Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2016, 03:53 PM   #1
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,707
Touchless entry/push to start

Anyone successfully add a system like this to their cars? Driving around a new z06 for the day and im really liking that I don't even have to touch my key fob for anything. I already have a bypass module for my remote start on my M6 so I can't imagine it's impossible

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 03:59 PM   #2
Ledzepx
 
Ledzepx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS Camaro 6sp.
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 543
Havent seen anything like that for the camaro's yet. But wouldnt be surprised. Imo I wouldnt do the remote start. Since the e brake isnt that all great I put mine 1st. Gear with the e brake on. You bybass it and have that in gear. Byby car. And the insurance company will put you at fault for bypassing it. But thats my take on that.
__________________
Living the dream!


www.rsconversions.com
Ledzepx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 05:41 PM   #3
ghosted

 
ghosted's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro LS (Summit White)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledzepx View Post
Havent seen anything like that for the camaro's yet. But wouldnt be surprised. Imo I wouldnt do the remote start. Since the e brake isnt that all great I put mine 1st. Gear with the e brake on. You bybass it and have that in gear. Byby car. And the insurance company will put you at fault for bypassing it. But thats my take on that.
It's simple, adjust your e-brake so that it operates like it should in the first place. I don't have to leave mine in gear to keep it from rolling away on me, and my driveway is sloped.

And they do make a few solutions for the 5th gen, it's just that for the most part you have to do a lot of work to get them to work. There is a recent one that includes everything you need, but is in the $600 range. I don't have a link right now.
__________________
ghosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 07:35 PM   #4
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledzepx View Post
Havent seen anything like that for the camaro's yet. But wouldnt be surprised. Imo I wouldnt do the remote start. Since the e brake isnt that all great I put mine 1st. Gear with the e brake on. You bybass it and have that in gear. Byby car. And the insurance company will put you at fault for bypassing it. But thats my take on that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosted View Post
It's simple, adjust your e-brake so that it operates like it should in the first place. I don't have to leave mine in gear to keep it from rolling away on me, and my driveway is sloped.

And they do make a few solutions for the 5th gen, it's just that for the most part you have to do a lot of work to get them to work. There is a recent one that includes everything you need, but is in the $600 range. I don't have a link right now.
I already adjusted my E-brake to act like it should. Also, remote start systems have advanced quite a bit. If installed properly (which mine is), they won't initiate unless you go through a specific sequence before turning the car off that ensures the car is not in gear
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 07:52 PM   #5
Ledzepx
 
Ledzepx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS Camaro 6sp.
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 543
Wow. Didnt know that. Cool
So if your in gear it wont start?
__________________
Living the dream!


www.rsconversions.com
Ledzepx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 11:31 PM   #6
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ledzepx View Post
Wow. Didnt know that. Cool
So if your in gear it wont start?
If i'm in gear I can't even initialize the remote start, let alone have the system start the car. If i'm in the car and push the clutch down, then yeah I can start the car any way I want
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 07:43 AM   #7
matthew9440

 
matthew9440's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: DuBois, PA
Posts: 1,008
I wouldn't mind upgrading to that. That would be cool.
__________________

matthew9440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:01 PM   #8
Dave@Sturgiscamarorally
 
Dave@Sturgiscamarorally's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM 1SS
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 136
I plan to do a remote start on mine (M6) in the future, probably when I finish the stereo upgrades
__________________
2010 Aqua Blue 1SShttp://www.sturgiscamarorally.com
KWC 3pc forged, Seibon hood, ZL front end, ARH Lts w/ GMPP, BTR4, Roto-fab, LSXR 102, NW 102, 3.91s
Dave@Sturgiscamarorally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:27 PM   #9
Homeless Man
Homeless Life Chose Me
 
Homeless Man's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Streets of Philly
Posts: 3,261
How much did remote start cost on M6?
__________________
Homeless Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 11:39 PM   #10
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homeless Man View Post
How much did remote start cost on M6?
System ran me about 200-250 for a 2 way viper kit and bypass. Tried installing myself, big mistake, brought it to a shop, $280 in labor later and it works. If you're extremely proficient in mobile electronics then chances are you can do this yourself, but I am only moderately proficient lol
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 11:30 PM   #11
tajefe
 
tajefe's Avatar
 
Drives: Way 2 Fast
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Kansas
Posts: 401
I was looking at the system in the below link.
http://www.advancedkeys.com/Prod_AK105B.html
__________________
"I wake up relatively happy every morning. Then I interact with people and things start to change very quickly"
Homer J.
tajefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 11:48 PM   #12
ghosted

 
ghosted's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro LS (Summit White)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by tajefe View Post
I was looking at the system in the below link.
http://www.advancedkeys.com/Prod_AK105B.html
EasyGO AM-CRO-8624 Smart Key Remote Start and Alarm System with Summit White Driver's Door Handle for Chevrolet Camaro https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BYV406E..._Gq.oxb8AZX53X
__________________
ghosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 01:28 AM   #13
spadz93

 
spadz93's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Norwood NJ
Posts: 1,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosted View Post
EasyGO AM-CRO-8624 Smart Key Remote Start and Alarm System with Summit White Driver's Door Handle for Chevrolet Camaro https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BYV406E..._Gq.oxb8AZX53X
Wow. Expensive, but it looks like it's ready to go entirely. Wonder if it's manual friendly. Also looks like it's plug and play for the most part from the images. Definitely bookmarked, thanks!
__________________
Some mods. 415rwhp/401rwtq
spadz93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 01:54 AM   #14
ghosted

 
ghosted's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro LS (Summit White)
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by spadz93 View Post
Wow. Expensive, but it looks like it's ready to go entirely. Wonder if it's manual friendly. Also looks like it's plug and play for the most part from the images. Definitely bookmarked, thanks!
No problem! I also drive a manual, and I'm sure it's as easy as simply bypassing the Park Safety Switch.....unless they offer a Neutral Safety Switch. I have yet to contact them about it because I've got a bunch of performance projects on the plate first, but let me know if you find anything out!
__________________
ghosted is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.