Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2009, 09:37 PM   #26
RRcamaro
 
RRcamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: RS/SS2 Camaro 2010
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
Posts: 18
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy View Post
What is your vin #?
my vin# 16531. looks like the vins are close to each other!
RRcamaro is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:46 PM   #27
69 Hugger

 
69 Hugger's Avatar
 
Drives: 69 Convertible Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sumit Point, WV
Posts: 944
[QUOTE=RRcamaro;632051]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69 Hugger View Post
I think vash was asking did you break the shaft/bar on the IRS that goes to the wheel, you can see the bar/shaft in this pic. Sorry to see this happen to your car,sucks[/QUOTTE]

The output shaft in the trans between driveshaft and the end of the trans.
I know where the output shaft is, The OP was asking Vash in post #3 what He ment by "ujoint or bar", I was showing OP the bar and ujoint on the IRS picture.
69 Hugger is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:05 PM   #28
RRcamaro
 
RRcamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: RS/SS2 Camaro 2010
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
Then that's fair.

Interesting to see how this one plays out.

Can you get a copy of that and email it to me? maybe?

Thanks,
I just got a copy of the PI. #PIP4666A: Vehicle will not move in any gear: If you need any more info on it I will try to scan it to you. should be able to pull it up with this PI#.
RRcamaro is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:34 PM   #29
LosXC451

 
LosXC451's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS SIM w/ RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiller72 View Post
Has anyone else snaped thier output shaft off? It happened to me yesterday. I just pulled away from a stop sign in first with about half throttle and bang it broke. Now i'm waiting on parts.
Mine broke too
LosXC451 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 05:35 PM   #30
hiller72
 
Drives: 2010 2ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 10
GM has shipped me a whole new tranny with updated and hopefully stronger output shaft. Only have to wait on fedex now.
hiller72 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 05:36 PM   #31
nitromater13
 
nitromater13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 47
mine was pulled from orlando and sent to detroit for a QC for this issue. #17711 Found this out today.
nitromater13 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:53 PM   #32
camaroguy
MJ is finally home!
 
camaroguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS Camaro M6
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 219
I am thinking I snapped my output shaft tonight doing launch control. Its now sitting at the dealer... Here is the story... http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=30226
camaroguy is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 12:18 AM   #33
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Wow everyone who had this problem is in the 16xxx+ VIN range... Bad batch of trannys?
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 02:01 AM   #34
gotpball44
Boost Is Your Friend
 
gotpball44's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: La Mirada CA
Posts: 1,194
Send a message via AIM to gotpball44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
Wow everyone who had this problem is in the 16xxx+ VIN range... Bad batch of trannys?
yea noticed that too. Probably a bad batch. Its like the Acura NSX i think. They had a bad batch of tranns too.
gotpball44 is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 04:44 PM   #35
orangeinfernoman
 
orangeinfernoman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss ls3 iom
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: montreal,québec
Posts: 142
tremmec tranny

Quote:
Originally Posted by RRcamaro View Post
it happened to me Saturday night~ The dealer says that there is a problem with the steel on the output shaft not being properly hardened. GM knows about it and is sending replacements as they break.
my car broke june 12 and they received the tremmec from queretaro mexico at the dealer june 25

THE OUTPUT SHAFTH WAS CUT NICELY ¼ TO ½ INCHES INSIDE THE TRANNY
orangeinfernoman is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 04:45 PM   #36
orangeinfernoman
 
orangeinfernoman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss ls3 iom
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: montreal,québec
Posts: 142
built june 1 serial 114461
orangeinfernoman is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 05:58 PM   #37
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangeinfernoman View Post
my car broke june 12 and they received the tremmec from queretaro mexico at the dealer june 25

