Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2013, 11:05 AM   #1
etmx183

 
etmx183's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 1,628
Disappointed in results from FTI convertor

I installed a 3400 FTI convertor into my 2012 LFX. When I go to launch the car it slowly goes up in RPM than about 1/2 second later flashes to about 1700/1800 RPMs. I am leaving from footbraking, not preloading the convertor. I've had stall convertors before and never felt anything like this. Now this is my first computer controlled car I'm modding. Now if I let off the brake pedal for a second at idle than hit it, it will flash about 2600. Maybe some tuning needs to be done to correct this?? I am using HP Tuners software and have just started remote tuning with Matt@FSP. This was happening before using the HP Tuners software.
etmx183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:07 AM   #2
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 11,945
Did you get it from RX?
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:32 AM   #3
CFD



 
Drives: 2SS/RS L99 BLACK
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dedham
Posts: 6,210
I have a FTI 3600 stall and am also unhappy with it. It launches well but is all over the place with normal driving.
CFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
Jason@JacFab
 
Jason@JacFab's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 1LT RS Camaro; 72 Chevelle
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Jason@JacFab Send a message via MSN to Jason@JacFab
Sorry to hear that, that's too bad... After my first trip to the track with my 13 2LS, I was thinking the best mod I could do for the car for better ET's would be a higher stall converter, and I was considering the FTI... Perhaps I will look elsewhere. Keep us posted.
__________________
2016 1LT RS, 2.0T A8
13.462 @ 100.65, stock eng/tune w/ some weight reduction
12.957 @ 103.45, JacFab BigMouth TB & Charge pipe, Catless downpipe, LSD diff swap, Ghetto drag pack, unfinished tune.
Jason@JacFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:19 PM   #5
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFD View Post
I have a FTI 3600 stall and am also unhappy with it. It launches well but is all over the place with normal driving.
That's not your convertors fault. Not sure how the 6l80's tuning works if it works off slip or pressure or what.. But I would think normal driving non Wot it would lock up rather nice if your trans tune is ok.
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:23 PM   #6
mlee
www.CamaroFest7.com
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2017 A10 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 31,006
Matt will fix you up.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:23 PM   #7
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by etmx183 View Post
I installed a 3400 FTI convertor into my 2012 LFX. When I go to launch the car it slowly goes up in RPM than about 1/2 second later flashes to about 1700/1800 RPMs. I am leaving from footbraking, not preloading the convertor. I've had stall convertors before and never felt anything like this. Now this is my first computer controlled car I'm modding. Now if I let off the brake pedal for a second at idle than hit it, it will flash about 2600. Maybe some tuning needs to be done to correct this?? I am using HP Tuners software and have just started remote tuning with Matt@FSP. This was happening before using the HP Tuners software.
Matt will get you worked out bud. Let him gather some data and I'm sure he will figure it out.
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:32 PM   #8
CFD



 
Drives: 2SS/RS L99 BLACK
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dedham
Posts: 6,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLE58 View Post
That's not your convertors fault. Not sure how the 6l80's tuning works if it works off slip or pressure or what.. But I would think normal driving non Wot it would lock up rather nice if your trans tune is ok.

I thought it was in the tune as well but where as I do not do my own tuning and after several sessions of data logging and attempts to correct it the tuner is confident it's a loose converter, could he be wrong, very possible but he is very qualified so that's what I am going on.
CFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 05:58 AM   #9
etmx183

 
etmx183's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 1,628
Thanks for the feedback. I'll be doing some data logging this week for Matt and will post results.
etmx183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 02:02 PM   #10
Rhino79



 
Rhino79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS L99/Auto
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 2,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLE58 View Post
That's not your convertors fault. Not sure how the 6l80's tuning works if it works off slip or pressure or what.. But I would think normal driving non Wot it would lock up rather nice if your trans tune is ok.
The TCC does partially apply on the factory converter. It should be tuned to allow 0 slippage with an aftermarket converter. Single or triple disk.
__________________
GM LSX parts, builds, and calibration. Home of some of the fastest LS powered vehicles in the world!
http://www.gwatneyperformance.com/
ryan@gogwatney.com jzajac@gogwatney.com aaron@gogwatney.com
Rhino79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 05:31 PM   #11
CFD



 
Drives: 2SS/RS L99 BLACK
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dedham
Posts: 6,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino79 View Post
The TCC does partially apply on the factory converter. It should be tuned to allow 0 slippage with an aftermarket converter. Single or triple disk.

I am not seeing TCC desired slip set at zero except for 1st gear, perhaps this is the reason?
CFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:25 PM   #12
etmx183

 
etmx183's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2LT RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 1,628
Thanks for the feedback, on the highway it is great. Lock up in 4th/5th and 6th. It is the launch that is not stalling when I footbrake. i have to be off the brake for a second than whack the throttle for it to stall. If I hit the throttle at the same time I release the brake pedal it acts like it is cutting power for a second than takes off. Never had this issue with the stock convertor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino79 View Post
The TCC does partially apply on the factory converter. It should be tuned to allow 0 slippage with an aftermarket converter. Single or triple disk.
etmx183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:59 PM   #13
Matt @ FSP
 
Matt @ FSP's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 2,613
Just need some datalogs and we'll see whats going on.

Only thing I did over the holiday weekend was write a base tune for him so he can start doing some logging, etmx said I'll get some logs during the week but its very hot up there so probably later in the week.
Matt @ FSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:40 PM   #14
butters
It's not the batmobile!
 
butters's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LFX
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,095
butters is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.