Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2013, 04:32 PM   #1
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
Viper system with OEM key fob

ok, so i just had Best Buy install my new Viper security & Remote start system. problem now is the OEM Stock Key fob is pretty much pointless. i have to Arm the system with the Viper fob and while i can still unlock with the OEM fob if i then open it the alarm goes off b/c the viper system is still armed....
now the part i hate is the fact i have to carry around 2 key fobs since our keys are cut inside of them. does anyone have any suggestions as to what i can do to clean up my key chain?
i'm wondering if i break open the OEM key fob and take the key out if my car will still start that way. i'm not 100% sure if the chip to start the car is in the key itself or in the fob

PLEASE HELP
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:35 PM   #2
kennyo
 
kennyo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Port jeff sta.,long island,ny
Posts: 474
..also my dilemma
__________________
Mods-Painted Crystal Red Tintcoat Rally Stripes,Rotofab CAI,Dynatech ZL1 long tube headers and high flow cats with Borla S-Type catback exhaust,JRE tune,SS badges on trunk and grille,SM Tach chrome rims,Kenwood DNX890hd head unit,Hybrid audio clarus component set and Mirus 6x9 speakers,JL XD 700/5 amp.
kennyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 06:40 PM   #3
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,687
I guess I am the 3rd with the same thing.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:31 PM   #4
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
well... i contacted the Dealership where i bought the car and my idea of separating the Chevy key fob to get the key out won't work. the Chip is inside the fob itself, and obviously without the chip the car won't start.
there has to be a way around this somehow someway....ANYONE??????
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:53 PM   #5
Tyler360
 
Tyler360's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Posts: 702
Its too bad the viper alarm system can't be wired to automatically arm and disarm itself whenever you lock your doors with the original key fob
__________________
Tyler360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:07 PM   #6
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler360 View Post
Its too bad the viper alarm system can't be wired to automatically arm and disarm itself whenever you lock your doors with the original key fob
With me the Camaro fob key does not have enough range to start my car form 30 ft away inside my house.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 11:09 PM   #7
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyn View Post
well... i contacted the Dealership where i bought the car and my idea of separating the Chevy key fob to get the key out won't work. the Chip is inside the fob itself, and obviously without the chip the car won't start.
there has to be a way around this somehow someway....ANYONE??????
Their may be a way but I do not recommend it as the insurance company may cover it if the car is stolen.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:24 AM   #8
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
It depends on what module they used and how they hooked it up. Im sure they charged you for a bypass module (this integrates the alarm to the vehicle). I have a viper in my durango and i only use the key factory keyfob to control it. I use vipers smart start app on my phone for long range.

In order for this to work the module has to be hooked up D2D ( data to data mode meaning you use the supplied cable and it communicates with the alarm). some installers will hook it up W2W (wire to wire mode or where you wire the outputs from the viper to the inputs to the module). in W2W mode you do not have the ability to control the viper from the factory fob.
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:40 AM   #9
kennyo
 
kennyo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Port jeff sta.,long island,ny
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by baum View Post
It depends on what module they used and how they hooked it up. Im sure they charged you for a bypass module (this integrates the alarm to the vehicle). I have a viper in my durango and i only use the key factory keyfob to control it. I use vipers smart start app on my phone for long range.

In order for this to work the module has to be hooked up D2D ( data to data mode meaning you use the supplied cable and it communicates with the alarm). some installers will hook it up W2W (wire to wire mode or where you wire the outputs from the viper to the inputs to the module). in W2W mode you do not have the ability to control the viper from the factory fob.
Be nice if that option was made known by the installer.Hell-I'd even pay the extra at the time.
__________________
Mods-Painted Crystal Red Tintcoat Rally Stripes,Rotofab CAI,Dynatech ZL1 long tube headers and high flow cats with Borla S-Type catback exhaust,JRE tune,SS badges on trunk and grille,SM Tach chrome rims,Kenwood DNX890hd head unit,Hybrid audio clarus component set and Mirus 6x9 speakers,JL XD 700/5 amp.
kennyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 10:27 AM   #10
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennyo View Post
Be nice if that option was made known by the installer.Hell-I'd even pay the extra at the time.

Its actually easier.. you just use 1 cable that plugs into the alarm and the other end plugs into the module. vs connecting about a dozen wires to one another.

For some reason some installers dont do this because they have seen more problems with it being hooked up like this.
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 10:31 AM   #11
kevin1106


 
kevin1106's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 3LT-Z51 Vert
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: La plata MD
Posts: 2,312
Download the viper app and use your phone...
__________________
kevin1106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:29 PM   #12
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin1106 View Post
Download the viper app and use your phone...

