Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V6


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2009, 09:08 AM   #43
Baldturbofreak
Turbo kit Jedi
 
Drives: 95 vette,07gxp,02wrx,slazer,
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Honeoye,NY
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Baldturbofreak
IT depends on the size of the parent motor. making a 400hp setup out of a 200hp motor will require a comparativly large turbo for the displacement.
Making 400hp on a 300hp motor the turbo sizeis "small" with respect to the engine it's on.
It's almost instantaneous with a well matched setup. Put together well, you'll see 80-90% of availible torque before 3K.
Baldturbofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 04:13 PM   #44
drivingincamaro


 
drivingincamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 civic
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 5,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldturbofreak View Post
IT depends on the size of the parent motor. making a 400hp setup out of a 200hp motor will require a comparativly large turbo for the displacement.
Making 400hp on a 300hp motor the turbo sizeis "small" with respect to the engine it's on.
It's almost instantaneous with a well matched setup. Put together well, you'll see 80-90% of availible torque before 3K.
i see...

Im wondering if there will be any loss of Mpg's,

isn't 93 octane premium gas?

why does A turbocharger require Premium??
__________________
drivingincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 09:16 PM   #45
Baldturbofreak
Turbo kit Jedi
 
Drives: 95 vette,07gxp,02wrx,slazer,
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Honeoye,NY
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Baldturbofreak
Most times there will be little if any loss in mpg. In some cases the mpg improves due the the abilty to short shift from your new mountain of low end torque.

A turbocharger requires premium because the cyl pressure raises with your new power increase (where your power comes from). Having more compressive pressure from a denser gas being compressed by your 11.3-1 pistons means that the fuel is more subjectable to preignition/detonation
Baldturbofreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 12:08 AM   #46
Blacc Mamba
SoCal HT5
 
Blacc Mamba's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 946
will it work with auto and manual
Blacc Mamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:26 AM   #47
MontyCarlo

 
MontyCarlo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS auto IBM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,259
I don't even know where to find 93 octane gas around here. The gas stations only offer 87, 89, and 91.
__________________
FAQs:
1. No, I do not have any strong opinions about the Monte Carlo.
2. Yes, I know what my name looks like.
3. Yes, but the medication helps immensely.

2LT/RS IBM/gray #21,895 ordered April 21st, delivered July 3rd
MontyCarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:25 AM   #48
JTinFL
 
JTinFL's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 310
A turbo car can be tuned on any octane just fine. You will just make more power safely on the higher octane.

With a proper setup turbo, you can easily make tons of torque well under 3000 and still make big power. Its all about sizing.
JTinFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 01:09 PM   #49
drivingincamaro


 
drivingincamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 95 civic
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Illinois
Posts: 5,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
I don't even know where to find 93 octane gas around here. The gas stations only offer 87, 89, and 91.
i thought 93 was Premium gas? or is that 91?
__________________
drivingincamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 12:24 PM   #50
Ninjak
Banned
 
Drives: 08 GT Mustang | 65 GT Notchbac
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by drivingincamaro View Post
i thought 93 was Premium gas? or is that 91?
depends on your area I think. Here in S.FLA(Mia) its 87,89,93. I have seen very few stations with 91.
Ninjak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 02:28 PM   #51
mikevrod
Twisted Brothers MC
 
mikevrod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2 LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Frankfort Il.
Posts: 71
I just received a e-mail from JT at Hennessey saying the tune for our V6 is a hurdle. I've been talking turbo on another thread for months now, see Turboing under the V6 drivetrain. I think it's a awesome combination considering the starting performance, weight savings and pure adreneline of a Turbo car. Build it and we will come. I'll offer mine as a mule.
G
mikevrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 02:36 PM   #52
Thwick
 
Drives: 2007 Cobalt SS/SC
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
I think a lot of people who bought the V6 would go for this. I'd rather have 400whp in a turbo 6 than an NA V8. The power is on demand when you want it, but for puttering around town you still keep your high city MPG.
Thwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:44 PM   #53
Germann
 
Germann's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 V6 Black Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 38
YES, am very interested, mastercard in hand, lets do it.
Germann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:51 AM   #54
RyanDenos89
RyanDenos89
 
Drives: 2010 Red LT1 RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: rancho santa margarita ca
Posts: 160
just do it
RyanDenos89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 11:40 AM   #55
mwoodengr
Clueless Member
 
mwoodengr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 PT Cruiser Convertible
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 136
Does the price qouted $6k include install? If not, thats not likely to sell much. If it does included install, I would like to know how much or the DIY kit.

$6k for a bolt on is just too high. If someone really had the money for the kit plus install, they would have paid the extra $8k for the SS.

Thats just my opinion. I think that a $3-4k kit (DIY) would be well recieved on the V6.
__________________
Driving my Rally Yellow 2LT

Original order - Cancelled
1100 = 11/15/2009
New Order
1100 = Preliminary Order: 1/26/2009
2000 = Accepted By GM: 5/27/2009
3000 = Accepted By Production Control: 6/16/2009
3800 = Produced: ?
4150 = Invoiced: ?
4200 = Shipped: 7/3/2009
5000 = Delivered To Dealer: 7/14/2009
6000 = 7/18/2009
mwoodengr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:43 PM   #56
usmcbmw
 
usmcbmw's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT Camaro RS, Land Rover LR2
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 95
too much $$$ something less would deff fly
usmcbmw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STS Remote Mount Turbo Kit for V6 ZNOLMT Forced Induction - V6 102 06-09-2010 12:18 PM
Group Buy - Turbo Kit ZZcamaro Forced Induction 32 11-30-2009 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.