Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Question for you car audio wizzards

I used to do quite a bit with car audio (even worked at a couple shops) but I've been out of the game for a VERY long time.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a quality... I don't even know what to call it... amp degrader?

Basically I have an in line amp unit for proprietary electronics that plugs in between the head unit and speakers. The problem is that it would amplify the signal before it gets to the factory amp, which causes problems. It's basically the same power as most brand aftermarket head units, 50x4 max 22x4 RMS.

I'm actually almost regretting going with the BA now that I'm figuring all of this out, but the factory amp is nicer (this one is just a little guy, no way it would pass as a real 50x4 all on it's own, least not in the stuff I used to work with), and I'm sure the BA system has upgraded speakers. But not sure what to do with trying to get this amp in line...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:22 PM   #2
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
I used to do quite a bit with car audio (even worked at a couple shops) but I've been out of the game for a VERY long time.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a quality... I don't even know what to call it... amp degrader?

Basically I have an in line amp unit for proprietary electronics that plugs in between the head unit and speakers. The problem is that it would amplify the signal before it gets to the factory amp, which causes problems. It's basically the same power as most brand aftermarket head units, 50x4 max 22x4 RMS.

I'm actually almost regretting going with the BA now that I'm figuring all of this out, but the factory amp is nicer (this one is just a little guy, no way it would pass as a real 50x4 all on it's own, least not in the stuff I used to work with), and I'm sure the BA system has upgraded speakers. But not sure what to do with trying to get this amp in line...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Can you give us a bit more info on What are you trying to hook up, and what are you trying to do?
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:41 PM   #3
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Sounds like you need line coverters.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:51 PM   #4
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
It's a small in line amp that takes the signal from the factory stereo & amplifies the factory signal, along with it's own control unit's signal. That way it can mute the factory system if you're using the control unit for anything it does through the stereo.

So it's not wired in parallel in addition to the factory system, the factory wiring will literally have to pass through it, and when it does it comes out amplified. That's a great thing if you don't have factory amplifiers, not so great if you do as you push too much power to the OEM amp.

So basically, I'm wanting to un-amplify the line after this amp back to factory levels, if that's even possible...

I think I'll give crutchfield a ring, they used to have all kinds of wizardry for factory systems, see what they say...
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:58 PM   #5
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,668
So, you're using this in-line equipment to do what?

It doesn't make sense to put in an amplifier if it's not for anything. What is the "control unit" part of? An alarm? An equalizer? Something completely random?
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 10:56 PM   #6
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSkooter View Post
So, you're using this in-line equipment to do what?

It doesn't make sense to put in an amplifier if it's not for anything. What is the "control unit" part of? An alarm? An equalizer? Something completely random?
Yeah thats what I'm wondering as well, what are you trying to do? We very well may be able to suggest a solution that will work better than what you're looking for.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:32 AM   #7
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
I found a number for BA last night, going to give them a ring today and see what they say since the manufacturer said they have several customers running with factory amplified systems. It's possible the factory amp is already taking a fully amplified signal from the factory stereo anyway and just bumping it up further. Will see what they say.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:09 AM   #8
Camaro Pro
 
Drives: Full Size GMC pickup
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 8
I'm not quite sure what you're trying to do, but I do know a little bit about the BA audio system. The radio isn't doing any amplification, it's all done in the Amp. The head unit does do the speed sensitive volume, and loudness contour. a loudness contour is used to change the output signal, at higher volume levels. These are used to keep us from vibrating the trim panels, premature speaker failures, and a few other things.
Camaro Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:19 AM   #9
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,668
We can't help you if you don't give us any information.
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:25 AM   #10
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5 & C6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 6,731
Sounds like you are putting in a preamplifier transmitter(signal/voltage booster). Works great if you know what components are compatible w/ them..

but if you're just looking to 'unamplify' your signal, just turn down the gains on the amp..which really defeats the purpose of having an amp in the first place.
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:13 AM   #11
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Just got off the phone with BA, sounds like the in line amp is small enough it should be fine in line without worry.

Now to just find someone manufacturing the OEM wiring harness...
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:33 AM   #12
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
were all still wondering what exactly it is youre installing and what does it do?
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:44 AM   #13
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5 & C6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 6,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
Just got off the phone with BA, sounds like the in line amp is small enough it should be fine in line without worry.

