Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Nickey Chicago
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2013, 12:51 PM   #1
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 258
Just blew up my 2nd set of turbonetics turbos

First set had bearing material go through them and now after paying 1400 dollars to have them redone one is seized up and the other wobbles around inside the housing like something is broke. Less than 200 miles of driving and only got in the throttle hard a couple of times. I measured the flow of oil to the turbos and was told everything was correct after it was running. Any ideas wtf could be causing this? This is with a complete different motor than it happened with last time.
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 01:12 PM   #2
JLE58

 
Drives: CGM,twin turbo, cam 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: ROCKMART, GA
Posts: 2,190
ball bearing?
JLE58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 01:42 PM   #3
AGP Turbo

 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 161
Did you get any failure analysis done on the failed units? We can tell a lot by looking at a failed turbo.

#1-Boost leaks.
Low ZDDP oil.
BOV problem.
Contaminated oil. Where do the oil feed lines get oil from the motor in your kit?
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 01:55 PM   #4
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 258
It just happened last night so i dont know the details yet. I am getting the oil feed from behind the alternator bracket where the big allen plug was. I have checked everywhere for boost leaks and cant find anything. I would assume with a seized turbo theres an oil problem of some sort
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
AGP Turbo

 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
It just happened last night so i dont know the details yet. I am getting the oil feed from behind the alternator bracket where the big allen plug was. I have checked everywhere for boost leaks and cant find anything. I would assume with a seized turbo theres an oil problem of some sort

That is a non filtered source right off the pump, before the oil goes to the back of the block where the filter is. All the contaminants that would usually get caught in your filter, are being pumped right into the turbos.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #6
K32 Camaro
V8 lounge member #5
 
Drives: 12 2SS Synergy Camaro, 05 PontiacG6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
That is a non filtered source right off the pump, before the oil goes to the back of the block where the filter is. All the contaminants that would usually get caught in your filter, are being pumped right into the turbos.
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?
K32 Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:00 PM   #7
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by K32 Camaro View Post
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?
a new builder?
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:06 PM   #8
Unreal

 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,229
Blowers seem to be less sensitive than turbos to contaminates. They dump a bunch of oil over a set of large ball bearings. Turbos have small oil orifices and need clean oil for long life.

You can put a filter on the feed line, or take it from a filtered source.
__________________
Nick
2006 Corvette Z06 -1047rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:08 PM   #9
Mike@RMCR
 
Mike@RMCR's Avatar
 
Drives: Supercharged
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by K32 Camaro View Post
O.O ...that's where my YSI feed is too. What do you recommend?

The YSi has a filter built into the adapter on the supercharger.
Mike@RMCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2013, 04:17 PM   #10
AGP Turbo

 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 161
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #11
FrankT
400HP used to be enough..
 
FrankT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS rs manual
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central NC
Posts: 678
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
That is where my oil supply is hooked up. I had to remove the intake to do it, but it was worth it to get a clean oil supply.
__________________
Currently in the fleet... 2010 ZR1 Corvette, 2014 Cadillac CTS-V, 2010 Camaro SS single turbo, 2014 GMC Sierra SLT crew cab, 1967 Camaro SS350, 1969 Camaro SS427.

Build thread: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47925
FrankT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:15 AM   #12
AGP Turbo

 
Drives: All things Turbocharged
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankT View Post
That is where my oil supply is hooked up. I had to remove the intake to do it, but it was worth it to get a clean oil supply.
Wise man. It's a very very minor investment of time.
AGP Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:54 AM   #13
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: LS-3 429 TT with other odds-n-ends
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,414
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Op, may I ask what size turbos you have and what cubic inches is the motor... Where are the turbos mounted...

I destroyed several. The first one was due to an improper oil orifice... When that turbo went, the other side went within minutes... Second set, ball bearing, lasted about a year and started rattling... Sent them in, upgraded, then grenaded two of those trying to make boost...as told to me by the manufacturer, we over accelerated/overspun them... We were way outside(to the right) of the boost map... 67 mm turbo in a 429 ci engine... Making 25 lbs of boost... High IATs etc... We knew we were hanging it out but went there anyway...now I have twin 76's...
__________________
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 10:55 AM   #14
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: LS-3 429 TT with other odds-n-ends
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,414
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
This... Clean oil is an absolute must... I also change my Amsoil every 2000-2500 miles...
__________________
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 12:20 PM   #15
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 258
Turbonetics 64mm billet wheel turbos. Stock cubes 10 to 1 compression. Having made over 17psi yet and this happened. I hadnt seen over 13 psi when there was a rattling nosie under the car and im sure thats what it was rattling
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 07:51 PM   #16
ayousef

 
ayousef's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dubai
Posts: 759
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
Turbonetics 64mm billet wheel turbos. Stock cubes 10 to 1 compression. Having made over 17psi yet and this happened. I hadnt seen over 13 psi when there was a rattling nosie under the car and im sure thats what it was rattling
check your spark advance at idle/cruise and of course WOT, running too much boost with limited octane hence running too little spark advance will increase Exhaust gas temps to the point where you could fry your turbos, try not go to below 14-15 degrees of timing at WOT and as much as possible at cruise and about 18ish at idle.

You should also get a fresh source of oil as discussed.

How is your PCV? if you're just dumping the crankcase fumes to the atmosphere without having vacuum and proper circulation in the crankcase to supply fresh air then you are probably contaminating the oil with a lot of crap.

Finally, what oil do you use, what viscosity and whats your oil pressure at WOT. If you're using an oil feed restrictor what size is it.

