Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2011, 05:50 PM   #1
bigted83
They call me captain slow
 
bigted83's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro lt
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 1,228
Amp and subs

alright I have a question, I have to Orion cobalt 12 inch subs. My question is I just bought a kicker dx500.1. amp. Will that amp power those to subs? I am planning on using the dual 12 subthump mount thats like 150 bucks.
bigted83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:28 PM   #2
Shu71

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 788
The amp is a 500W 2 ohm class D amp, what Orion Subs are they?
__________________
Shu71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
chevyboy81
 
Drives: 2010 1lt camaro with tapshift
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: san antonio
Posts: 40
i have two kicker comp tweleves and a alpine five hundred watt and sounds great. you should have plenty of power to run the subs
chevyboy81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
CruznSS

 
CruznSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Camaro ABM - Silver Ralleys
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gloucester VA
Posts: 1,770
I have the 750.1 kickers amp powering 2 10" kicker subs. Are you running a bass remote switch? Call Steve @ subthump, he should be able to help ya. Should be ok unless you crank it up really loud....

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
__________________
CruznSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 02:07 PM   #5
bigted83
They call me captain slow
 
bigted83's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro lt
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 1,228
They are the Orion cobalt 12s
bigted83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 02:24 PM   #6
Shu71

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro RS M6
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigted83 View Post
They are the Orion cobalt 12s
The amp is 500W @ 2 ohm max 140w at 4 ohm RMS so it won't do two 12" 4 ohm 200w RMS subs real well but it will give a little extra bass.
__________________
Shu71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:19 PM   #7
Foreverman
 
Drives: 1SS-RS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Austin
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shu71 View Post
The amp is 500W @ 2 ohm max 140w at 4 ohm RMS so it won't do two 12" 4 ohm 200w RMS subs real well but it will give a little extra bass.
Amp
RMS Power Rating (14.4V):
4 ohms: 140 watts x 1 chan.
2 ohms: 275 watts x 1 chan.
1 ohm: 500 watts x 1 chan.

So split the 140w to the two and you are looking at 70w a piece to your 12's
not a great combination
Foreverman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:18 PM   #8
bigted83
They call me captain slow
 
bigted83's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro lt
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 1,228
So what kind of subs should I get, I have to 10s I could use would they be better thier sonys
bigted83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 06:18 PM   #9
DraggnFrameGMC

 
DraggnFrameGMC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Synergy Green Camaro LT
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foreverman View Post
Amp
RMS Power Rating (14.4V):
4 ohms: 140 watts x 1 chan.
2 ohms: 275 watts x 1 chan.
1 ohm: 500 watts x 1 chan.

So split the 140w to the two and you are looking at 70w a piece to your 12's
not a great combination
OK, not quite accurate here. When you bridge 2) 4 ohm speakers in parallel it creates a 2ohm load, so according to the specs on the amp you gave, it would actually be 275watts/2 equals about 140 watts to each sub. According to Orion those 12's take 200rms each. In that configuration you would still be under powering them. If you want to use that amp, get 2 subs that are around the same power handling, but in a 2 ohm configuration. The you can bridge them together at 1ohm and get the full 500 watts/2=250watts each. Another option is subs that are dual 4 ohm setup. Which means each sub would have to voice coils. So you bridge the voice coils together to make each sub 2ohm and then bridge the subs together to create 1ohm. Problem with that is usually dual voice coil subs handle way more than 250watts each.
DraggnFrameGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp in gm mtx subs not working tcarro2001 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 3 11-24-2010 03:37 PM
Stereo GUIDE ALL READ WildBeast15 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 29 09-11-2010 01:14 AM
Need advice on 10 inch Subs and Amp 4RD H8R Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 7 07-06-2010 10:28 AM
Installing amp and subs - Where to run remote wire? Nate_687 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 12-05-2009 09:58 PM
With this enclosure what subs and amp would you recommend? G.E. Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 2 12-03-2009 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.