First you have to have the smart start piece installed in your car.
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 01:52 PM   #13
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin1106 View Post
Download the viper app and use your phone...
yea, i need the smart start. and if i recall correctly that didn't come with security. it only came as a remote start. which is why i bought the 5704 Model
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:03 AM   #14
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyn View Post
yea, i need the smart start. and if i recall correctly that didn't come with security. it only came as a remote start. which is why i bought the 5704 Model

The smart start is a add on module that will control any viper system just like the remote. it can control any aux channels, trunk release, arm/disarm.
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:24 AM   #15
kennyo
 
kennyo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Port jeff sta.,long island,ny
Posts: 474
It works great and most importantly quickly(my old onstar app and my girlfriends Hyundai blue link app are slow as .....).Problem is:you wouldn't want to not have viper fob on you and that day there is a communication problem between app and car.Could also be the day you didn't charge your smartphone properly and your outta luck!
__________________
Mods-Painted Crystal Red Tintcoat Rally Stripes,Rotofab CAI,Dynatech ZL1 long tube headers and high flow cats with Borla S-Type catback exhaust,JRE tune,SS badges on trunk and grille,SM Tach chrome rims,Kenwood DNX890hd head unit,Hybrid audio clarus component set and Mirus 6x9 speakers,JL XD 700/5 amp.
kennyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 01:15 PM   #16
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
yes... i could get the Smart Start. but like you said, it's an Add on, and also you have to pay monthly for the service. guess i will have to deal for awhile here until Viper or Chevy figure out away around this. with new cars going to way they are with Chips in the key fobs, someone has to come out with a way around this so we aren't carrying a useless OEM key fob as well.... stupid if you ask me
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:22 AM   #17
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyn View Post
yes... i could get the Smart Start. but like you said, it's an Add on, and also you have to pay monthly for the service. guess i will have to deal for awhile here until Viper or Chevy figure out away around this. with new cars going to way they are with Chips in the key fobs, someone has to come out with a way around this so we aren't carrying a useless OEM key fob as well.... stupid if you ask me
If you dont want the service fee you can get the msart start bluetooth piece. it uses the smae app, but it uses buletooth and not cell service. However you are limited to the range of about 100-300' from the car.

I only pay about 120 fro 3 years of service i think
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:01 PM   #18
Houston 45th
 
Houston 45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th 2LT/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston (Katy), TX
Posts: 86
Has anyone found a way to not have to carry the OEM key fob?
__________________
2012 45th 2LT RS, LG ZR28 (20x10 20x11) 275/40/r20 315/35/r20, MRT V2.0, Black bowties, MGP Caliper Covers, 15% Tint all around
Houston 45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:04 PM   #19
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
i have not yet... only way i have come up with is forking over another $200 for smart start, plus roughly $100 annual to Viper, then you don't have to carry the Viper fob at least. someone either Viper or Chevy needs to come up with a fix for this
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:18 PM   #20
Houston 45th
 
Houston 45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th 2LT/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston (Katy), TX
Posts: 86
Is it possible to have a replica key made like this Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21368505072.256511.jpg
Views: 1325
Size:  43.3 KB (Obviously without the logo) and just have that and the viper fob?
__________________
2012 45th 2LT RS, LG ZR28 (20x10 20x11) 275/40/r20 315/35/r20, MRT V2.0, Black bowties, MGP Caliper Covers, 15% Tint all around
Houston 45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 08:36 AM   #21
moyn
M0yn
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro Inferno Orange Metallic
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston 45th View Post
Is it possible to have a replica key made like this Attachment 509962 (Obviously without the logo) and just have that and the viper fob?

From what I have been asking & hearing... NO. The reason is the Chip that is used to start the car for security reason is actually in the oem Fob. Most companies put that in the key, but for our camaro's it is in the fob itself
moyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:49 AM   #22
Houston 45th
 
Houston 45th's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th 2LT/RS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Houston (Katy), TX
Posts: 86
If the battery in the oem fob goes dead is there no way to start the car?
__________________
2012 45th 2LT RS, LG ZR28 (20x10 20x11) 275/40/r20 315/35/r20, MRT V2.0, Black bowties, MGP Caliper Covers, 15% Tint all around
Houston 45th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 12:12 AM   #23
Albert
 
Drives: non
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 7
Mostly the people are facing the same thing that there alarm go off or light blinking after the door lock and many other problem that are due to lock sensor problem or the error in the installation.So try to fix installation or lock sensor.
__________________
Albert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #24
baum
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 2013 Ram 1500
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis, mn
Posts: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston 45th View Post
If the battery in the oem fob goes dead is there no way to start the car?
yes it will still start. the chip does not require the battery to be active
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:31 AM   #25
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 331
Ok so the problem is that to disarm the oem alarm your installer need to hook factory disarm wire coming out of the aftermarket unit. The disarm on there car is throw oem key fob only . So there for your installer has no way to tell the oem to disarm and DEI bypass just suck they Always fail so there for installer hate using them. I have had a lot of luck using the idatelink they can wire Into your Dei units http://www.idatalink.com/search/sear...ehicle_id=8579
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.