Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
sjm autoprod
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2013, 08:43 AM   #1
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 10,876
THOSE OF YOU INSTALLING YOUR OWN CAMS STEP INSIDE

Something everyone should be doing when installing a Cam in an LS engine is a Case Learn Procedure.

This is also called a Crank Learn Procedure.

With your SCT device you have this Option, if not you will have to find someone with a capable Scanner, Tech2, HPtuners or EFI Live to Perform this function.

What this does is Syncronize your Cam, and Crank Signals with the Computer.

This should be done any time you change a Cam or Engine or after reflashing of a your computer.

It is in the Special Functions portion of your SCT Tuner.

The vehicle must be fully warmed up, parking brake on, and follow the on screen Prompts.

I caution everyone that the fuel cut is 4K, be ready to let off the gas when it hits fuel cut, or if for some reason the system is not ready and goes right by it.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:16 AM   #2
amerimuscle
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 388
Does your mail-order tune for cams do this already?? or is this in addition to your tunes?
amerimuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:53 AM   #3
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 10,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by amerimuscle View Post
Does your mail-order tune for cams do this already?? or is this in addition to your tunes?
This is a Special function Feature that is Part of the SCT Device.

You must do this procedure after a Cam install.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:12 AM   #4
RJT-SS
 
RJT-SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 501
".........or after reflashing of a your computer."

That sounds like we should do this even if we don't have a cam?? Does it?
__________________
Performance Mods:
Kooks 1-7/8 LTs; Calico coated w/HFCs, Solo Mach XL catback w/J-pipes, VMax TB, C.A.I. Intake, JRE Tune, RX Catch-Can
RJT-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:15 AM   #5
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 10,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
".........or after reflashing of a your computer."

That sounds like we should do this even if we don't have a cam?? Does it?
It certainly won't hurt anything, it's like that second coat of wax in your case.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:29 AM   #6
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
This is a Special function Feature that is Part of the SCT Device.

You must do this procedure after a Cam install.

Ted.
Ted does the HP tuner have this function?
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 10:43 AM   #7
litle88
V8 Lounge member #2
 
litle88's Avatar
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,337
Yes it does sir.
__________________
2001 ws6, 40k miles, Ls3 416 stroker, short block built by PER the rest by me. LPE Ls3 heads milled to 12-1 comp, FAST 102, NW 102, kooks 2", dual DMH cutouts, Magnaflow C/B, BTR cam + springs. Full UMI suspension.
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:00 AM   #8
amerimuscle
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 388
are there noticeable differences (performance-wise or drivability) to having the cam and crank signals syncronized?

Last edited by amerimuscle; 06-09-2013 at 11:00 AM. Reason: spelling
amerimuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:10 AM   #9
RJT-SS
 
RJT-SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
It certainly won't hurt anything, it's like that second coat of wax in your case.

Ted.
Thanks. I don't understand the "fuel cut" statement in the OP. Would you please explain?
__________________
Performance Mods:
Kooks 1-7/8 LTs; Calico coated w/HFCs, Solo Mach XL catback w/J-pipes, VMax TB, C.A.I. Intake, JRE Tune, RX Catch-Can
RJT-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:32 AM   #10
GMTool

 
GMTool's Avatar
 
Drives: AGM 2012 Camaro 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southwest Illinois
Posts: 1,825
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
".........or after reflashing of a your computer."

That sounds like we should do this even if we don't have a cam?? Does it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
It certainly won't hurt anything, it's like that second coat of wax in your case.

Ted.
So are there are alot of people out there that have installed a cam themselves and have a JRE- SCT tune but have not yet done this procedure? Is this learning procedure something newly discovered or just something that some people have been overlooking?

If it is like a second coat of wax, or to (fine tune a tune) with basic bolt ons, then is it a good idea for everyone who has tuned their car to do this?
__________________
CAI, Dynatech Headers, HF Cats, JRE Tuned, Corsa Cat Back, Strut Tower Brace.

Last edited by GMTool; 06-09-2013 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Grammar
GMTool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:54 AM   #11
RJT-SS
 
RJT-SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 501
.....exactly.....that is what I am trying to figure out. My car runs great (better) after the JRE tune but what do I really gain by doing this? I get the second coat of wax analogy but I would really like more details. I am sure Ted will fill us in.

