Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDTW Custom Wheels & Tires
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2018, 10:11 AM   #1
rdsesq
 
Drives: 2013 Rally Yellow SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cali
Posts: 58
Doing a tune for 91 octane due I need an 87 as well...

I am going to do a tune. Thinking about Jannetty, since I only have an intake/exhaust & may be adding a throttle body. Plus an automatic trans tune. (target is 350RWHP at a min)

I only ever run 91 octane. However, if I am stuck in middle o freakin no where and all they have is 87 and I need to put in 7-8 gallons to safely get me to the next fuel stop where I can get 91 octane.

Do I need t get an 87 octane tune as well. The car would be running 87 for a few miles and would still have a mix lower than 91 octane when I filled up.

Does a 91 octane tune take into account such a scenario type? Or do I need to get an 87 octane tune as well. If not and I do two tunes, Do I need to switch it over manually in that circumstance and then manually switch it back? Or is the tune smart enough to figure it out on it's own? Do a fuse pull? Etc, etc, etc?

Any advice, experience would be appreciated.
rdsesq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 10:25 AM   #2
frankwjr

 
frankwjr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS 2SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Smithsburg, Md.
Posts: 1,617
I use dynoSteve at RDP(nothin against Jannetty!) for the past 2 years now. He has a SCT/tune deal that has lifetime updates, they sell parts to us with a discount and free s/h...

the initial tune with the 3.45's was a wakeup...the tune after I installed the 3.91's is plain freakin awesome...daily drive unless rain or snow.....can pass any emissions...20+mpg hwy...

I run 93 and when I asked Steve about when I went to 'cfest last year and had to possibly put in a lower grade..his response was the tune will adjust...he apparently does not lock his tunes to a specific octane...hopefully he catches this post and chimes in...

that's my direct experience and many others as well...good luck OP and report back!
__________________
2010 SS 2SS M6-Spectre CAI-JET TBS-JBA Shorty Headers-ARH H/F Cats-Doug Thorley axle back-MSD 12v coil harness mod-PAC 1218's-BTR 3/8 7.4 push rods-Powell Machine bronze rocker bushings-Prothane motor mounts-Prothane rear sub-frame inserts-BMR Trailing Arms & bushings-1LE 3.91's-1LE axles-Ford S-spring posi-mod-Tune by RDP dynoSteve!(Woot)-LS9 block-Daily Driver-118K!-12.7 at 112-1.9 60'(3.45's)-BFG Comp-2 Street Tire-stock size on ZL1 reps(20x8.5)(20x9.5)-DR's Nitto NT05R(305/45) on Motegi MT120 18x9.5-12.3 at 110-1.7 60'(3.91's) All work by me...
frankwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 12:43 PM   #3
rdsesq
 
Drives: 2013 Rally Yellow SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cali
Posts: 58
I may have hit a snag. Does the ability to upload tunes to the SCT X4 require it be done by Windows (pc/laptop) ONLY? I have only Macs.

Never really worried about it in this day and age of the net, phone apps & wireless downloading. Especially since the SCT X4 allows wireless updates of it's own software. I can't believe they are stuck to a single platform for such a basic function.

Anybody using an SCT X4 with a Mac?
rdsesq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 03:20 PM   #4
sdynak
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bayville, NJ
Posts: 737
The SCT X4 is Windows application only..

Also.. DynoSteve maintains both high & low octane tables.. he confirmed it in the below thread. Not sure what others do so maybe just a matter of asking to be sure.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=472685&page=8

