Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2014, 01:41 PM   #1
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro1LT
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 167
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
Diagnostic OBDII suggestions?

Anyone have any suggestions for an inexpensive, but good Diagnostic OBDII reader? One that'll allow reading of codes, reset the CEL and all that good stuff?

skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 01:44 PM   #2
Juiced1
JUICED MOTORSPORTS

 
Juiced1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS CAMARO 45th
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 11,332
You can pick up a OBD2 scanner at just about any auto parts store for pretty cheap ($25-50). They will let you read codes and reset CELs. You can find them on Ebay and Amazon as well.
__________________
Get more Power per Dollar!!!! We carry all the hot new products for your 5th gen! CAI, Roto-Fab, Solo, Corsa, MBRP, ARH, Stainless Works, MRT, SLP, Procharger, Whipple, BMR, Diablosport, Superchips, Street Scene, VFN Fiberglass and much more. Contact us for your Camaro5 discount today!
Call us at 224-63-JUICE - 224-400-5793
Juiced1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 02:01 PM   #3
Spartan01


 
Spartan01's Avatar
 
Drives: Evil Eva, 2010 2SS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Falls Church, Virginia
Posts: 2,827
A more expensive and practical option is an Airforce gauge
__________________
"You simply cannot trust quotes found on the internet." -Abraham Lincoln
Spartan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 02:19 PM   #4
'11CamaroLS
 
'11CamaroLS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro LS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 452
Aeroforce are awesome. I bought a ultra gauge, there similar to aerforce but not as many features, and its a small rectangle screen. There really cheap but actually work well. They show gauges and also read and clear engine codes. I have mine plugged in all the time and mounted below my radio and I've had no issues. I've used it to scan my car a few times and friends cars many times. Even if you only use it for reading and clearing codes its a lot cheaper then anything else
http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/
'11CamaroLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:10 PM   #5
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by '11CamaroLS View Post
Aeroforce are awesome. I bought a ultra gauge, there similar to aerforce but not as many features, and its a small rectangle screen. There really cheap but actually work well. They show gauges and also read and clear engine codes. I have mine plugged in all the time and mounted below my radio and I've had no issues. I've used it to scan my car a few times and friends cars many times. Even if you only use it for reading and clearing codes its a lot cheaper then anything else
http://www.ultra-gauge.com/ultragauge/
I agree, ultra gauge for me too.
Attached Images
 
__________________
rtcat600man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:42 PM   #6
Nutbutt


 
Nutbutt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 3,235
I like the ultra also. If you want something cheap and have an android or iphone you might want to look at XTools iOBD2. The obd dongle is about $40 and the software is free. eBay it even cheaper. Does just as much as the ultra.
__________________
1st IPF Supercharged 2011 2LT/RS RJT Convertible
Nutbutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:08 PM   #7
hunterv6
Always bet on Black
 
hunterv6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 turbo LS, 2012 f 150,
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Concord Nc
Posts: 1,927
ultragauge or torque app and one of these
Attached Images
 
__________________
<font color=#0066cc>http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=283263</font>

Last edited by hunterv6; 02-11-2014 at 05:19 PM.
hunterv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:32 PM   #8
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,559
I just use this.

__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:39 AM   #9
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunterv6 View Post
ultragauge or torque app and one of these
Yep, I have the torque App and a Bluetooth OBDII adapter, and it works great. Spent about $30 total.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 06:45 AM   #10
menendez1293
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
menendez1293's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee FL
Posts: 9,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorMansCamaro View Post
I just use this.

I use something very similar to this. Same brand just a different model
__________________
Proud owner of litho #179 Click Picture for Build Thread
menendez1293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 02:49 PM   #11
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Similar to Ultragauge, with Torque and my phone (in a dash phone mount), I can set up a display like this (with MANY different available data choices):

__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:25 PM   #12
KMPrenger


 
KMPrenger's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 ABM LT/RS, 06 Chevy Colorado
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 9,619
I use Torque for Android for my OBDII stuff....love it. I've never actually tried to clear codes with it though...I know it will read codes.
__________________
IPF Tune, Custom Magnaflow Exhaust, Vararam intake, MACE Ported Manifold, RX Ported TB, "Black Ice" manifold insulator, Elite Catch Can, ZL1 repro wheels, ZL1 Springs, DRL Harness, Front GM GFX, Heritage grill, Street Scene lower grill, NLP Spoiler, ZL1 rockers and much more!
KMPrenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:59 PM   #13
MMC

 
MMC's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 2SS/RS, 1987 & 2014 Silverado
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 903
I have an Innova 3140 and it works on all OBD2 protocol and most OBD 1 vehicles as well. Amazon has these for $199. I also have an Ultra Gage and they work good for the price.
__________________
MMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:19 PM   #14
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic View Post
Similar to Ultragauge, with Torque and my phone (in a dash phone mount), I can set up a display like this (with MANY different available data choices):

That is AWESOME, what cable do you need to use? I will have t ocheck into this further. I like what I am seeing.
__________________
rtcat600man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:58 PM   #15
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMPrenger View Post
I've never actually tried to clear codes with it though...I know it will read codes.
I have. Works great.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:02 PM   #16
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
That is AWESOME, what cable do you need to use? I will have t ocheck into this further. I like what I am seeing.
No cables. It's done via Bluetooth connection.

