Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2013, 12:25 PM   #15
vroomapunk
[COTW 5/12/14]
 
vroomapunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 CRT NF Cammed 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NOLA
Posts: 6,105
Dont need a torque wrench. Just snug em up and go a little bit more.
__________________
vroomapunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:28 PM   #16
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,047
Thanks everyone for your feedback. Just got back from Autozone. Picked up a 10-80 ft/lb torgue wrench for $22. The precision may not be all that great but for reinstalling the strut tower I'm thinking it should be fine. And at that price, I haven't invested a lot of money for a tool that won't be used all that often.
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:24 PM   #17
DangerZL1

 
Drives: Accord
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN Area
Posts: 1,910
It's amazing how people say you don't need a torque wrench, but we need $200+ race ramps, $$$ of detailing supplies, etc., and ironically own a $60k car. It's almost a must for tightening lug nuts properly.
DangerZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:26 PM   #18
hognutz


 
hognutz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: tangent or
Posts: 2,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZL1-V View Post
No don't worry about it because by hand tightening the bolts you will learn to "feel" how much it actually needs to be tightened. You'll be surprised after awhile and getting comfortable and confident using a wrench how close you can get without a torque wrench. As stated just don't over tighten and you are set.
Unless you are me and have a stupid dumb dummy head and always over tighten if I don't use a torque wrentch.

I am just going to blame it on being part sasquatch or something.

toque wrentch saves me from myself. in this case though you can get by without but it is a nice thing to have int he toolbox IMO.
__________________
2017 zl1 or GT350 hmmmm
2015 Hellcat-sold
2013 ZL1 -sold
2013 Dart
2013 Megacab 8" lift 38"mt's
hognutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 02:31 PM   #19
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 5,296
A torque wrench is one of those items that you use so rarely that I keep forgetting where I put the damn thing, but it is a good investment for those times that you really should be using it for example on your lug nuts.

There are many types out there from the old style beam type, to the clicking style to the newer digital 'beep' style.

yes you can get them calibrated from time to time if you really need precision, but for ordinar used such as the strut brace or lug nuts, most any torque wrench will be accurate enough as long as you on't drop it or mis-use it by using a 4-foor pipe extension on the handle.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:37 AM   #20
Deke736
COTW 12/3/12
 
Deke736's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Ashen Gray ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Glen Carbon, IL
Posts: 3,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
Thanks everyone for your feedback. Just got back from Autozone. Picked up a 10-80 ft/lb torgue wrench for $22. The precision may not be all that great but for reinstalling the strut tower I'm thinking it should be fine. And at that price, I haven't invested a lot of money for a tool that won't be used all that often.
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.
__________________
Deke736 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:01 AM   #21
Ricamaro

 
Drives: RocketZed Red13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Center of the known Universe
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke736 View Post
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.

Don't forget your HF Super Coupon:

http://www.harborfreight.com/20off-c...12-aff-11.html

http://widgets.harborfreight.com/wsw...1002&hftref=cj
Ricamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:26 PM   #22
jashobbsie
Davenport Stage 5+
 
jashobbsie's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1 & C7 Corvette 3LT Z51
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 471
why didn't you paint your original one yourself....this is very simple stuff to do... just asking? cheers!
jashobbsie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:44 PM   #23
KLR ZL1
H-Town Camaro Club Member
 
KLR ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: KLR Malibu for now!
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pearland Tx.
Posts: 1,150
Don't forget to get some nice stainless or black screws to replace the stock ones.
__________________
Sometimes dreams do come true.
KLR ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 09:49 PM   #24
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO, 15 Impala, 07 Colorado
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 20,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by KLR ZL1 View Post
Don't forget to get some nice stainless or black screws to replace the stock ones.
If you use stainless be sure to use anti-seize on the bolts. If not you will never be able to get them out without stripping the threads.

Some auto parts stores like Autozone or Advance have a tool loner program you may be able to borrows torque wrench at.
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

The Bird is the word!
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:28 PM   #25
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke736 View Post
Keep in mind that you won't be able to use that wrench for your lug nuts. I would have gone the Harbor Freight route and saved a little more money with a higher capacity wrench.
I thought about that. There are two Harbor Freight stores in the area but both are not very convenient to get to from my house.

I found the Autozone up the road sells a 120-960 in/lbs click wrench for $22 and a 20-150 ft/lbs for $29. I figure if I liked in/lbs wrench I'd go back and get the higher capacity one. I would end up with an investment of just $60 and tax for both.

Well as the old adage says, you get what pay for. I could never get the lower capacity wrench to click. I don't know if it's because I'm setting it at the lower end of it's range or it's just junk. I suspect it's the latter. I ended up renting a beam type wrench from Advanced Auto and will return the click one back to Autozone. Lesson learned...
__________________

Last edited by hawk02; 06-07-2013 at 11:59 PM.
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:36 PM   #26
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angrybird 12 View Post
If you use stainless be sure to use anti-seize on the bolts. If not you will never be able to get them out without stripping the threads.

Some auto parts stores like Autozone or Advance have a tool loner program you may be able to borrows torque wrench at.
I just re-used the OEM bolts. At some point, I'd like to replace them with black. I found black M8 x 1.25 x 25 at Lowes but I believe the OEM bolts are 35. Will probably have to mail order a set.

See reply to Deke736. I ended up renting a beam type torque wrench from Advanced Auto.
__________________

Last edited by hawk02; 06-07-2013 at 11:53 PM.
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 11:50 PM   #27
hawk02
Convertible Three-peat
 
hawk02's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Victory Red ZL1 Convertible
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by jashobbsie View Post
why didn't you paint your original one yourself....this is very simple stuff to do... just asking? cheers!
I've had very poor results with everything I've tried to paint myself. Last year I totally f'd the engine cover on my SS. Spent a good week prepping and painting only to have the paint develop significant spider cracks after the clear coat was applied. I ended up getting a custom painted cover from RPI. This year I tried to custom paint my front and rear bow ties. The results were dismal at best. I decided at that point to cut my loses and let the professionals do the painting.
__________________
hawk02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:33 AM   #28
jashobbsie
Davenport Stage 5+
 
jashobbsie's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro ZL1 & C7 Corvette 3LT Z51
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawk02 View Post
I've had very poor results with everything I've tried to paint myself. Last year I totally f'd the engine cover on my SS. Spent a good week prepping and painting only to have the paint develop significant spider cracks after the clear coat was applied. I ended up getting a custom painted cover from RPI. This year I tried to custom paint my front and rear bow ties. The results were dismal at best. I decided at that point to cut my loses and let the professionals do the painting.
I see. looks great though man... cheers!
jashobbsie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.