Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2013, 01:51 PM   #1
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 303
Just blew up my 2nd set of turbonetics turbos

First set had bearing material go through them and now after paying 1400 dollars to have them redone one is seized up and the other wobbles around inside the housing like something is broke. Less than 200 miles of driving and only got in the throttle hard a couple of times. I measured the flow of oil to the turbos and was told everything was correct after it was running. Any ideas wtf could be causing this? This is with a complete different motor than it happened with last time.
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:12 PM   #2
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,189
ball bearing?
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:42 PM   #3
AGP Turbo


 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 765
Did you get any failure analysis done on the failed units? We can tell a lot by looking at a failed turbo.

#1-Boost leaks.
Low ZDDP oil.
BOV problem.
Contaminated oil. Where do the oil feed lines get oil from the motor in your kit?
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:55 PM   #4
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 303
It just happened last night so i dont know the details yet. I am getting the oil feed from behind the alternator bracket where the big allen plug was. I have checked everywhere for boost leaks and cant find anything. I would assume with a seized turbo theres an oil problem of some sort
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:56 PM   #5
AGP Turbo


 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
It just happened last night so i dont know the details yet. I am getting the oil feed from behind the alternator bracket where the big allen plug was. I have checked everywhere for boost leaks and cant find anything. I would assume with a seized turbo theres an oil problem of some sort

That is a non filtered source right off the pump, before the oil goes to the back of the block where the filter is. All the contaminants that would usually get caught in your filter, are being pumped right into the turbos.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:58 PM   #6
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
That is a non filtered source right off the pump, before the oil goes to the back of the block where the filter is. All the contaminants that would usually get caught in your filter, are being pumped right into the turbos.
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:00 PM   #7
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by K32 Camaro View Post
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?
a new builder?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:06 PM   #8
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 5,546
Blowers seem to be less sensitive than turbos to contaminates. They dump a bunch of oil over a set of large ball bearings. Turbos have small oil orifices and need clean oil for long life.

You can put a filter on the feed line, or take it from a filtered source.
__________________
Nick
Corvette Z06 -1200ish rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:08 PM   #9
Mike@RMCR
 
Mike@RMCR's Avatar
 
Drives: Supercharged
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by K32 Camaro View Post
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?

The YSi has a filter built into the adapter on the supercharger.
Mike@RMCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 05:17 PM   #10
AGP Turbo


 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 765
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 09:45 AM   #11
FrankT
400HP used to be enough..
 
FrankT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS rs manual
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
That is where my oil supply is hooked up. I had to remove the intake to do it, but it was worth it to get a clean oil supply.
__________________
Currently in the fleet... 2010 ZR1 Corvette, 2014 Cadillac CTS-V, 2010 Camaro SS single turbo, 2006 Chevrolet 2500HD Duramax, 1967 Camaro SS350, 1969 Camaro SS427.

Build thread: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47925
FrankT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 11:15 AM   #12
AGP Turbo


 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankT View Post
That is where my oil supply is hooked up. I had to remove the intake to do it, but it was worth it to get a clean oil supply.
Wise man. It's a very very minor investment of time.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 11:54 AM   #13
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 14,569
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Op, may I ask what size turbos you have and what cubic inches is the motor... Where are the turbos mounted...

I destroyed several. The first one was due to an improper oil orifice... When that turbo went, the other side went within minutes... Second set, ball bearing, lasted about a year and started rattling... Sent them in, upgraded, then grenaded two of those trying to make boost...as told to me by the manufacturer, we over accelerated/overspun them... We were way outside(to the right) of the boost map... 67 mm turbo in a 429 ci engine... Making 25 lbs of boost... High IATs etc... We knew we were hanging it out but went there anyway...now I have twin 76's...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 11:55 AM   #14
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 14,569
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
This... Clean oil is an absolute must... I also change my Amsoil every 2000-2500 miles...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.