"No i maintain a high and a low octane map as you never know where you will end up or what fuel you get, the only time i do a tune that keeps both tables the same is if its for drag racing and the customer is running race fuel and only loading this tune at the track"
__________________
2010 1SS LS3, Black, Kooks Stepped Headers, 3.91's, Bo White PTB, Flowmaster Mufflers, Cold Air Industries CAI, Apex Scoop & Windshield Washer Relocate, SLP Wheels, Skip Shift Eliminate, Barton Flat Stick, OEM HID/Halos, Tuned by RDP MotorSports aka DynoSteve
sdynak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 05:02 PM   #5
frankwjr

 
frankwjr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS 2SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Smithsburg, Md.
Posts: 1,617
used laptops r cheap...
__________________
2010 SS 2SS M6-Spectre CAI-JET TBS-JBA Shorty Headers-ARH H/F Cats-Doug Thorley axle back-MSD 12v coil harness mod-PAC 1218's-BTR 3/8 7.4 push rods-Powell Machine bronze rocker bushings-Prothane motor mounts-Prothane rear sub-frame inserts-BMR Trailing Arms & bushings-1LE 3.91's-1LE axles-Ford S-spring posi-mod-Tune by RDP dynoSteve!(Woot)-LS9 block-Daily Driver-118K!-12.7 at 112-1.9 60'(3.45's)-BFG Comp-2 Street Tire-stock size on ZL1 reps(20x8.5)(20x9.5)-DR's Nitto NT05R(305/45) on Motegi MT120 18x9.5-12.3 at 110-1.7 60'(3.91's) All work by me...
frankwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2018, 10:36 PM   #6
Pro-tuned
Angewendet Ingenieur
 
Pro-tuned's Avatar
 
Drives: 14 Camaro SS
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 78
There are Windows operating systems for MAC and my friends have used them with SCT.
Pro-tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 09:35 AM   #7
dentnshell
 
dentnshell's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2014 2SS
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oologah, OK
Posts: 443
I use vmware fusion - have also used parallels. you can install windows on your Mac. I use it on mine for my efilive. If you have no interest in running windows inside a window, you can use the free "BootCAMP" to install windows on a separate partition.
Simply hold down the option key and restart. Your mac would then present you with the "option" to boot into windows or OSX.
I am running windows 7 as I have a older 2011 macbook pro, with a 2012 you should be able to do windows 10 https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204990
__________________
2014 L99 2SS. 579HP/576ft-lbs Mods: LSA Conversion 2.5" Upper Pulley, 65# injectors, GPI SS1 Cam, SP Long Tubes, HF Cat, ADM Race Scoop & CAI, NPP exhaust (DIY control), BMR 1" lowering springs, ZL1 Rear Differential / Axles, CF Side Strip / Hood Spear, Tint - Windows / Tails / Sidemarkers, Splash Guards, ADM Boost Gauge, ABL Dashkit, '68 Script Badges, ACS T4 Splitter, ZL1 Rockers from Gary's, Z28 Spoiler, Carbon Fiber Hood Vent, Drag DR 64's Satin Black (9" Front-10" Rear.)
dentnshell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 11:16 AM   #8
Avenging Orange


 
Avenging Orange's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Clermont, IN
Posts: 2,361
You will be just fine. Get your tune and enjoy.
__________________
2010 Inferno Orange 2SS/RS M6 Black Leather,Sun Roof, OBX Headers, Haltech CAI , non synthetic fluids, Mike Norris tuned 419/413
2015 Ford Interceptor// 2007 Ford F150 XLT 4X4
Avenging Orange: 40 years of not buying into the Hype........and damn proud of it!!
Avenging Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 12:45 PM   #9
Fireman124
 
Drives: 45th convertible ss
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 105
Check out Dino Steve at RDP. He is very easy to work with and will make any adjustments you want. His customer service and turn around time is really quick.
Fireman124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 02:21 PM   #10
Moreair1

 
Moreair1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ss convertible
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,053
Simple if you had to put 87 to get to the next gas stations just drive it normal no full throttle pulls ect and you would be fine, plus i wouldnt spend money on a tb, and the real benefit you will see with the tune is in the transmission just my opinion
__________________
Cai intake and a few other mods😎
Moreair1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 03:56 PM   #11
dynosteve
Dyno Tuner & Calibrator

 
dynosteve's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Painesville Ohio
Posts: 9,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsesq View Post
I am going to do a tune. Thinking about Jannetty, since I only have an intake/exhaust & may be adding a throttle body. Plus an automatic trans tune. (target is 350RWHP at a min)

I only ever run 91 octane. However, if I am stuck in middle o freakin no where and all they have is 87 and I need to put in 7-8 gallons to safely get me to the next fuel stop where I can get 91 octane.

