Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
autoguy
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics

Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics Camaro ZL1 specific topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #1
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 695
Any advice for replacing the strut tower brace?

Received my Lupe painted strut tower brace today. Anything special I should know about replacing the brace? How important is torquing the bolts to spec? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
 
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,268
Take bolts out, remove old brace, put new brace on, tighten bolts.
__________________
Twin Turbo 2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
(formerly Whipplecharged)
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Sport 4x4
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:35 PM   #3
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by yotaman96 View Post
Take bolts out, remove old brace, put new brace on, tighten bolts.
So what you're saying is I shouldn't worry about torquing the bolts to the 18 ft/lb spec?
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:44 PM   #4
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,268
If you have a torque wrench handy, by all means use it. 18ft/lbs is not much. Just snug them up and them go a little more. It's not going to hurt anything for them to not be exact. Just don't go all Hercules on them.
__________________
Twin Turbo 2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
(formerly Whipplecharged)
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Sport 4x4
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:55 PM   #5
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by yotaman96 View Post
If you have a torque wrench handy, by all means use it. 18ft/lbs is not much. Just snug them up and them go a little more. It's not going to hurt anything for them to not be exact. Just don't go all Hercules on them.
I don't have a torque wrench but was considering purchasing one just for this. If can get away without buying one that would be great.

I assume it's good idea to recheck the tightness of the bolts after say 50-100 miles?
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:56 PM   #6
yotaman96


 
yotaman96's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, 2000 Trans Am WS6
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Portland, TN
Posts: 2,268
Wouldn't be a bad idea.
__________________
Twin Turbo 2010 IOM Camaro 2SS/RS manual trans
(formerly Whipplecharged)
Magnacharged 2000 Trans Am WS6 manual trans
2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab Sport 4x4
yotaman96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 11:28 PM   #7
ZO6 Bryan
 
ZO6 Bryan's Avatar
 
Drives: 02 Z06, 95 Trans Am, 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
I don't have a torque wrench but was considering purchasing one just for this. If can get away without buying one that would be great.

I assume it's good idea to recheck the tightness of the bolts after say 50-100 miles?
Nice to have a torque wrench, but I wouldn't buy one just for this job. I've had mine off several times. Everytime I need more space to access the engine compartment. Literally shouldn't take you more than 5 min.
__________________
Bryan 2012 ZL1 9.55 pulley and Kooks headers, 2002 Z06 447 RWHP, 2006 Trailblazer SS, 1995 S/C Vortech Trans Am 570 RWHP(for sale)
ZO6 Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:40 AM   #8
ZL1-V

 
ZL1-V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
So what you're saying is I shouldn't worry about torquing the bolts to the 18 ft/lb spec?
No don't worry about it because by hand tightening the bolts you will learn to "feel" how much it actually needs to be tightened. You'll be surprised after awhile and getting comfortable and confident using a wrench how close you can get without a torque wrench. As stated just don't over tighten and you are set.
ZL1-V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:06 AM   #9
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
I don't think the average person realizes how little 18 ft# of torque is. It really is just a little over snug
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:21 AM   #10
Mister Will
 
Mister Will's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 C5 Corvette A&A supercharger
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Diego, CA.
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
I don't have a torque wrench but was considering purchasing one just for this. If can get away without buying one that would be great.

I assume it's good idea to recheck the tightness of the bolts after say 50-100 miles?
I agree with everyone else, 18 ft-lbs isn't much. Just give it a firm twist with a wrench.

With that being said. If you plan to do mods or just typical maintenance on your car, having a good torque wrench is a good idea. If you ever want to take something apart and put it back together right, you'll need a torque wrench. It's a good investment. I like the ratcheting type. Where you set the torque spec on the wrench and it ratchets when you meet that spec.
Mister Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:32 AM   #11
spen5151
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1 VR/ECF/Sunroof
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 128
Do you have a Harbor Freight around you? If so I would buy a torque wrench from them. They are not expensive from that store. They are not the quality of Craftsman but they are also a fifth of the price. If you are not using it all that much it should work well and last if taken care of. I have had mind for a little over a year and probabaly have used it 20 times or so. It still works great. The key is to not drop the wrench or be rough with it. This will through the specs of the wrench off. 18 ft-lbs is def not very tight and does not need a lot of force.
__________________
2013 Camaro ZL1 Victory Red, Exposed Carbon Fiber, Sunroof


Traded:
2011 Camaro 2SS IOM, RS, Polished Rims, Sunroof, Black Stripes, Hurst Shifter
Mods: Borla ATAK Cat-Back, CAI Intake, Skip Shift Elim, Tint
spen5151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:33 AM   #12
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 839
If you're gonna go with HF, look for Ads; They frequently sell Torque Wrenches for $9.99 - $12.99
In addition to a 1/4" and 3/8", I got a couple of extra 1/2" TWs to keep in my cars for Lug Wrench Duty.

I wouldn't use the HF TWs for critical work, but for day to day stuff... no prob.

