Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BORLA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2013, 12:36 PM   #1
bluecam805
Team LFX
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 318
LS rims upgrade to 20s problem

Has anyone upgraded there 18 steelies to 20s and had all the traction control lights come on??
I dont know how to get rid of em
I have larger tires in the back than the front

275 45 20
245 40 20

Thanks
__________________
2.5" cat- back Magnaflow exhaust w. resonated x pipe, Roto Fab CAI .. .. JL sound system, Halo fog lights, Escort radar, window tint + turn signals
bluecam805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
CamaroGang_BANGBANG
 
CamaroGang_BANGBANG's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 2LS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Miami
Posts: 117
I have 22s on mines. The only thing I had to buy was those tire pressure sensors. Dont kno wat the traction thing about
CamaroGang_BANGBANG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:43 PM   #3
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,408
U proably need to reset your tmps, not sure why traction control light would come on, when I had my v6 I upgraded to the ss tires and all I did was the relearn function in the dic
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:49 PM   #4
bluecam805
Team LFX
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 318
How do i reset the tmps? Is it the owners manuel? Im looking into that right now
The dealer said the computer thinks i have 18s and so i would need to re caliberate the wheels sensors. The tire shop said geting the tires the same size will fix it
Idk whos right
__________________
2.5" cat- back Magnaflow exhaust w. resonated x pipe, Roto Fab CAI .. .. JL sound system, Halo fog lights, Escort radar, window tint + turn signals
bluecam805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:55 PM   #5
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,408
In the dic when you get to the tmps for each tire hit relearn, You then will be prompted to let air out of each tire so the the tmps picks up the new tires, I think. It's been a while, lost my manual in hurricane sandy but I think that's the way to do it,
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 04:15 PM   #6
bluecam805
Team LFX
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 318
I tried that thru the DIC and it would clear then the lights would come on again
But i switchd the front tires to have them all even and it looks so far good
Lights are off
__________________
2.5" cat- back Magnaflow exhaust w. resonated x pipe, Roto Fab CAI .. .. JL sound system, Halo fog lights, Escort radar, window tint + turn signals
bluecam805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 05:21 PM   #7
JohnnyBfromPeoria

 
JohnnyBfromPeoria's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LS M6, Black
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,047
If the outside diameter of the tires is off, there will be lights.

And the TPMS relearn procedure for the newer cars has to be done with a scan tool, as the let-air-out-thing doesn't work on a '12+.

John B.
__________________
12 LS M6, IPF S/C, ASA GT-5 wheels, VMax PTB
1995 Mitsubishi Montero SR
1987 Dodge Raider Turbo Project
1986 Mitsubishi Montero 2.4l FI Transplant
JohnnyBfromPeoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:52 PM   #8
skibik
Guest
 
Drives: bbbbbb
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: bfe
Posts: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyBfromPeoria View Post
If the outside diameter of the tires is off, there will be lights.

And the TPMS relearn procedure for the newer cars has to be done with a scan tool, as the let-air-out-thing doesn't work on a '12+.

John B.
Old procedure works on my 2012 1LT even though the books says to take it to a dealer. I have rotated once and rather then drive 40 to 50 miles to a dealer I tried it the way it is done on the older models. It works the same way. It took me a few tries until I found out I wasn't waiting long enough after letting air out of each tire. Start the learn procedure by hold in the set button when on the tire monitoring screen. The park light blinks to to tell you where to start, left front I believe. Let out 10 seconds of air and wait, I repeat wait, until the horn sounds and the next park light blinks. Repeat on the other corners until finished and a beep then a double beep (I think) sounds, refill all tires and you are done. I think I even started at close to 40 PSI in all tires. Or take it to a dealer and pay them to reset.

Dean.
skibik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:48 PM   #9
Jason@JacFab
www.jacfab.com

 
Jason@JacFab's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 1LT RS Camaro; 72 Chevelle
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 4,627
Send a message via AIM to Jason@JacFab Send a message via MSN to Jason@JacFab
Its your tires, they are too different size wise. One is 29.7 inches, the other is 27.7 inches tall. I don't know how close they need to be exactly, but I want to say the tires need to be within 1/2" of each other in height. Maybe up to 3/4"?

The current tires I'm running are 27" tall, and I got a flat last week so I'm running the spare tire on the drivers rear, the spare tire is 26.5" tall... I am not having any problems with the stabilitrak or abs lights coming on etc. (.5" difference)

If I run the factory LS steel wheels/oem tires on the front which are 28.6" tall, and my current 27" tall on the rears (1.6" difference), I do get stabilitrack and abs lights.

Best go tire shopping if you want the lights to stay off and more importantly, be safe.
__________________

Specializing in attractive "no drill" front license plate brackets for the 2010+ Camaro Check out our new website! www.jacfab.com
2016 Camaro 1LT RS; NGM; 2.0T A8. 14.022 @ 96.36mph bone stock

Last edited by Jason@JacFab; 08-16-2013 at 11:48 PM.
Jason@JacFab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 11:04 AM   #10
JohnnyBfromPeoria

 
JohnnyBfromPeoria's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 LS M6, Black
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,047
Skibik, thanks for the heads up. I have Discount Tire do my rotations, since they rebalance them at the same time and all for free, so they use a scan tool and I get to read Road and Track while I wait.

RacnJsn, thanks for seconding what I thought I remembered from another thread about height differentials playing havoc with the systems.

John B.
__________________
12 LS M6, IPF S/C, ASA GT-5 wheels, VMax PTB
1995 Mitsubishi Montero SR
1987 Dodge Raider Turbo Project
1986 Mitsubishi Montero 2.4l FI Transplant
JohnnyBfromPeoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:19 AM   #11
gutterball

 
gutterball's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LS M6 Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Britain, Ct
Posts: 886
Send a message via AIM to gutterball
I agree with racnjsn, Tires are diff. dia. so front and rear are reading diff. speeds. Thats probably why the traction control light comes on. I assume the 45/40 is the front tire?? why did you pick 40's for the front?? I would have picked the same as the rear 45/45
gutterball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:14 PM   #12
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,408
that is wierd, I had no issues going from my 18' t0 stock ss 20's when I had my v6. The tmps picked up the tires and the speedo was fine. I even had vince at trifecta check it and he said it did not need to be changed,. In any case at least it worked out for you
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:37 PM   #13
JR 1

 
JR 1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS Convertible
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 1,244
I agree with what a few others have said. It's not the overall size of the tires that is the problem, it's that you have different diameter tires front to back. They are rotating at different speeds and the car is probably interpreting this as wheel slip. There may not be anything you can do other than get larger front tires to match the back.
JR 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:46 PM   #14
christianmotox


 
christianmotox's Avatar
 
Drives: ( . )( . )
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,829
youre 4 tires need to be of the same Diameter if you want to get rid of the lights.
__________________
christianmotox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.