Tune
12.06@113 1.70 | + CD 3200 + 18" NT05R + RCR Intake + NE OTR + GPI Tune
11.84@115 1.59 | + 3.91s + Race Star 17x7 Fronts
10.90@125 1.47 | + GPI VVT Cam + BW Ported Heads + CD 3800
Pro Stock John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #24
E.T.


 
E.T.'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,229
I can't answer your question, but I don't mind the piggy backing
__________________

E.T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:14 PM   #25
Motion427
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Red Jewel L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NB,Canada
Posts: 837
Command the RPM to 6200rpm
Motion427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:49 PM   #26
white ZL1

 
Drives: none
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: DFW area
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motion427 View Post
Command the RPM to 6200rpm
Yup. And see what happens. If you don't get your 6200shift, then your car might use mph AND rpm on the 2-3 and 3-4.

I will tell you that you might want to keep bumping your mph up even if you get the shift at the correct rpm. To me, it looks like the TCM is still using the mph to start the pressure adapts for the oncoming and offgoing clutches.
If you log Trans Slip and each of the PCS pressures, you'll see what I mean.
white ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:09 PM   #27
Pro Stock John
Writer
 
Pro Stock John's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS / 1951 Mercury
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,408
So Dan you would not increase the RPM and MPH both right off the bat?

Also anyone know how to calculate what rpm I'd be with stock tires when I'm going 60mph, and also what gear I'd be in at at 100mph (I'm thinking 4th on this right).
__________________
PROJECT HEAVY CHEVY
Camaro Now: Mods for the Masses Part I | Part II
13.15@106 1.95 | 100% Stock
12.37@112 1.85 | + Kooks Headers/Cats + 20" 555R + CAI + BW TB + UDP + Tune
12.06@113 1.70 | + CD 3200 + 18" NT05R + RCR Intake + NE OTR + GPI Tune
11.84@115 1.59 | + 3.91s + Race Star 17x7 Fronts
10.90@125 1.47 | + GPI VVT Cam + BW Ported Heads + CD 3800
Pro Stock John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 08:58 PM   #28
Motion427
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Red Jewel L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NB,Canada
Posts: 837
Do you mean at WOT John or just cruising?
Motion427 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.