Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V6


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2009, 10:17 PM   #35
MyNewSolstice
 
MyNewSolstice's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 Solstice
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 349
OH BTW BTF (BaldTurboFreak) KNOWS whatever there is to know about turbos!
MyNewSolstice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:02 PM   #36
MadMaxx
Master of the V6
 
MadMaxx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyNewSolstice View Post
6K IS definately a premium for henessy name on it! For reference...The Gt30 turbo kit for my 177HP solstice took it to 320 hp for 4000k that included CIA, BOV, Piping and heat shield along with a new ECM and the program
4000k? Most expensive turbo kit ever....

Heh, might want to fix your naming conventions
MadMaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:11 PM   #37
Fire
 
Drives: 1999 Firebird Formula
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMaxx View Post
4000k? Most expensive turbo kit ever....

Heh, might want to fix your naming conventions
Yeah, you coulda bought like 4 Veyrons for $4 million.
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 05:48 PM   #38
fredbo
 
Drives: black 2010 LS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: mississippi
Posts: 207
go ahead and make it cuz i know im interested.
fredbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 07:12 PM   #39
Deeboe
Bowtie, FOR LIFE!!!!
 
Deeboe's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS SW/IOM Interrior
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Where ever Uncle Sam Places me...
Posts: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolnslo View Post
$6k on top of a v6 (non-LS) will get you within $500-$1k of the price of an SS...To sell these, I think you'll have to make that gap a little bit bigger.
even though i own a SS, he makes sense
__________________
2SS/RS Summit White M6
Current: 2011 SW 2SS/RS M6 Fast!!!
70 Chevelle SS (sold) Still kicking myself!
2010 CGM SS/RS A6 (RIP)
one pissed SS right there!!!!
Deeboe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 09:54 PM   #40
SomeGeoffGuy
 
SomeGeoffGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS/RS M6 Convertible
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 247
Saying it has to put a V6 in the V8 price range is way off. A lot of people don't want to put a warranty-blowing mod like a turbo kit on a new car. But the used market is going to be going nuts for turbo kits and such. It has nothing to do with the price vs. a new Camaro.

$6000 is in the same price range as the turn-key supercharger kits too. Tuner versions usually run in the $4000 range. I think it is right on. If I can pick up a used Camaro in the mid to low teens in a couple years, I will be all over this kit. And Solstice guy, kits are much simpler when you only have one manifold. Not really apples to apples pricewise.

-Geoff
__________________
'12 2SS RS Convertible - No mods yet.
SomeGeoffGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 02:06 AM   #41
PieNsky

 
PieNsky's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 1LS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 1,897
100 hp increase at the wheels would be enough.
PieNsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 02:37 AM   #42
drivingincamaro


 
drivingincamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 civic
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 5,796
im new to FI but Wouldn't a small turbo spool faster and provide quicker Power then a Big turbo?




how long does it usually take a car with a 400hp turbo kit take to spool, how quick would you feel the turbo kicking in

sorry if i sound Dumb im not the smartest when it comes to cars and modding but im learning
__________________
drivingincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 10:08 AM   #43
Baldturbofreak
Turbo kit Jedi
 
Drives: 95 vette,07gxp,02wrx,slazer,
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Honeoye,NY
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Baldturbofreak
IT depends on the size of the parent motor. making a 400hp setup out of a 200hp motor will require a comparativly large turbo for the displacement.
Making 400hp on a 300hp motor the turbo sizeis "small" with respect to the engine it's on.
It's almost instantaneous with a well matched setup. Put together well, you'll see 80-90% of availible torque before 3K.
Baldturbofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 05:13 PM   #44
drivingincamaro


 
drivingincamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 civic
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 5,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldturbofreak View Post
IT depends on the size of the parent motor. making a 400hp setup out of a 200hp motor will require a comparativly large turbo for the displacement.
Making 400hp on a 300hp motor the turbo sizeis "small" with respect to the engine it's on.
It's almost instantaneous with a well matched setup. Put together well, you'll see 80-90% of availible torque before 3K.
i see...

Im wondering if there will be any loss of Mpg's,

isn't 93 octane premium gas?

why does A turbocharger require Premium??
__________________
drivingincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 10:16 PM   #45
Baldturbofreak
Turbo kit Jedi
 
Drives: 95 vette,07gxp,02wrx,slazer,
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Honeoye,NY
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Baldturbofreak
Most times there will be little if any loss in mpg. In some cases the mpg improves due the the abilty to short shift from your new mountain of low end torque.

A turbocharger requires premium because the cyl pressure raises with your new power increase (where your power comes from). Having more compressive pressure from a denser gas being compressed by your 11.3-1 pistons means that the fuel is more subjectable to preignition/detonation
Baldturbofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 01:08 AM   #46
Blacc Mamba
SoCal HT5
 
Blacc Mamba's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 946
will it work with auto and manual
Blacc Mamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:26 AM   #47
MontyCarlo

 
MontyCarlo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS auto IBM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,259
I don't even know where to find 93 octane gas around here. The gas stations only offer 87, 89, and 91.
__________________
FAQs:
1. No, I do not have any strong opinions about the Monte Carlo.
2. Yes, I know what my name looks like.
3. Yes, but the medication helps immensely.

2LT/RS IBM/gray #21,895 ordered April 21st, delivered July 3rd
MontyCarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:25 AM   #48
JTinFL
 
JTinFL's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 310
A turbo car can be tuned on any octane just fine. You will just make more power safely on the higher octane.

With a proper setup turbo, you can easily make tons of torque well under 3000 and still make big power. Its all about sizing.
JTinFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:09 PM   #49
drivingincamaro


 
drivingincamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 civic
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 5,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
I don't even know where to find 93 octane gas around here. The gas stations only offer 87, 89, and 91.
i thought 93 was Premium gas? or is that 91?
__________________
drivingincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 01:24 PM   #50
Ninjak
Banned
 
Drives: 08 GT Mustang | 65 GT Notchbac
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by drivingincamaro View Post
i thought 93 was Premium gas? or is that 91?
depends on your area I think. Here in S.FLA(Mia) its 87,89,93. I have seen very few stations with 91.
Ninjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 03:28 PM   #51
mikevrod
Twisted Brothers MC
 
mikevrod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2 LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Frankfort Il.
Posts: 71
I just received a e-mail from JT at Hennessey saying the tune for our V6 is a hurdle. I've been talking turbo on another thread for months now, see Turboing under the V6 drivetrain. I think it's a awesome combination considering the starting performance, weight savings and pure adreneline of a Turbo car. Build it and we will come. I'll offer mine as a mule.
G
mikevrod is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STS Remote Mount Turbo Kit for V6 ZNOLMT Forced Induction - V6 102 06-09-2010 01:18 PM
Group Buy - Turbo Kit ZZcamaro Forced Induction 32 11-30-2009 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.