Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Suspension / Brakes / Chassis

Suspension / Brakes / Chassis All suspension, brakes and chassis discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2013, 08:54 PM   #1
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
1LE rims put grove in a brake line?

I'm not sure what this line is but pretty sure it's the brake line on my rear tires, I recently put on my 10 spoke rims and when I drive I heard the line clipping the wheel balances and it left a grove in the line

It's only on both rear tires and I'm lowered 1"

I will post pics tomorrow, it's not the line that clips to the top of the toe rod, if your looking at the side of the car it's closer to the front of the rear wheel well, it's has a black rubber insulator and the grove is like a stainless hose inside it

For now I zip tied it to my toe rod so I can drive without damaging it more

What I'm trying to get at is how can I fix it? Can I simply cut and splice that line? Or do I have to replace the whole thing? Also how and where do I get the material to fix it?


Edit: pics in post #8

Last edited by MikeMoach; 07-05-2013 at 06:14 PM.
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:13 PM   #2
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 360
E brake cable?

Me too,I used zip ties.
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:29 PM   #3
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
I didn't have time to try but can I move that clip that holds the line into the cradle? And shorten the loop that touches the rim
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 11:09 PM   #4
SSMickey
SECC
 
SSMickey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Columbia S.C.
Posts: 1,429
It's the e-brake cable. I pushed as much slack out of mine as possible and put a small hose clamp behind the bracket.
__________________
Vengeance Stage II Cam, Halltech CAI, RX Catch Can, Full ARH Exhaust, QTP Cutouts, Powerbond 25% Underdrive, MGW Shifter, MTI Drop Springs, Forgeline RB3C Wheels, 3.91 gears, Night Owl LED Control System
SSMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:24 AM   #5
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Ok I'll try that when I get home today, but what about the grove in the cable?

Like I said I'll post pics today but should I have it fixed?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:59 PM   #6
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 360
For the nick, liquid electrical tape?
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:29 PM   #7
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Liquid electrical tape? How does it work and where can I get it?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:13 PM   #8
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
here are the pics i finally got to get them uploaded

i looked up that liquid electrical tape, do you think it will work in my situation? or is this too deep of a grove?


Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 411
Size:  56.7 KB

Name:  photo (1).jpg
Views: 416
Size:  91.3 KB
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:26 AM   #9
SSMickey
SECC
 
SSMickey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Columbia S.C.
Posts: 1,429
As long as the groove is not through the metal housing, you'll be fine. Just seal up the groove to prevent corrosion of the cable housing.
__________________
Vengeance Stage II Cam, Halltech CAI, RX Catch Can, Full ARH Exhaust, QTP Cutouts, Powerbond 25% Underdrive, MGW Shifter, MTI Drop Springs, Forgeline RB3C Wheels, 3.91 gears, Night Owl LED Control System
SSMickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:16 AM   #10
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
I haven't used the car in 3 days and I haven't seen anything leaking so I'm guessing it didn't get through, but just for my own knowledge does anyone know what the inside diameter is in that line?

Ill go to Loews and Home Depot today to look for the liquid electrical tape, I just wanna make sure that its waterproof before I get it
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:22 AM   #11
bkdamon
 
bkdamon's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2012 1LT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Camden, SC
Posts: 92
It's not going to leak. It has a wire inside.
bkdamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #12
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Oh ok I didn't know that thank you, do you know how thick the wire inside is? So I can just have peace of mind and know what I'm covering up isn't more then what it is
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:57 AM   #13
bkdamon
 
bkdamon's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2012 1LT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Camden, SC
Posts: 92
I don't know the size but's it's a fairly thick cable and the nick in the exterior doesn't look to have compromised it. As you may know, It's part of the emergency/parking brake system you manually activate when you pull up the lever in your center console. It's not part of the hydraulic system. As was mentioned you can get some liquid electrical tape from a hardware store like Lowes to keep it from rusting and developing problems in the future. You may never use it unless you have a manual transmission but when/if you do need it you won't want the it to snap because moisture caused it to rust and weakened it.
bkdamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 07:22 AM   #14
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
I didn't know they were seperate thank you, I have an auto and I don't use it much but I'm worried that one time I will need it and I pull it and I snap the cable

I'm guessing the wire inside is a braided cable? And I think you're right I didn't get through the exterior of the cable
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:59 AM   #15
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 360
Cable construction; inner cable, outer cable,outer cover(wether protection).Liquid tape(Lowes) to seal the cut from the weather.
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:21 AM   #16
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Thanks I just got the liquid tape and ill put it on later tonight so it doesn't bake in the sun all day and not dry
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 11:43 AM   #17
ToolFan66

 
ToolFan66's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS 6.2L W/RS package
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,102
You can drive the car, your not going to hurt anything, you would have to be driving in water to get it soaked enough to even get water inside the cable.
__________________
ToolFan66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 12:39 PM   #18
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Yea we've had really nice weather these past couple days so it hasn't seen water at all, like I said once the sun passes its peak ill go and put the liquid tape on, and hope that all is well
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:30 PM   #19
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
I put on 2 coats of the liquid tape, I covered it really well, is that all there is to it?

I left it zip tied for now, can I move the clip that was holding it before? Or should I go with the hose clamp?
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:46 PM   #20
BLACK67

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS CGM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 915
Send a message via MSN to BLACK67
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSMickey View Post
It's the e-brake cable. I pushed as much slack out of mine as possible and put a small hose clamp behind the bracket.
Did this exact fix to mine today.
__________________
SPi Performance Stage 3 package Comp Cam
PHADT FE4 ZL Stg.3
VMAX CNC Spiral Ported Throttle Body
Dynatech LT headers, Hi flow Cats
MBRP 3" 304 stainless X-pipe exhaust
Fastlane true CAI.
Barton shifter
BLACK67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 10:55 PM   #21
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
Then that's what I'll do tomorrow, I'm sure I got 2 hose clamps in the tool bag somewhere no matter the size ill jus cut the slack off to fit

Thanks for all the help and info guys I appreciate it
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 06:46 AM   #22
Oliv59
 
Oliv59's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th M6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: France (59)
Posts: 150
Please post a picture after the fix
Oliv59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:08 PM   #23
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
No problem ill post it when I get home

What I did was use the yellow clip that is on the cable that held it into its seat and put a hose clamp around that and the toe rod

Ill get the pics up as soon as I can get to my computer
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:14 PM   #24
MikeMoach

 
MikeMoach's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,341
ok heres the pic, sorry if its too large and too close, its the best i could do with no jack and the wheel on

i believe the clamp was 2-1/2" or 3"

i opened the clamp, snaked it between the ABS and the toe rod and around the cable and tighten up

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  119.7 KB
MikeMoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 04:03 PM   #25
rockrau
 
rockrau's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2ss red
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: perkasie pa
Posts: 360
I'm using factory mount and a zip tie.E brake is smooth.
rockrau is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.