Now to just find someone manufacturing the OEM wiring harness...
Try Crutchfield, but car may be too new..
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:58 PM   #14
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
were all still wondering what exactly it is youre installing and what does it do?
The suspense is killing us...
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 02:46 PM   #15
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SLVRBULIT View Post
Try Crutchfield, but car may be too new..
It is :(

Crutchfield gets those kind of products mainly from the 3 vendors I've already checked with (and Crutchfield). They would have it (or at least know about it) before Crutchfield did.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
were all still wondering what exactly it is youre installing and what does it do?
I'm installing an in line amp!
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 03:56 PM   #16
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post


I'm installing an in line amp!

Ya I got that, but what are you amplifying? Are you adding more juice to the stock speakers (why you would do it this way I have no clue), are you adding a microphone so you can sing in the car, are you running the audio signal out to a speaker so you can drive down the street and blast the music out of the car, are you adding a navigation system which talks and you want the sound to come through your speakers, or an alarm system that does the same? Just trying to understand and maybe offer other possible solutions, I've been doing this stuff for many many years.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 03:58 PM   #17
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
I'm installing an in line amp!
...For What Purpose?!
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 04:36 PM   #18
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Heh, I guess I need to add a scarcastic warning sticker to my avitar



Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
It's a small in line amp that takes the signal from the factory stereo & amplifies the factory signal, along with it's own control unit's signal. That way it can mute the factory system if you're using the control unit for anything it does through the stereo.


I'll post more specifics later, other than that....

Look an eagle!



Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:19 PM   #19
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
You can't daisy chain two fifty watt amps to make one one hundred watt amp
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:37 PM   #20
tededfred
 
tededfred's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Rally Yellow Camaro 2LT!!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 143
Sounds like you're cooking up one mean car fire...

so you want to go like this?

line out from head -> amplifier 1 -> amplifier 2 -> speakers?

You're gonna blow that second amp to smithereens if you send anything much more powerful than a line level.
tededfred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 06:21 PM   #21
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
That's what I thought, but I called tech support for both the manufacturer and Boston Acoustics looking for suggestions for a solution & they both said it would be fine.

The amp is very, very small, it's mostly to get the signal out to the factory system, not to be an audiophile unit. I noticed that while on the box it says 50x4, in the details of the literature it specifies...

50x1 maximum power output
22x4 continuous power output
12x4 RMS

I'm not sure about the 50x1, maybe they mean to any one speaker at a time (as the wiring harness made specifically for it is designed only for 4 speakers)? Or maybe the 1 is a typo and it is 50x4 max since that's what everything else advertises it at... Either way, I'm guessing this amp is no bigger than (if not exactly the same as) a 50x4 found in most any name brand aftermarket deck.

If they had not both said that it would be fine I would have been looking further into line level converters. I only found them with RCA outputs, but it would be easy enough to rewire RCA's back to individual wires to go back to the factory wiring, or probably find another product already manufactured like that. But since they both gave me the thumbs up (and supposedly all kinds of other people with factory amplified systems from Bose and Infinity & such have not had problems) I should be fine.

Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:33 AM   #22
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
50 x 1 is probably bridged in mono . i would assume you would need an 8 ohm speaker for that.
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:45 PM   #23
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
It's got a kind of pripreatory harness the pluggs directly into the amp, it's absouletly not designed for anything in this application other than x4 operation, and this amp is only offered in this specific configuration with this one application.


I'm guessing it's the same internals as some other amp (probably in a head unit), and they just pulled the specs off the sheet from the other configuration. I'm betting either that or typo since it says 50x4 everywhere else.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:54 PM   #24
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5 & C6
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 6,731
Sounds like a splitter so as to designate which amp to use for whatever..
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 01:31 PM   #25
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Not quite, but you could look at it as the amp I am installing is basically a splitter to determine which source to use, unfortunately in my application it also amplifies the signal which does me no good & potentially could cause harm to the factory amp. But since tech support for both ends has said it will be fine, hopefully it will be!
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penfed approval/financing question shane Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 15 06-16-2009 02:29 PM
MATRIX – 24HR REVIEW CAMARO 2SS/RS - NO BS!! Matrix 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 54 06-14-2009 02:37 PM
2010 Chevy Camaro SS Indy 500 Pace Car Drive linkwpc Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 0 05-23-2009 09:47 PM
What makes a car a "tuner" car? Dentyneice General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 8 05-11-2009 10:19 PM
09 Mustang GT and 09 Challenger R/T test drives CamaroSpike23 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 19 04-10-2009 04:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.