Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Trunk Monkey Parts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
Aftermarket Head Unit Harness?

Does anyone make aftermarket head unit harness's for our cars? I am talking about a harness that will connect the head unit to the existing wiring in the car so that you dont have to splice the existing harness. I know I was able to buy one for my previous vehicles. I am installing a Pioneer head unit and would like to try and avoid splicing the factory harness.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:01 PM   #2
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,736
What install dash kit you using? I think the Scosche kit has the harness with it. Not sure about the Metra.
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
I am going to make my own dash kit from fiberglass. People are having to many issues with the aftermarket kits available right now. Plus I like the factory knobs! I want the look like the MyLink set up, just dont want the MyLink anymore.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:16 PM   #4
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 774
It's not as simple as just wiring in a new head unit. The factory radio (and the aftermarket kits) also control some of the basic functions of the car (like headlight turn-off delay, automatic locking, etc.). Just wiring in a new head unit will not allow you to retain those functions. Also, just as a note, the factory headunit is also responsible for generating the warning chimes and turn signal clicking sounds.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:26 PM   #5
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
That is why I am looking for a wiring harness that will allow me to plug and play. I am retaining the factory HVAC set up. I am only replacing the actual factory head unit.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:33 PM   #6
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
Darkrider - I see you have a scosche kit... Are you having any issues with it? The only reason I am not buying it is that people are having problems with it not working properly.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:35 PM   #7
Mikes SS

 
Mikes SS's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 CGM 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Central Florida
Posts: 1,030
Well keep us posted and put up some progress pics!! I got my harness from scosche they have it available separately
Mikes SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #8
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
You bought it directly from them?
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:10 PM   #9
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,736
I haven't had any problems with my Scosche kit. It's been in my car over a year. Using the Pioneer AVIC-140BT
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:41 PM   #10
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
Where did you get your scosche kit from? No one seems to have them available.
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:42 PM   #11
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
That is why I am looking for a wiring harness that will allow me to plug and play. I am retaining the factory HVAC set up. I am only replacing the actual factory head unit.
You will need the electronics for the chimes turn signal chimes to work. The harness does not have the electronics. If it was that simple some one would have made one all ready. I was thinking about that my self but the electronics stopped me.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 03:47 PM   #12
Inferno LSX
Supercharged LSX
 
Inferno LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS Black/Carbon Fiber
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
Where did you get your scosche kit from? No one seems to have them available.
Damn it I kinda forgot. Was a site vendor. Either Maryland Speed or Apex.
__________________
Inferno LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:03 PM   #13
Cmlloveless

 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ca
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caddyroger View Post
You will need the electronics for the chimes turn signal chimes to work. The harness does not have the electronics. If it was that simple some one would have made one all ready. I was thinking about that my self but the electronics stopped me.
Why did GM make the wireing so difficult. It really does not need to be this crazy! There are many cars out there that are simple to swap out aftermarket head units in without any problems at all...
Cmlloveless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmlloveless View Post
Why did GM make the wireing so difficult. It really does not need to be this crazy! There are many cars out there that are simple to swap out aftermarket head units in without any problems at all...
Labor, costs, space and weight could one reason.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.