Another thought; spiff up yer bolts and washers.
Them Fugly OEM fasteners will ruin the look of that nice paint job
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:40 AM   #13
Sven59
HAMMER PILOT
 
Sven59's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 ZL1 #182, 85 AMC Jeep CJ7
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 1,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
Received my Lupe painted strut tower brace today. Anything special I should know about replacing the brace? How important is torquing the bolts to spec? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

It is worth having a torque wrench for the wheels too!
__________________
"DO YOU WANT ME TO PUT THE HAMMER DOWN?"
Sven59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:10 PM   #14
ZL1-V

 
ZL1-V's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven59 View Post
It is worth having a torque wrench for the wheels too!
Yes it definitely is worth it. I still have my old Craftsman which works great. Set it to the specified torque, tighten, listen and feel for the the "click" and you are set.
ZL1-V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:25 PM   #15
vroomapunk
[COTW 5/12/14]
 
vroomapunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CRT NF Cammed 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 5,386
Dont need a torque wrench. Just snug em up and go a little bit more.
__________________
vroomapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:28 PM   #16
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 695
Thanks everyone for your feedback. Just got back from Autozone. Picked up a 10-80 ft/lb torgue wrench for $22. The precision may not be all that great but for reinstalling the strut tower I'm thinking it should be fine. And at that price, I haven't invested a lot of money for a tool that won't be used all that often.
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:24 PM   #17
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
It's amazing how people say you don't need a torque wrench, but we need $200+ race ramps, $$$ of detailing supplies, etc., and ironically own a $60k car. It's almost a must for tightening lug nuts properly.
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:26 PM   #18
hognutz


 
hognutz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: tangent or
Posts: 2,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1-V View Post
No don't worry about it because by hand tightening the bolts you will learn to "feel" how much it actually needs to be tightened. You'll be surprised after awhile and getting comfortable and confident using a wrench how close you can get without a torque wrench. As stated just don't over tighten and you are set.
Unless you are me and have a stupid dumb dummy head and always over tighten if I don't use a torque wrentch.

I am just going to blame it on being part sasquatch or something.

toque wrentch saves me from myself. in this case though you can get by without but it is a nice thing to have int he toolbox IMO.
__________________
2013 ZL1
2013 Dart
2013 Megacab 8" lift 38"mt's
hognutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:31 PM   #19
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 4,048
A torque wrench is one of those items that you use so rarely that I keep forgetting where I put the damn thing, but it is a good investment for those times that you really should be using it for example on your lug nuts.

There are many types out there from the old style beam type, to the clicking style to the newer digital 'beep' style.

yes you can get them calibrated from time to time if you really need precision, but for ordinar used such as the strut brace or lug nuts, most any torque wrench will be accurate enough as long as you on't drop it or mis-use it by using a 4-foor pipe extension on the handle.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:37 AM   #20
Deke736
COTW 12/3/12
 
Deke736's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Ashen Gray ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
Thanks everyone for your feedback. Just got back from Autozone. Picked up a 10-80 ft/lb torgue wrench for $22. The precision may not be all that great but for reinstalling the strut tower I'm thinking it should be fine. And at that price, I haven't invested a lot of money for a tool that won't be used all that often.
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.
__________________
Deke736 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:01 AM   #21
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke736 View Post
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.

Don't forget your HF Super Coupon:

http://www.harborfreight.com/20off-c...12-aff-11.html

http://widgets.harborfreight.com/wsw...1002&hftref=cj
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:26 PM   #22
jashobbsie
Davenport Stage 5+
 
jashobbsie's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1 & C7 Corvette 3LT Z51
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 474
why didn't you paint your original one yourself....this is very simple stuff to do... just asking? cheers!
jashobbsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:44 PM   #23
KLR ZL1
H-Town Camaro Club Member
 
KLR ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: #708 Summit White ZL1 Del. 5/17
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pearland Tx.
Posts: 885
Don't forget to get some nice stainless or black screws to replace the stock ones.
__________________
Sometimes dreams do come true. #708
KLR ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:49 PM   #24
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO 1LT, 08 Vue, 14 Spark
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: J. C. Tennessee
Posts: 17,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLR ZL1 View Post
Don't forget to get some nice stainless or black screws to replace the stock ones.
If you use stainless be sure to use anti-seize on the bolts. If not you will never be able to get them out without stripping the threads.

Some auto parts stores like Autozone or Advance have a tool loner program you may be able to borrows torque wrench at.
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

Previous Camaros: 1974, 1979 and 2010.
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:28 PM   #25
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke736 View Post
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.
I thought about that. There are two Harbor Freight stores in the area but both are not very convenient to get to from my house.

I found the Autozone up the road sells a 120-960 in/lbs click wrench for $22 and a 20-150 ft/lbs for $29. I figure if I liked in/lbs wrench I'd go back and get the higher capacity one. I would end up with an investment of just $60 and tax for both.

Well as the old adage says, you get what pay for. I could never get the lower capacity wrench to click. I don't know if it's because I'm setting it at the lower end of it's range or it's just junk. I suspect it's the latter. I ended up renting a beam type wrench from Advanced Auto and will return the click one back to Autozone. Lesson learned...
__________________

Last edited by hawk02; 06-07-2013 at 11:59 PM.
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.