I also wonder if there are any more "coats of wax" like this we can apply?
__________________
Performance Mods:
Kooks 1-7/8 LTs; Calico coated w/HFCs, Solo Mach XL catback w/J-pipes, VMax TB, C.A.I. Intake, JRE Tune, RX Catch-Can
RJT-SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:42 PM   #12
ToddB

 
Drives: 2011 2SS Convertible Supercharged
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WI Cert Welder Navy NSSN
Posts: 1,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
.....exactly.....that is what I am trying to figure out. My car runs great (better) after the JRE tune but what do I really gain by doing this? I get the second coat of wax analogy but I would really like more details. I am sure Ted will fill us in.

I also wonder if there are any more "coats of wax" like this we can apply?

-uck I hate waxing. But if Ted says to wax. Then wax on it is.
__________________
2011 Camaro SS, LS3,Whipple SC, 13 PSI,CAI intake, ARH 2" Headers, Corsa exhaust, ZL1 fuel pump with ADM FPCM LS9 Cam and Meth,ID850, BMR suspension upgrades,Tune by JRE
ToddB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:04 PM   #13
NOT URSS
 
NOT URSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to NOT URSS
I'm sure if it wasn't done it would of thrown a code. Tech2 won't work with 5th gens.. The new GDS will.
__________________
632RWHP/556RWTQ
NOT URSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:09 PM   #14
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,514
This procedure has been around a long time, pre ls1 acutally. It shouldn't be needed on a bolt on car with the stock cam and original ecm. Only if the ECM has been changed, new cam, new crank or new engine. Once its set, its there.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Custom Grind LS 3 bolt and VVT Camshaft packages.shop.Gwatneyperformance.com
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:10 PM   #15
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOT URSS View Post
I'm sure if it wasn't done it would of thrown a code. Tech2 won't work with 5th gens.. The new GDS will.
Correct you would have correlation codes pop up.
__________________

Specializing in LS performance and calibrations.
Custom Grind LS 3 bolt and VVT Camshaft packages.shop.Gwatneyperformance.com
Ryan@gogwatney.com Aaron@gogwatney.com
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 01:23 AM   #16
the rich dude

 
Drives: Getting 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,154
yo Ted, hows it hanging bud??? Long time no talk!!! Did you ever get your ZL-!?
the rich dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 07:31 PM   #17
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 10,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by amerimuscle View Post
are there noticeable differences (performance-wise or drivability) to having the cam and crank signals syncronized?
This is one of those items that you will never miss it and can only appreciate the advantage after you do it.

The car will run smoother and start better after the Case Learn Procedure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
Thanks. I don't understand the "fuel cut" statement in the OP. Would you please explain?
It is a Rev limiter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMTool View Post
So are there are alot of people out there that have installed a cam themselves and have a JRE- SCT tune but have not yet done this procedure? Is this learning procedure something newly discovered or just something that some people have been overlooking?

If it is like a second coat of wax, or to (fine tune a tune) with basic bolt ons, then is it a good idea for everyone who has tuned their car to do this?
This is one of those things that we do on Every car we install a Cam or do any major engine work, have been as long as the procedure existed.

It is So Routine we rarely talk about it, and I have never seen any discussion on here so I thought I would Bring it Up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RJT-SS View Post
.....exactly.....that is what I am trying to figure out. My car runs great (better) after the JRE tune but what do I really gain by doing this? I get the second coat of wax analogy but I would really like more details. I am sure Ted will fill us in.

I also wonder if there are any more "coats of wax" like this we can apply?
If you have not changed your cam No advantage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToddB View Post
-uck I hate waxing. But if Ted says to wax. Then wax on it is.
LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOT URSS View Post
I'm sure if it wasn't done it would of thrown a code. Tech2 won't work with 5th gens.. The new GDS will.
It has to be Pretty far off to Set a Code, so You can be slightly out of sync and not set a code, the Tech 2 will work if you set it up for 09 Corvette.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the rich dude View Post
yo Ted, hows it hanging bud??? Long time no talk!!! Did you ever get your ZL-!?
Yes I did, Going to Limerock Park Road Coarse this Friday to Stretch it's Legs and work on my Road racing Skills or lack thereof
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.