Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2013, 10:44 AM   #1
amerimuscle
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 227
Cam position sensor harness?

doing an L99 / LS3 conversion, ordered a complete package but builder requested a new/different cam position sensor harness. Has anyone needed to do this before? litle88?
amerimuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:59 AM   #2
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 3,758
Pretty sure you need that. I would have guessed it came with the replacement one you need though? Where did you buy the kit from?
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:01 AM   #3
thahemp
Geek
 
thahemp's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Black LS3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 3,758
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=295351

Looks like maybe your builder doesn't want to rig the connectors together?
__________________
01000111011011110110111101100100001000000110110001 11010101100011011010110010000001110111011010010111 01000110100000100000011101000110100001101001011100 110010000001101111011011100110010100100001

x = ac97968bd3df8f968c8cd3df998a9c94d3df9c8a918bd3df9c 909c94df8c8a9c949a8dd3df92908b979a8ddf998a9c949a8d d3df8b968b8cd1
x = ~x
thahemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:06 AM   #4
litle88
V8 Lounge member #2
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,325
Your timing cover didn't come with one?
__________________
01 Ws6, m6, ASC#618 of 1583,40k Miles,shortblock built by AES the rest built by me,Ls3 416,FAST 102, NW102,LPE Ls3 heads

Join us:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5138...3848358733509/
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:07 AM   #5
litle88
V8 Lounge member #2
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,325
Here is the part number.


12627501 Camshaft position sensor harness
__________________
01 Ws6, m6, ASC#618 of 1583,40k Miles,shortblock built by AES the rest built by me,Ls3 416,FAST 102, NW102,LPE Ls3 heads

Join us:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5138...3848358733509/
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:20 AM   #6
amerimuscle
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 227
it certainly didnt come with one, but is it definitive that I do need one? ^^ thanks bud
amerimuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:43 AM   #7
litle88
V8 Lounge member #2
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,325
If he doesn't know how to wire it, then yea. It's not much.
__________________
01 Ws6, m6, ASC#618 of 1583,40k Miles,shortblock built by AES the rest built by me,Ls3 416,FAST 102, NW102,LPE Ls3 heads

Join us:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5138...3848358733509/
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:45 AM   #8
litle88
V8 Lounge member #2
 
Drives: 2001 Ws6
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Burbank,IL
Posts: 6,325
Oops sorry bud. If it didn't come with it then yea you need one. Sorry. Didn't notice it.
__________________
01 Ws6, m6, ASC#618 of 1583,40k Miles,shortblock built by AES the rest built by me,Ls3 416,FAST 102, NW102,LPE Ls3 heads

Join us:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/5138...3848358733509/
litle88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:45 AM   #9
amerimuscle
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 227
your right, 15 bucks or so. just a little hickup, o well. Thanks
amerimuscle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 02:18 PM   #10
trw427ss @ Futral

 
trw427ss @ Futral's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Denham Springs La.
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by amerimuscle View Post
doing an L99 / LS3 conversion, ordered a complete package but builder requested a new/different cam position sensor harness. Has anyone needed to do this before? litle88?

You don't need a new harness you just remove the 2 wires that go to the cam phaser. The LS3 harness will not connect to the L99 car harness (L99 is a 5 pin and LS3 is a 3 Pin connector).
__________________
2013 2SS/RS L99/A6 Crystal Red Metallic Tincoat 12.76@108.98mph Bone Stock
12.46@111.19mph with New Era CAI & U/D Pulley
12.12 @ 114.16 after Stainless Power headers and no tune yet on stock P-Zero's!
12.007@ 115.20 With 18" Drag Radials-11.76 @116.59 With Yank SS3200 Converter
11.44 @118.75 Bolt-no Record-After H/C 10.93 @126.86
trw427ss @ Futral is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.