Do I need t get an 87 octane tune as well. The car would be running 87 for a few miles and would still have a mix lower than 91 octane when I filled up.

Does a 91 octane tune take into account such a scenario type? Or do I need to get an 87 octane tune as well. If not and I do two tunes, Do I need to switch it over manually in that circumstance and then manually switch it back? Or is the tune smart enough to figure it out on it's own? Do a fuse pull? Etc, etc, etc?

Any advice, experience would be appreciated.

Hey Sir when we do custom tunes we always set it up for what octane that you plan to run however on the gm platform computers they have a high and low octane mapping table and when i do a custom tune i retain the low octane map just incase the customer gets caught out on a road trip etc, all i always tell the customer is if you have to put 87 octane in the vehicle do not beat on it as this is not a performance fuel. feel free to pm me with any questions and i can hook you up on a custom tune

Thanks Dynosteve
RDP Store
__________________

RDP Store www.rdpstore.com
Shop 440 358 5500
Cell 440 251 8571

Kooks ARH Stainless Power HP Tuners Ngauge Diablosport SCT Edelbrock Whipple Magnuson Rotofab CAI Fore DSS Mishimoto Borla Magnaflow Corsa Trutrac EBC
dynosteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 03:57 PM   #12
frankwjr

 
frankwjr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS 2SS M6
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Smithsburg, Md.
Posts: 1,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireman124 View Post
Check out Dino Steve at RDP. He is very easy to work with and will make any adjustments you want. His customer service and turn around time is really quick.
wonder if peeps read the threads from the beginning...and its dyno...
__________________
2010 SS 2SS M6-Spectre CAI-JET TBS-JBA Shorty Headers-ARH H/F Cats-Doug Thorley axle back-MSD 12v coil harness mod-PAC 1218's-BTR 3/8 7.4 push rods-Powell Machine bronze rocker bushings-Prothane motor mounts-Prothane rear sub-frame inserts-BMR Trailing Arms & bushings-1LE 3.91's-1LE axles-Ford S-spring posi-mod-Tune by RDP dynoSteve!(Woot)-LS9 block-Daily Driver-118K!-12.7 at 112-1.9 60'(3.45's)-BFG Comp-2 Street Tire-stock size on ZL1 reps(20x8.5)(20x9.5)-DR's Nitto NT05R(305/45) on Motegi MT120 18x9.5-12.3 at 110-1.7 60'(3.91's) All work by me...
frankwjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 10:28 AM   #13
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 13,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsesq View Post
I am going to do a tune. Thinking about Jannetty, since I only have an intake/exhaust & may be adding a throttle body. Plus an automatic trans tune. (target is 350RWHP at a min)

I only ever run 91 octane. However, if I am stuck in middle o freakin no where and all they have is 87 and I need to put in 7-8 gallons to safely get me to the next fuel stop where I can get 91 octane.

Do I need t get an 87 octane tune as well. The car would be running 87 for a few miles and would still have a mix lower than 91 octane when I filled up.

Does a 91 octane tune take into account such a scenario type? Or do I need to get an 87 octane tune as well. If not and I do two tunes, Do I need to switch it over manually in that circumstance and then manually switch it back? Or is the tune smart enough to figure it out on it's own? Do a fuse pull? Etc, etc, etc?

Any advice, experience would be appreciated.
I appreciate you considering JRE for your custom tuning needs.

JRE created the Remote tuning program back in Jan of 2010 via SCT, no one has tuned more of these cars than I have.

Good tunes aren't cheap and cheap tunes aren't good.

You can safely run on 87 octane with our custom tunes but you will notice less performance, these cars are designed to run on 91 octane min for best performance and fuel economy.

If you have a Mac you can use a software called Bootcamp to boot your computer in to windows and use your SCT device.

If you have an internet connection we can put your tunes on a cloud and you can get them and load them that way directly to the device without a laptop as well.

Feel free to give me a call to discuss your project.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.