Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
Belt dust on top of supercharger

I don't know much about belt alignment or anything. I'm getting rubber dust on the top of my vortech ysi v7 (self installed, no shops nearby.) It's dusting right after the tensioner near the supercharger pulley. What do I need to adjust?
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:24 PM   #2
BigMatt
2010 Camaro 2 SS/RS M6
 
BigMatt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Landenberg, Pa
Posts: 1,096
Send a message via AIM to BigMatt
Tensioner probably isn't adjusted tight enough so your slipping your belt when you get on it.
__________________
LS3, JRE Smooth Idle cam, CAI Inc, ARH 1 7/8, Corsa, MSD Wires, MGW Shifter, Street slayer clutch, Tick braided clutch line & speed bleeder, DSS 1000hp ds & 1400hp axles, BMR Split drop, Sway Bars, Trailing Arms, Toe Rods, Pro bushing kit, Spohn lcas, Whipple, LPE dual fuel pumps, Rx catch can, Id850s, Powerhaus Performance tuned.
BigMatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:02 PM   #3
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
I doubt that. i had to have the idler off and tensioner pulled all the way back to even get the belt on..
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:08 PM   #4
ToddB

 
Drives: 2011 2SS Convertible Supercharged
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WI Cert Welder Navy NSSN
Posts: 938
I had belt dust on mine until I tightened it up as tight as I could get it. Also a new belt will stretch a lot the first 100 miles or so.
__________________
2011 Camaro SS, LS3,Whipple SC, CAI intake, ARH 2" Headers, Corsa exhaust, ZL1 fuel pump with ADM FPCM ,ID850, BMR suspension upgrades,Tune by JRE LS9 Cam
ToddB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:58 PM   #5
Slickcas
 
Drives: 12' 2SS/RS LS3 IBM
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Paris. ILL
Posts: 266
I have the V3 so it's a little different. But when I pulleyed down I changed the location of the tensioner and routed the belt under the idler. It gives a little more belt wrap around the blower pully. Vortech allready had the holes in the brackets. I picked up a bold from Fastenal the odd thing is the bolts going into the Vortech brackets are metric and the bolts going in to the blower are standerd. I am at work so I do not have a pic to post righ now.
Slickcas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 10:08 PM   #6
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,644
My cog belt also dusts the pulley.
blake-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:24 AM   #7
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
It seems the tensioner comes out by almost 1/16th. Is that normal as well? (Towards the front of the car.)
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:41 AM   #8
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 622
How is your belt routed? I routed my YSI like Ted suggests and haven't had any wear on the belt.
DarkCry956 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 02:01 AM   #9
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
I didn't know he had a different routing. Haven't gotten the upgrade from him yet. It goes from crank to s/c with the tensioner on it top side 3/4 from the left and the idler bottom side 1/4 from the left.
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:36 PM   #10
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
Bump
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:47 PM   #11
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,791
A little dust is normal on a fresh belt. If it keeps doing it than it is too loose.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1116rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:57 PM   #12
BLACK10

 
BLACK10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO. 10.04@133mph, 1.4 60'
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 4,987
can you post a pic?
BLACK10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:09 PM   #13
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
I have 3 on their way. Will take a couple minutes though.
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:17 PM   #14
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 622
I have mine routed under the idler pulley not over like Vortech has a on the instructions. I changed pulleys too so I dropped the tensioner to the bottom position.
DarkCry956 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:20 PM   #15
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Generally speaking, if you aren't beyond frustrated while putting the belt on, it isn't tight enough. I'd see if you can't get a buddy to help you get the tensioner set a little tighter. Also remember, belts stretch and will need to be adjusted after 100 miles or so.
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:22 PM   #16
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
http://media-cache-ec4.pinimg.com/or...1989197dc3.jpg

http://media-cache-ec3.pinimg.com/or...7320d959bf.jpg

http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/or...7afb9c9cf8.jpg

Pics above. I don't believe it's a belt slip prob, it dusts at idle and was a pain to get on for us.
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:48 PM   #17
DarkCry956
 
DarkCry956's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas RGV
Posts: 622
Try putting the belt under the idler pulley not over.
DarkCry956 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:32 AM   #18
BLACK10

 
BLACK10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO. 10.04@133mph, 1.4 60'
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lafayette, Louisiana
Posts: 4,987
i would also use a green hd belt from gates
BLACK10 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.