Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons For all LFX related parts

Old 07-15-2013, 09:06 PM   #1
CTcamaro1

Drives: 2012 camaro ls/rs
catch can

hey guys im kinda a newbie here.... however, everyone has been telling me to get a catch can, and that its definitely worth it, so i did... but the thing is i kind of dont even know what it does, essentially it catches oil before entering the manifold or throttle body? correct? and how hard of an install is it?
CTcamaro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:18 PM   #2
Calikenn

Drives: 2012 Corvette GS
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTcamaro1 View Post
hey guys im kinda a newbie here.... however, everyone has been telling me to get a catch can, and that its definitely worth it, so i did... but the thing is i kind of dont even know what it does, essentially it catches oil before entering the manifold or throttle body? correct? and how hard of an install is it?
Congratulations on your new ride. Here is a good thread from a site vendor. I went with elite engineering and couldn't be happier. Install was easy for our LFX engine. Do your homework and make an informed decision. Enjoy!

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...ighlight=Catch
Calikenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:20 PM   #3
DFWHD

Drives: 45th Anniversary Convertible
Correct, it keeps oil from gunking up your intake manifold (someone can probably give a more technical definition). It takes less than an hour and absolutely no mechanical skills to install. I just put one on last month.

what brand did you get?
DFWHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:31 PM   #4
montreal2010yellow

Drives: 2 LT/RS YELLOW, AUTO., VIN NO. 602
2 CANS