Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Tower Decals
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing Discussions on mechanical maintenance and servicing of your Camaro

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2009, 09:38 AM   #1
Bell040


 
Bell040's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS - Black - GFX
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 2,457
Dealership Oil Change

I took my 2SS M6 to the dealership yesterday for the first oil change.

I took it to them because they told me my first one would be free.


However, they put 10W30 synthetic oil in the engine... but it calls for 5W30.

The printout says nothing about Mobil1 and it states that 8.25 Quarts were added.... Does this sound strange to you?



Wouldn't GM know that the LS3 needs 8.6 quarts of Mobil1 5W30 ?

Should I hurry and get that stuff out of there and get the correct oil put in?
__________________
Ordered: 10-13-08
Built: 3-30-09 (#1691)
Recieved: 6-12-09

Blacked out, Cammed (Lunati Voodoo 233/245, .578/.598 @114°, +4°), ARH LTs, VR OTR CAI, Cutouts, and lots of other fun mods.
Bell040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:19 AM   #2
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,449
My understanding is the SS' were factory filled with Mobil 1 and should have "Mobile 1" on the cap. Another SS owner should confirm. Other oil threads indicate 5W30.

My LLT V6 had regular dino as the factory fill and I intend to switch to Mobil 1 at 3,000 miles (had first oil change at 900 miles).
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:28 AM   #3
SSOOCH
Camaro SL,UTs
 
SSOOCH's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS #16429
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 7,435
As long as Synthetic was used, you are fine. The weight won't hurt anything, especailly during the summer months.
__________________
SSOOCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:34 AM   #4
Sidewinder
 
Sidewinder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RJT/A6/Received 09/09/09
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Frederick County, VA
Posts: 592
I have had similar experiences and have found that the dealers computer system does not have 5W30 or synthetic loaded into the system. Suggest you check with the dealer to be sure. Also found that they were installing the correct oil.
Sidewinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:42 PM   #5
FRKNlo
 
FRKNlo's Avatar
 
Drives: VStar 1100 Classic, 2010 CGM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GMT -10hrs
Posts: 407
Oil ratings
FRKNlo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Capacity LS3 Banshee Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 77 04-21-2014 10:19 PM
How about a barrel of oil for around $16? Blownhotrodder General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 19 03-06-2009 07:25 PM
Oil Change anyone? The_Stache General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 9 01-30-2008 01:43 PM
Huge offshore oil discovery KILLER74Z28 Off-topic Discussions 36 11-14-2007 06:14 PM
Major U.S. oil source is tapped KILLER74Z28 Off-topic Discussions 32 10-30-2007 09:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.