Food for thought.
__________________

1150bhp Whipple 4.0 Supercharged 427ci Camaro ZL1
ayousef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 10:08 PM   #17
MaxKamai
Mad Ninja Skills
 
MaxKamai's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 172
Sounds like there may be a few issues with your setup. I have had some bad experiences with Turbonetics. I know they're not cheap, but one set of Precision Turbos is cheaper than two or three sets of Turbonetics. Do you have anything to measure EGTs or exhaust pressure?
__________________
2011 Camaro SS/RS M6 - 633whp/679tq
Custom stainless 2" primary headers / Custom stainless 3" header back exhaust / Hurst short shifter / ZEX nitrous kit / Vararam intake / Spohn chrome moly trailing arms / Sin City Performance Tune / SCP custom ground cam / SCP ported & polished heads / GMPP high volume oil pump / Manton 3/8" pushrods / PEP dual springs and ti retainers / Cloyes billet timing set / ARP head studs, cam bolts, and balancer bolt
MaxKamai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:26 AM   #18
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 258
I will be changing the oiling source to the back of the block and installing an inline filter. Precision has the many problems with their turbos. I have a buddy that had a set on his new 5.0 and they blew up in a couple hundred miles. I also race with countless people that have blown up precision turbos and precision just tells them sorry and wont do anything for them. Turbonetics stated they believe there was an oiling issue with my turbos but they are going to give me new ones for free to assure i am happy with their product. Cant be much happier than that
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:33 AM   #19
stangkilr
 
stangkilr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS | 2013 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 620
I change my oil every 400-500 miles. I wouldnt think it would be a turbo issue itself. Turbonetics makes a great turbo.
__________________
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=37570&dateline=138293  2783
2010 Camaro SS CGM |LY6 6.0L | E85 | x275 88mm turbo/ TH400/ Gforce 9 inch

Youtube "stangkilr99"
stangkilr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 03:17 PM   #20
CyberPredator
50 Shades of Prey
 
Drives: TT/SS
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Between 10 and 20 PSI
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
I will be changing the oiling source to the back of the block and installing an inline filter. Precision has the many problems with their turbos. I have a buddy that had a set on his new 5.0 and they blew up in a couple hundred miles. I also race with countless people that have blown up precision turbos and precision just tells them sorry and wont do anything for them. Turbonetics stated they believe there was an oiling issue with my turbos but they are going to give me new ones for free to assure i am happy with their product. Cant be much happier than that
That's awesome
__________________
Futral Motorsports built and tuned
CyberPredator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:04 PM   #21
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: LS-3 429 TT with other odds-n-ends
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 13,414
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
I will be changing the oiling source to the back of the block and installing an inline filter. Precision has the many problems with their turbos. I have a buddy that had a set on his new 5.0 and they blew up in a couple hundred miles. I also race with countless people that have blown up precision turbos and precision just tells them sorry and wont do anything for them. Turbonetics stated they believe there was an oiling issue with my turbos but they are going to give me new ones for free to assure i am happy with their product. Cant be much happier than that
Sorry to hear your troubles... I've blown up a couple of precision turbos and they have taken good care of me on them... The only person I've been screwed by in my whole ordeal, was the original vendor... And I wouldn't buy a car part from him again if he was the only person making them...
__________________
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 11:12 PM   #22
MaxKamai
Mad Ninja Skills
 
MaxKamai's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
I will be changing the oiling source to the back of the block and installing an inline filter. Precision has the many problems with their turbos. I have a buddy that had a set on his new 5.0 and they blew up in a couple hundred miles. I also race with countless people that have blown up precision turbos and precision just tells them sorry and wont do anything for them. Turbonetics stated they believe there was an oiling issue with my turbos but they are going to give me new ones for free to assure i am happy with their product. Cant be much happier than that
Just stating my experience. Stick with what works best for you. It's great that they're taking care of you.
__________________
2011 Camaro SS/RS M6 - 633whp/679tq
Custom stainless 2" primary headers / Custom stainless 3" header back exhaust / Hurst short shifter / ZEX nitrous kit / Vararam intake / Spohn chrome moly trailing arms / Sin City Performance Tune / SCP custom ground cam / SCP ported & polished heads / GMPP high volume oil pump / Manton 3/8" pushrods / PEP dual springs and ti retainers / Cloyes billet timing set / ARP head studs, cam bolts, and balancer bolt
MaxKamai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 10:29 AM   #23
stevieturbo
 
Drives: Slow
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 292
The question has to be asked....what does actually cause them to fail ? Either these or any brand ?

You say the Turbonetics were BB units, so really they dont need huge amounts of oil. Did they say it was a lack of oil, too much oil, what exactly failed ?

Likewise when people have Precision failures, what is breaking ?
__________________
stevieturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:40 PM   #24
Camaro Dude
and Sledge
 
Camaro Dude's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LE, 2SS, NPP
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Qc, Canada
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGP Turbo View Post
We use the filtered source where your oil pressure sensor goes on the back of your valley cover. And filter the oil again after the turbos but before the oil goes back into your motor. Clean oil is a good thing.
I concur with the above statement.

OP needs to do re-engineer his original setup.
Camaro Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 08:43 PM   #25
Camaro Dude
and Sledge
 
Camaro Dude's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 1LE, 2SS, NPP
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Qc, Canada
Posts: 1,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayousef View Post
.......Finally, what oil do you use, what viscosity and whats your oil pressure at WOT. If you're using an oil feed restrictor what size is it......
Out of curiosity, +1 as well.
Camaro Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.