Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
2sscamaro11
 
Drives: 2011 ss camaro
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: hamburg pa
Posts: 234
Cam question

Deleted.

Last edited by 2sscamaro11; 12-31-2013 at 12:27 PM.
2sscamaro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 05:39 PM   #2
old motorhead

 
Drives: Maggie blown LS3 vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE TX
Posts: 1,321
If you need a little lope, buck, and surge in your life, go for it. With a spot on tune it will be where you can shift out of the rough spots if you're M6. I wouldn't use it with an A6 without a fairly healthy converter. I hate healthy converters on anything but a track car.

It's a personal preference thing. If you like the lopey idle and all that goes with it, you might like it. Just know that you can make just as much power with a more mission specific mild blower cam....and have near perfect manners. Some will say that 9 degrees of overlap is easily tunable for perfect manners. That hasn't been my experience.

A new cam, with specs of your choice, will set you back $375. It's counterproductive (at least in my mind) to install a cam that's less than perfect for the app.
old motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 03:41 PM   #3
east TX Muscle cars

 
east TX Muscle cars's Avatar
 
Drives: 2x 05 Vettes/65'AC cobra/68 camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LONGVIEW, TEXAS
Posts: 845
That cam will work for your build, if you just don't want to get a FI cam. i have tuned peoples BIG NA cams on blowers cause they didn't want to pull them and as long as its tuned right its fine. That cam will have some nice lope its not to far off our STG 2 FI cam actually.
east TX Muscle cars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 04:40 PM   #4
Slowhawk
LSX specialty shop

 
Drives: 1999 Trans Am
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgewater,Ma
Posts: 1,697
That's pretty close to what we run. We make 700rwhp with that cam and a 2300.
__________________


Bridgewater, Ma
(508)659-4454
Slowhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #5
UNRIVALED SS
 
UNRIVALED SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS L99
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to UNRIVALED SS
That's a few degrees off on intake duration from what I'm running. I like it. I've had no problems with drivability but I do run a 3000 rpm stall. That's more stall than you need to make the cam work but I wouldn't run a cam that large without a stall converter. The tvs 2300 will smooth it out a little for you though.
UNRIVALED SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 07:16 PM   #6
2sscamaro11
 
Drives: 2011 ss camaro
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: hamburg pa
Posts: 234
Thank you everyone! I really appreciate all the feedback!
2sscamaro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.