Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Dyno Max
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2013, 12:26 PM   #1
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
TT question

im looking for a tt kit that top mount not bottom mount, any company out there make a kit like this?
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:00 PM   #2
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,499
I haven't seen any companies making top mount TT kits but I'm sure ADM can hook you up with a custom one.
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:51 PM   #3
camarosspower
 
camarosspower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Port Arthur, Tx
Posts: 462
Hennessey does those. Its real nice but real pricey. For me anyways
camarosspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 04:50 PM   #4
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarosspower View Post
Hennessey does those. Its real nice but real pricey. For me anyways
Doesn't Hennessey use low mounts also.
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:02 PM   #5
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRT10KLLR View Post
Doesn't Hennessey use low mounts also.
The HPE800 is a top mount kit, but apparently the HPE1000 isn't...
Attached Images
 
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 05:52 PM   #6
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SS45th View Post
The HPE800 is a top mount kit, but apparently the HPE1000 isn't...

Try changing the plugs in that car.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:01 PM   #7
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,791
Why top mount? Just for looks or what?
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1116rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:39 PM   #8
old motorhead

 
Drives: Maggie blown LS3 vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE TX
Posts: 1,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unreal View Post
Why top mount? Just for looks or what?
Can't you get away without an additional oil pump (and the plumbing that goes with it) with the top mounts?
old motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:07 AM   #9
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,791
Yes, but I rather deal with an oil pump than putting a lot of hot parts where they aren't designed to go. If you use a good oil pump there should be no issue. I know the AGP kit uses the same pump that is OEM on porsches and other cars. Plus it is fed will filtered oil and has its own filter before the pump so it is double filtered. As far as pluming that goes to it, there really isn't any more plumbing. Just runs inline with the return lines. You need return line either way.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1116rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 04:13 PM   #10
old motorhead

 
Drives: Maggie blown LS3 vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SE TX
Posts: 1,324
As much as I like just about everything about turbo systems, I don't like the complexity. Effeciency out the wazoo is attractive for sure. No belt load on the motor to power the blower. That's ALL good Cramming all that into an already crowded engine compartment has me hesitant to pull the trigger on a turbo system. I enjoy driving the hell out of my toys too much to fool with anything less than a mostly trouble free system.

I know the newer systems are far better than the ones I'm familiar with. There's still a lot going on vs a blower though. Sure, the blower isn't totally trouble free either. If my power goals were well north of 750 wheel, I'd look a little harder at a twin t system. Maybe the oiless turbos will prove to be dead nuts reliable. That would inch me a little closer to pulling the trigger on a twin rig. For now, I'll wait and watch
old motorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:01 PM   #11
2SS45th


 
2SS45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 Seconds or Faster
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 2,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
Try changing the plugs in that car.
Pfft if you can afford Hennessey stuff you just buy a new car when it needs plugs

I agree with Motorhead here, if your goals are sub 750 get the whipple. If you're a loon like me and looking to push 1200 wheel pick out some turbos and let em rip.
__________________
I Ain't About That Stock Life.

2SS45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:20 PM   #12
CyberPredator
50 Shades of Prey
 
Drives: TT/SS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Between 10 and 20 PSI
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by old motorhead View Post
As much as I like just about everything about turbo systems, I don't like the complexity. Effeciency out the wazoo is attractive for sure. No belt load on the motor to power the blower. That's ALL good Cramming all that into an already crowded engine compartment has me hesitant to pull the trigger on a turbo system. I enjoy driving the hell out of my toys too much to fool with anything less than a mostly trouble free system.

I know the newer systems are far better than the ones I'm familiar with. There's still a lot going on vs a blower though. Sure, the blower isn't totally trouble free either. If my power goals were well north of 750 wheel, I'd look a little harder at a twin t system. Maybe the oiless turbos will prove to be dead nuts reliable. That would inch me a little closer to pulling the trigger on a twin rig. For now, I'll wait and watch
That's why most the kits don't put it in the engine bay. My car car just looks like it has a cold air intake with a blow off valve. I understand the driving and trouble free system part but in the defense of turbos I've put 25,000+ miles on my car with the IPS turbo kit installed which has been on the car for 2 years now without any issues.
__________________
Futral Motorsports built and tuned
CyberPredator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 12:19 AM   #13
Frans96ss
Race Proven Motorsports

 
Drives: 96SS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Castle Delaware
Posts: 816
We can custom build you one. Feel free to give us a call.
__________________
Frans96ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:08 PM   #14
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
reason I ask is because I have a TT kit on my car already and I hate the oil pump that come with the car, one went out on me and blew the seal on the turbo, that why Im searching the market for a top TT kit, one less thing I have to worry about when im running the car
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:10 PM   #15
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,791
Upgrade to a quality oil pump and that won't be an issue. A lot of kits use really cheap ones. That being said, once the new pump works the turbo maybe fine. Turbo oil seals are like piston rings. They just don't blow out. You can push oil past them if they don't drain well but it just doesn't fail like a normal seal.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1116rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:34 PM   #16
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
^^ you have any recommendation on the oil pump?
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:45 PM   #17
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unreal View Post
Upgrade to a quality oil pump and that won't be an issue. A lot of kits use really cheap ones. That being said, once the new pump works the turbo maybe fine. Turbo oil seals are like piston rings. They just don't blow out. You can push oil past them if they don't drain well but it just doesn't fail like a normal seal.


If you fix the oil problem the turbo will function normally again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk_SS View Post
^^ you have any recommendation on the oil pump?
Turbowerx Exa-Pump
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 04:48 PM   #18
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
^^^ thanks you but my turbo was blowing out a lot of white smoke and the back bumper are cover with oil.... and this is right after it got rebuilt too, you guys think just replacing the pump will work??
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:45 PM   #19
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,791
Worth a try. Call AGP and get their setup. Comes with a pre pump filter and the best pump money can buy.

Yes, unless you drove it like that forever then it should clear up. It is just a metal ring with a gap, when oil doesn't drain oil goes through that gap. Once you get it draining it will clog up with carbon quickly like designed and return to normal.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1116rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 05:50 PM   #20
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,577
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
I would think sending the turbos to the OEM and having them go through them isn't too bad cost wise compared to going with a whole new kit... We've had mine in several times... Then use a quality pump... And make sure the orifices are properly sized while they are in for service...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:14 PM   #21
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
what are the pump you running?
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:54 PM   #22
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,577
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blk_SS View Post
what are the pump you running?
The name slips my mind, but I'll find out and send you the info... We even pulled some shrapnel from it when I blew a turbo up at the mile and it keeps right on pumping...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:06 PM   #23
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
^^ please PM me as soon as you find out the name that pump sound like a beast
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:21 PM   #24
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,577
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
I just checked with my builders fabricator, it is the Turbowerx

http://turbowerx.com/Scavenge_Pumps/.../Exa-Pump.html
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:36 PM   #25
Blk_SS
 
Drives: black on black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Biloxi,MS
Posts: 355
thanks im gonna order one tomorrow
Blk_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.