Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Question for you car audio wizzards

I used to do quite a bit with car audio (even worked at a couple shops) but I've been out of the game for a VERY long time.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a quality... I don't even know what to call it... amp degrader?

Basically I have an in line amp unit for proprietary electronics that plugs in between the head unit and speakers. The problem is that it would amplify the signal before it gets to the factory amp, which causes problems. It's basically the same power as most brand aftermarket head units, 50x4 max 22x4 RMS.

I'm actually almost regretting going with the BA now that I'm figuring all of this out, but the factory amp is nicer (this one is just a little guy, no way it would pass as a real 50x4 all on it's own, least not in the stuff I used to work with), and I'm sure the BA system has upgraded speakers. But not sure what to do with trying to get this amp in line...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:22 PM   #2
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
I used to do quite a bit with car audio (even worked at a couple shops) but I've been out of the game for a VERY long time.

I'm wondering if anyone knows of a quality... I don't even know what to call it... amp degrader?

Basically I have an in line amp unit for proprietary electronics that plugs in between the head unit and speakers. The problem is that it would amplify the signal before it gets to the factory amp, which causes problems. It's basically the same power as most brand aftermarket head units, 50x4 max 22x4 RMS.

I'm actually almost regretting going with the BA now that I'm figuring all of this out, but the factory amp is nicer (this one is just a little guy, no way it would pass as a real 50x4 all on it's own, least not in the stuff I used to work with), and I'm sure the BA system has upgraded speakers. But not sure what to do with trying to get this amp in line...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!
Can you give us a bit more info on What are you trying to hook up, and what are you trying to do?
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:41 PM   #3
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,104
Sounds like you need line coverters.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:51 PM   #4
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
It's a small in line amp that takes the signal from the factory stereo & amplifies the factory signal, along with it's own control unit's signal. That way it can mute the factory system if you're using the control unit for anything it does through the stereo.

So it's not wired in parallel in addition to the factory system, the factory wiring will literally have to pass through it, and when it does it comes out amplified. That's a great thing if you don't have factory amplifiers, not so great if you do as you push too much power to the OEM amp.

So basically, I'm wanting to un-amplify the line after this amp back to factory levels, if that's even possible...

I think I'll give crutchfield a ring, they used to have all kinds of wizardry for factory systems, see what they say...
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 04:58 PM   #5
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,654
So, you're using this in-line equipment to do what?

It doesn't make sense to put in an amplifier if it's not for anything. What is the "control unit" part of? An alarm? An equalizer? Something completely random?
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:56 PM   #6
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSkooter View Post
So, you're using this in-line equipment to do what?

It doesn't make sense to put in an amplifier if it's not for anything. What is the "control unit" part of? An alarm? An equalizer? Something completely random?
Yeah thats what I'm wondering as well, what are you trying to do? We very well may be able to suggest a solution that will work better than what you're looking for.
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 08:32 AM   #7
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
I found a number for BA last night, going to give them a ring today and see what they say since the manufacturer said they have several customers running with factory amplified systems. It's possible the factory amp is already taking a fully amplified signal from the factory stereo anyway and just bumping it up further. Will see what they say.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:09 AM   #8
Camaro Pro
 
Drives: Full Size GMC pickup
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 8
I'm not quite sure what you're trying to do, but I do know a little bit about the BA audio system. The radio isn't doing any amplification, it's all done in the Amp. The head unit does do the speed sensitive volume, and loudness contour. a loudness contour is used to change the output signal, at higher volume levels. These are used to keep us from vibrating the trim panels, premature speaker failures, and a few other things.
Camaro Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:19 AM   #9
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,654
We can't help you if you don't give us any information.
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:25 AM   #10
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5(LLT) & C6(LS3)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 7,473
Sounds like you are putting in a preamplifier transmitter(signal/voltage booster). Works great if you know what components are compatible w/ them..

but if you're just looking to 'unamplify' your signal, just turn down the gains on the amp..which really defeats the purpose of having an amp in the first place.
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:13 AM   #11
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Just got off the phone with BA, sounds like the in line amp is small enough it should be fine in line without worry.

Now to just find someone manufacturing the OEM wiring harness...
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:33 PM   #12
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,564
were all still wondering what exactly it is youre installing and what does it do?
__________________
2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - was daily driver, now toy
2014 Mercedes Benz E350 4matic Sport - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1995 Volkswagen Golf Race Car

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 12:44 PM   #13
2010SLVRBULIT


 
2010SLVRBULIT's Avatar
 
Drives: G5(LLT) & C6(LS3)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MARS
Posts: 7,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
Just got off the phone with BA, sounds like the in line amp is small enough it should be fine in line without worry.

Now to just find someone manufacturing the OEM wiring harness...
Try Crutchfield, but car may be too new..
2010SLVRBULIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:58 PM   #14
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
were all still wondering what exactly it is youre installing and what does it do?
The suspense is killing us...
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penfed approval/financing question shane Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 15 06-16-2009 03:29 PM
MATRIX – 24HR REVIEW CAMARO 2SS/RS - NO BS!! Matrix 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 54 06-14-2009 03:37 PM
2010 Chevy Camaro SS Indy 500 Pace Car Drive linkwpc Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 0 05-23-2009 10:47 PM
What makes a car a "tuner" car? Dentyneice General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 8 05-11-2009 11:19 PM
09 Mustang GT and 09 Challenger R/T test drives CamaroSpike23 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 19 04-10-2009 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.