Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2009, 05:44 PM   #15
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Doh! Can't change the title once it's Stickied eh?
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:00 PM   #16
MTron
 
Drives: 99 Grand Prix
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 334
Am i reading this right....according to the wiring guide the head unit provides low-level outputs for all the channels.....OMFG>>>I LOVE YOU GM

This is a major plus to anyone wanting to do their own sound system...no line level converters needed....it also implies that the headunit is the same regardless if you get the BA system or not....so we dont have to worry about the head unit being of less quality....

I have been waiting for this information for a long time.....

JL audio here i come


(after i get me car....)
MTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:12 PM   #17
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Not quite...

You'll see there's two options for each of those pins, dependent on which stereo option you have. The BA system is the only one wired for "low level".

That being said...

The radio itself should be no different (info from multiple credible sources) regardless of the BA option. The wiring harness is different between them though. So weather or not the radio itself actually pushes out a low level signal somehow to the factory BA amp is a bit confusing.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 04:25 PM   #18
Scourage
Syntax Error
 
Scourage's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE Nebraska
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt'sSS View Post
What I really need is to find a company that either makes custom wire harnesses for specific head unit applications, or find out exactly what the plugs that go into the factory head unit are, buy a male & female of them with the cable ends & a couple ISO plugs & wire it myself. I've had no luck finding the plugs using the part numbers off these sheets so far though, and there's no female part listed, so I may be SOL. :(
I did a search for one of the connectors (Amp X2) 8240-0128, looks like it is manufactured by SUMITOMO.
Found MVP Micro and many others when I googled "SUMITOMO 8240-0128".

I'll look into this some more later and may stop by the distributor we have here in town to see if they can get them.

The main one I'm looking for is the Audio Amp X3 (Female) , the low level input into the Amp.

Last edited by Scourage; 07-25-2009 at 07:18 PM. Reason: added info
Scourage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 09:44 AM   #19
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Radio X1 is the one I need to find, haven't had much luck on it. Will need a male & female as well.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 06:48 PM   #20
lucky_kid
 
Drives: 2006 chevy silverado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NE Arkansas
Posts: 27
so can someone help me i believe i have it right but the rca's left and right should run to 41 and 42 in the back of the radio correct?
lucky_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:00 PM   #21
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
There are no RCA's in the back of the radio.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 11:02 PM   #22
lucky_kid
 
Drives: 2006 chevy silverado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NE Arkansas
Posts: 27
right i know that but i read somewhere where there is a adapter that you can splice into something i just dont know what to run them too
lucky_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 07:44 AM   #23
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Where are you going to put your amp? If you're looking for a sub amp going in the trunk I would pull the converters off the wires going to the factory amp that is already in the trunk. In which case you'd want to use pins 4,12 and 5,13 off amplifier connector X3.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:21 PM   #24
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by sales@spencershids.com View Post
I could have hooked you up... Just gotta ask.
Alright, I'm askin!

Last edited by Matt'sSS; 08-15-2009 at 09:24 PM. Reason: Nevermind I got them from my local contact.
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 02:39 PM   #25
sales@spencershids.com
 
Drives: 2008 silverado, 2006 Impala
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 113

This thing is gigantic in paint. somewhere between paint and photobucket it ended up tiny
sales@spencershids.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 03:14 PM   #26
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
Doh, unfortunately it's not readable zoomed in, any chance of printing it to a pdf or anything?

Here's a link to the free print to PDF program we use, if you could please give it a try it would probably come out full size & I would greatly appreciate it!

http://www.pdf995.com/
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:26 PM   #27
Matt'sSS
From 2 door to 5 door
 
Matt'sSS's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Vert->CGM SS RS M6->SRT8 Magnum
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 600
UPDATED: Data Communications Schematics added & all image sizes increased.

Enjoy!
Matt'sSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 03:01 AM   #28
swihl
 
Drives: 2004 GTO
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 8
good info.

Kinda weird though (unless I'm reading it wrong) the apm looks like it has subwoofer hook ups but no sub with the stock stereo system. they can't expect that little amp to power the speakers and the mtx sub option.... can they?
swihl is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin nuvi > mounting & wiring for the Camaro 67 GTO Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 25 11-05-2011 12:52 PM
Anyone have picts/info on the factory infotainment system wiring harness & plugs? Matt'sSS Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 3 10-01-2009 12:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.