THE OUTPUT SHAFTH WAS CUT NICELY ¼ TO ½ INCHES INSIDE THE TRANNY
So the new one was defective?
Vash is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 10:33 PM   #38
orangeinfernoman
 
orangeinfernoman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss ls3 iom
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: montreal,québec
Posts: 142
output shafth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vash View Post
So the new one was defective?
no they put a new fedex shipped tranny from mexico ,i talk with a nice guy at quality control at detroit (steve z ) he said the new one will be bullet proof since that i drive 2000 km whitout not one single inches of burnout(i swear to god ,believe me) and no problem ,

NOW THE QUESTION

COULD YOU ASK TO OPRAH IF I COULD TRY AN ATTEMPT,1 SMALL BURNOUT,PLEASE JUST ONE SHOT

,do you think that i want to try,i lost my car for 1 mouth ,2 time of 2 weeks

i think with the idea to switch to an automatic car l99 400 hp
orangeinfernoman is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #39
dstairs
Farewell Thor
 
dstairs's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 Caddy Deville Concours
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
I took these photos on my phone today. This is the broken output shaft from RRCAMARO. It is sheared off and is smooth as glass!


dstairs is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 12:02 PM   #40
dstairs
Farewell Thor
 
dstairs's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 Caddy Deville Concours
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
PS nice shoes RRCAMARO!
dstairs is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 12:06 PM   #41
GTAHVIT
Blessed
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Sonic RS MT
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRcamaro View Post
I just got a copy of the PI. #PIP4666A: Vehicle will not move in any gear: If you need any more info on it I will try to scan it to you. should be able to pull it up with this PI#.
Perfect thanks!
GTAHVIT is offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 12:10 PM   #42
dstairs
Farewell Thor
 
dstairs's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 Caddy Deville Concours
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 217
RRCAMARO's broke his on the 29th (saturday) Monday morning when the shop opened the cause was determined and Friday afternoon the new Transmission arrived. It is being installed as we speak. The bright side of all this, is that we are seeing GM jump on these issues very fast and looking after the customers and RRCamaro is getting to watch as the transmission is dropped and a new one is installed, almost like being at the birth of your child.
dstairs is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 01:58 AM   #43
Q-ship
 
Drives: 1968 Chevelle, 1971 Monte
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Peoples Socialist Republic of California
Posts: 107
On just released vehicles and new design engines or transmissions it is SOP to just replace and not repair any faulty engine or transmissions (even a leak may get you a new component) for GM. They usually want the engine/trans back for inspection, it has been this way since the mid 1990's.
Q-ship is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 02:14 AM   #44
Vash


 
Drives: 00 Blazer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-ship View Post
On just released vehicles and new design engines or transmissions it is SOP to just replace and not repair any faulty engine or transmissions (even a leak may get you a new component) for GM. They usually want the engine/trans back for inspection, it has been this way since the mid 1990's.
It's not that it's that you have to gut all the parts out of the tranny to put that one in. If it was something they could swap they would just send the smaller part. Shipping is $$$ expensive for a tranny.
Vash is offline  
Old 07-14-2009, 10:48 AM   #45
AnOlaHic
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1
Took my Camaro in for its first oil change July 10th, had them look into a sound I had noticed when letting out the clutch in 1st and 2nd. Shortly after found out I needed a new transmission. A problem with the transmission output shaft having to much play, second one my dealership caught. Tranny arrived today, however I am waiting on a technicain to fly in from Vancouver later today to take a look at the car. vin# 14368
AnOlaHic is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 11:59 AM   #46
nuptualnemesis
NuptualNemesis
 
nuptualnemesis's Avatar
 
Drives: Silver 1SS M6 - 480hp 11.57/120.79
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, LA www.Divorcefor399.com
Posts: 300
Broken Transmission Output Shaft

Broke my output shaft Sunday night. Vin 13782. Third or fourth launch in competition mode. Also made three or four with traction control and competition mode turned off between 2500 and 3500 rpm. I am afraid this is not limited to a certain batch of vehicles. 4200 rpm dumps too much energy into the drive train. I don't think ABS kicking in to limit wheel spin can help either. ABS is supposed to be less aggressive in competition mode. ABS may kick in too soon and be part of the problem. I think competition mode will break any drive train sooner or later.