I've since changed the display to show oil pressure instead of speed.

Not only that, but you can log whatever PIDs you choose and download them as CSV files into a spreadsheet, or upload them to the Torque website (or both). You can even log GPS data, and it will overlay it on a Google map for you, showing exactly where you were when the data was collected.

It is really cool, for a minimal investment, assuming you have an Android device.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:11 PM   #17
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic View Post
No cables. It's done via Bluetooth connection.

I've since changed the display to show oil pressure instead of speed.

Not only that, but you can log whatever PIDs you choose and download them as CSV files into a spreadsheet, or upload them to the Torque website (or both). You can even log GPS data, and it will overlay it on a Google map for you, showing exactly where you were when the data was collected.

It is really cool, for a minimal investment, assuming you have an Android device.
Oh, and there is the problem, no android for me. I have an iphone. Found the Bluetooth stuff too. Thought the App. was Torque. Did not download it yet. But see one for my iphone. same thing?
__________________
rtcat600man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:42 PM   #18
hunterv6
Always bet on Black
 
hunterv6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 turbo LS, 2012 f 150,
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Concord Nc
Posts: 1,927
Torque not on ios. But dashcommand is free if you iPhone is jb. Otherwise it expensive. And you will need a wifi ob2 adaptor. I have booth android and my iPad set up. I do a lot of basic mechanical work so they come in handy.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk 4
__________________
<font color=#0066cc>http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=283263</font>
hunterv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:48 PM   #19
KMPrenger


 
KMPrenger's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 ABM LT/RS, 06 Chevy Colorado
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jefferson City, Missouri
Posts: 9,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
Oh, and there is the problem, no android for me. I have an iphone. Found the Bluetooth stuff too. Thought the App. was Torque. Did not download it yet. But see one for my iphone. same thing?
911medic summed it up well. I use Torque for datalogging, and 0 - 60, 40 - 60, 60 - 80, 1/4 mile and other stuff...including making some vids like this (which I tend to show off whenever I can lol)

Mike, I believe a close app for iPhone would be Dash Command, but I've read its expensive. Torque is like 5 bucks.

__________________
IPF Tune, Custom Magnaflow Exhaust, Vararam intake, MACE Ported Manifold, RX Ported TB, "Black Ice" manifold insulator, Elite Catch Can, ZL1 repro wheels, ZL1 Springs, DRL Harness, Front GM GFX, Heritage grill, Street Scene lower grill, NLP Spoiler, ZL1 rockers and much more!
KMPrenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 07:57 PM   #20
hunterv6
Always bet on Black
 
hunterv6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 turbo LS, 2012 f 150,
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Concord Nc
Posts: 1,927
For those with androids torque is also free if you get it from 4share.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk 4
__________________
<font color=#0066cc>http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=283263</font>
hunterv6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 08:16 PM   #21
Nutbutt


 
Nutbutt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS Convertible
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 3,235
iOBD2 is a good one for iPhone and iPad, it's free but the dongle is $40, you can use a wifi elm dongle but the in app software is $20.
__________________
1st IPF Supercharged 2011 2LT/RS RJT Convertible
Nutbutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:13 PM   #22
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
Oh, and there is the problem, no android for me. I have an iphone.
AFAIK, the Torque app is Android only.

Perhaps it's time for a phone upgrade?
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:16 PM   #23
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunterv6 View Post
For those with androids torque is also free if you get it from 4share.
OK, but it's less than $5, and worth every penny. I would gladly pay for it to support the developer.

Actually, I would gladly pay 4 or 5 times the cost. It's that good.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:18 PM   #24
911medic

 
911medic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SIM 2LT/1970 Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Near Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic View Post
Similar to Ultragauge, with Torque and my phone (in a dash phone mount), I can set up a display like this (with MANY different available data choices):

It was really freaking cold that day.

I hate winter.
__________________
All bleeding stops eventually -- 2012 2LT Auto w/sunroof -- My journal thread
Roto-Fab Intake & W/W Relocate Kit -- ADM Race Scoop -- Dynomax VT Axle-Back Exhaust -- Vitesse Throttle Controller
RX Catch Can -- Drake Bowtie Delete -- JacFab Radio Face Cover -- LED Fog Lights -- LED Dome/Trunk/Plate Lights
Wishlist: VMax Ported TB -- Dash ABL -- Footwell/Cupholder/Door Pull/Homelink Button Lighting
911medic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 05:39 AM   #25
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by 911medic View Post
AFAIK, the Torque app is Android only.

Perhaps it's time for a phone upgrade?


Perhaps I just stay with my Ultraguage and not worry about it........

I was just thinking if I could get another system cheap then I would look into it. Not really a big deal since the one I have covers everything but a couple things I wanted to get a better number on than the 4 pack factory gage set.
__________________
rtcat600man is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.