Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
Curley4301
 
Curley4301's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS Summit White
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Broken Arrow OK
Posts: 41
Bluetooth connection

Why do I have to manually connect the car's Bluetooth to my phone (S3). My previous phone (HTC) would automatically connect before I even got into the car. Is it the phone or the car?
Curley4301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:31 PM   #2
SeriouslySinning
 
SeriouslySinning's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Chevy Camaro 2LT 3.6 V6
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curley4301 View Post
Why do I have to manually connect the car's Bluetooth to my phone (S3). My previous phone (HTC) would automatically connect before I even got into the car. Is it the phone or the car?
After the initial pairing. As long as I have bluetooth on it will connect automatically. Sometimes when I drive it without bluetooth connected it will make me select what device i want to connect to again. This is rare for me tho.
SeriouslySinning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:33 PM   #3
Dizzy82

 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 1,310
My Note2 connects automatically, set it up to connect by default and it should.
__________________
Power is worthless without control.
Dizzy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
Est.July.4.1776
The pride of the CN
 
Est.July.4.1776's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 AGM 2SS/RS M6 & '70 Chevelle SS
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Genesee County, Michigan
Posts: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curley4301 View Post
Why do I have to manually connect the car's Bluetooth to my phone (S3). My previous phone (HTC) would automatically connect before I even got into the car. Is it the phone or the car?
Weird... my S3 connects automatically... check your phone's bluetooth settings?
__________________
"I've been working on the railroad, all mother f###ing day." ...and yeah, we hauled your Camaro.

Class 1 Freight Rail Conductor - Master Mason - NRA Life Member - Tennessee Squire - Firefighter I & II Certified

My other ride has 4,400+hp and corners like it's on rails... because it is.
Est.July.4.1776 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:08 PM   #5
RonnieG
 
RonnieG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AGM 1LE/2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 290
can't say for sure.. there are issues, but whether its the phone or the car's Bluetooth system, idk..

my iphone does act up a lot and the car's electronic systems make things difficult from time to time (trunk release wont function, mylink issues)..

with my iPhone4s sometimes it will automatically pair and other times ill need to click connect on my phone.. I leave my Bluetooth on all the time
RonnieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:09 PM   #6
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curley4301 View Post
Why do I have to manually connect the car's Bluetooth to my phone (S3). My previous phone (HTC) would automatically connect before I even got into the car. Is it the phone or the car?
Is it the same car? If the only thing that's changed is you got a new phone and now it's not working it's probably safe to say that the phone is causing the issue.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 05:13 PM   #7
FunkedOut
 
Drives: Black 2010 SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: FL
Posts: 18
iPhone 4 worked great.
iPhone 5 connects to the hands free every time on its own, but the music connect is hit or miss.
If it does connect but I'm not streaming music, it'll disconnect after a few minutes.
It almost always disconnects if I make/take a call.
FunkedOut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:18 AM   #8
Dizzy82

 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 1,310
Could it be a firmware issue with the deck?
__________________
Power is worthless without control.
Dizzy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:39 AM   #9
KTWillys
 
KTWillys's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 45th Anniversary
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: State Of Confusion
Posts: 160
you should only have to do the one time paring..
I have done mine once and I have the S3 and haven't had an issue since..
well until I installed the Kenwood system but alas that is a whole new story...lol
__________________
<img src=http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?u=66073&type=sigpic&dateline=1344222370 border=0 alt= />
KTWillys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:52 AM   #10
DuskSS
Bayou City Muscle Cars
 
DuskSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,471
Note2, GS3 and 4 and now HTC One and ALL never seem to connect properly to the Media side of BT.
the phone always connects without issue. media side always requires me to cycle it off and on to get music or turn by turn.
__________________
2013 2SS Dusk Edition
Dual Mode Exhaust CAI Inc CAI
Lethal Racing Stage IV
510.7rwhp 477fpt
Oracle Lighting throughout
DuskSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:56 PM   #11
pnyklr

 
Drives: A Gift From My Wife
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,533
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuskSS View Post
media side always requires me to cycle it off and on to get music or turn by turn.
That is a known issue with no fix that I am aware of.

-Funk
__________________
2012 Convert 2SS/RS SW/IO LS3 - Build #1081

07/21/2011 - (3800) Order produced and vehicle is being prepared for shipping.
08/09/2011 - (4200) Shipped (vehicle is shipped to the dealer or interim point of delivery).
08/16/2011 - (5000) Vehicle has been delivered to dealer.
08/19/2011 - In my possession.
pnyklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 09:54 PM   #12
JimE


 
JimE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS/1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 2,297
My S3 connects automatically everytime I get in the car. It will connect outside the car, the car has to be on. It's not often the car is on before I get in.

Are you getting the prompt on the phone?
__________________
Perm-a-grin in place.....
JimE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:30 PM   #13
jmhenry5150
2011 Camaro Newbie
 
jmhenry5150's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS (With RS package)
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkedOut View Post
iPhone 4 worked great.
iPhone 5 connects to the hands free every time on its own, but the music connect is hit or miss.
If it does connect but I'm not streaming music, it'll disconnect after a few minutes.
It almost always disconnects if I make/take a call.
I'm glad I'm not the only one with this issue...iPhone 5...
__________________

- J. Michael Henry
jmhenry5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.