This appears to be similar to the problem they had with the Nissan GT-R last year. They soon said use of launch mode on solid surface voids warranty. They said it was only for getting out of ice or slippery surface. This year they reduced rev limiter from around 4200 to 3200 rpm.

DON'T USE COMPETITION MODE. You don't need it. Turn it and traction control off by holding button down for seven seconds. Launch between 3000 and 3200 rpm by driving out. Don't dump clutch but don't slip it either. CAUTION: slipping the clutch will burn up the clutch. Let clutch out like taking off from a stop and press gas pedal like taking off from a stop, don't stomp it. This should be much easier on entire drive line and will help 60 foot times.

I love my car but I am holding on to my JD Powers new car survey to see how long this takes to be repaired. More than a week is too long. If you haven't returned your survey yet, you may want to hold onto it.

Last edited by nuptualnemesis; 08-05-2009 at 09:56 AM.
nuptualnemesis is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 02:14 PM   #47
VicoryCamaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Bucks county
Posts: 3
Just Broke my axle trying to do a burnout...dealer will not cover it because they said the vehicle was abused...what should i do from here?
VicoryCamaro is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 02:28 PM   #48
ffrcobra_65
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SuperCharged 2SS/RS IOM MN6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,101
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicoryCamaro View Post
Just Broke my axle trying to do a burnout...dealer will not cover it because they said the vehicle was abused...what should i do from here?
and how do they know you were abusing it? If they are defining a burn out as Abuse, I guess we are all guilty. Ask to speak to the GM rep in the area.
ffrcobra_65 is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 05:43 PM   #49
PNY KLR
 
PNY KLR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro ss/rs #1297
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Regina, Sask.
Posts: 39
Send a message via MSN to PNY KLR
mine broke saturday but my whole driveshaft dropped out and now they are sending the driveshaft to a engineer to determine if i abused it or not????
Shouldnt these high end sports cars be able to take this why is this happening???
__________________
Own
- 2010 2SS/RS SIM Racing Stripes
- 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
- 1957 Chevy 2 Dr Coupe

Owned
- 92 Z-24
- 95 Saturn
- 89 Toyota Supra
- 85 Toyota 1/4 Ton
- 64 Chevy Nova 2 Dr Sport coupe (First Car 3 on the tree)

Last edited by PNY KLR; 10-22-2009 at 08:45 PM.
PNY KLR is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 06:13 PM   #50
3 SS's


 
3 SS's's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevelle SS's
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: outta my mind
Posts: 2,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicoryCamaro View Post
Just Broke my axle trying to do a burnout...dealer will not cover it because they said the vehicle was abused...what should i do from here?
Quote:
Originally Posted by PNY KLR View Post
mine broke saturday but my whole driveshaft dropped out and now they are sending the drivshaft to a engineer to determine if i abused it or not????
Shouldnt these high end sports cars be able to take this why is this happening???
This whole output shaft crap....is exactly that...... crap !!
GM still hasn't stepped up on this...unless I missed it.
So... I guess we can't get on these cars to see if it's an affected shaft, because then we'll be "abusing our cars", meanwile GM won't tell us if our cars fall into the vin range affected.

Last edited by 3 SS's; 10-23-2009 at 09:28 AM.
3 SS's is offline  
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sealed Transmission?? Transmission fluid doesn't need change until 150k miles? DevilKnightFalcon Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 34 12-07-2009 07:32 PM
Check your Order here bvonscott Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 665 06-29-2009 02:00 PM
LS3 Transmission Question Seawolf 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 13 06-12-2009 03:16 PM
GM keeping good numbers? bballr4567 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 10 05-10-2009 11:38 AM
Which transmission will the L99 have? mega V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 19 01-08-2009 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.