Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2014, 01:35 PM   #1
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Car takes awhile to start *update

I have a problem. Ever since I got my Maggie installed and tuned my car will take awhile to start sometimes. This only happens if it's been sitting for awhile, and I have no idea what is causing it. The car will crank over but won't start until after about 4-8seconds. Anybody have any insight?
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443


Last edited by jake2212; 06-11-2014 at 02:21 PM.
jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 01:58 PM   #2
Bubble85
 
Drives: 2012 SS
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Deale, MD
Posts: 187
Had a simalar problem it was a loose ground
Bubble85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 03:04 PM   #3
Twin2010
 
Drives: 2010 twin turbo ss
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 266
Did you change injector size? My car and a few buddies cars had to take some cranking fuel out after installing bigger injectors. It would start right up cold in the morning then after it sat for a few hours it would crank a while to start. We pulled 20-25 percent fuel out of the cranking fuel and it fixed the problem. You might try that and see if it helps
Twin2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 05:10 PM   #4
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake2212 View Post
I have a problem. Ever since I got my Maggie installed and tuned my car will take awhile to start sometimes. This only happens if it's been sitting for awhile, and I have no idea what is causing it. The car will crank over but won't start until after about 4-8seconds. Anybody have any insight?
What is your exact parts list and we can better help.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 05:11 PM   #5
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin2010 View Post
Did you change injector size? My car and a few buddies cars had to take some cranking fuel out after installing bigger injectors. It would start right up cold in the morning then after it sat for a few hours it would crank a while to start. We pulled 20-25 percent fuel out of the cranking fuel and it fixed the problem. You might try that and see if it helps
If the injector data is correct you never have to Fudge that tune that way.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 08:17 PM   #6
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
here's a list of all the motor mods on my car

CAI intake
catch can
ported TB
LT headers
LS3 conversion
7.400 pushrods
BTR dual valve springs
GT9 cam
ZL1 fuel pump
ADM FPCM
80 lb injectors
Magnuson tvs2300
3" sw retro catback
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443


Last edited by jake2212; 05-24-2014 at 02:12 PM.
jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 11:23 PM   #7
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,571
If you turn the key on for about 15sec and then try to start it does it start?
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 08:48 AM   #8
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake2212 View Post
here's a list of all the motor mods on my car

CAI intake
catch can
ported TB
LT headers
LS3 conversion
7.400 pushrods
BTR dual valve springs
GT9 cam
ZL1 fuel pump
80 lb injectors
Magnuson tvs2300
3" sw retro catback
I suspect these are a brand of injectors that there is no Real Data available to enter in to your calibration and is the root cause of your hard starting.

There is also Some Idle control stuff that needs to be done when a cam is added to the combo.

You should also consider adding
ADM FPCM
ZR-1 Map sensor

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 01:38 PM   #9
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
I suspect these are a brand of injectors that there is no Real Data available to enter in to your calibration and is the root cause of your hard starting.

There is also Some Idle control stuff that needs to be done when a cam is added to the combo.

You should also consider adding
ADM FPCM
ZR-1 Map sensor

Ted.
Already have the adm FPCM, forgot to mention that. What good would a zr1 map sensor do?
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 01:38 PM   #10
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
If you turn the key on for about 15sec and then try to start it does it start?
I'll go try that now
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 05:04 PM   #11
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
If you turn the key on for about 15sec and then try to start it does it start?
Tht worked, so I'm gonna try it again when I get home from work today to see if it was just a one time thing
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 06:48 PM   #12
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,571
Car takes awhile to start

We'll I was wondering if your pressure is bleeding off and the pump is taking a little long to build pressure. If its still doing it you need to get your tune looked at.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 07:24 PM   #13
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
We'll I was wondering if your pressure is bleeding off and the pump is taking a little long to build pressure. If its still doing it you need to get your tune looked at.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What would cause that? Bad fuel pump?
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 03:58 AM   #14
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
just did it again, turned the key for 15 sec, then cranked it and it turned right on.
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 07:47 AM   #15
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,991
I had the same problem with FIC injectors and my Maggie. The set I had had a bad seal and lost pressure. Swapped in a set of better (Bosch) injectors and the issue cleared up. If you have FIC injectors, call them and they should be able to help you out. I didn't have any issues with their customer service.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:21 AM   #16
MANNYS2SS/RS

 
MANNYS2SS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS,LS3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,169
Had this same problem, which turned out to be a leaking injectors. Try doing a flood clear, you hold the gas peddle down all the way to the floor, while turning your key. Be ready to release the peddle, if it starts right away, check the injectors.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...aking+injector
__________________

LS-3, ProCharger D1SC
665. rwhp /562. rwtq @ 9.3 psi

Last edited by MANNYS2SS/RS; 05-25-2014 at 10:32 AM.
MANNYS2SS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:16 PM   #17
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MANNYS2SS/RS View Post
Had this same problem, which turned out to be a leaking injectors. Try doing a flood clear, you hold the gas peddle down all the way to the floor, while turning your key. Be ready to release the peddle, if it starts right away, check the injectors.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...aking+injector
just read that entire thread and that's exactly what's happening to me, son of a b**ch
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 03:23 PM   #18
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake2212 View Post
just read that entire thread and that's exactly what's happening to me, son of a b**ch

I would have the tune checked first. I used FIC60lb and had a problem with it taking longer to start. Took it to a real tuner and problem was gone. Some tuners will say they are good and some are but most just know the basics.

I was having slow starts and rough idle when I first Added the Blower. And fell for the ID850 sales pitch on here and bought a set. Found a new tuner and took the car to him with the ID850's to put in and he said there was no reason to use them. After about 30min he had the start and idle perfect. He said the data that came with them was right on. Listed and sold the ID's. Now using FIC80lbs with no problems. And there is a time when a bad part will go out. Happens to ever manufacturer.
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 04:24 PM   #19
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitroman28 View Post
I would have the tune checked first. I used FIC60lb and had a problem with it taking longer to start. Took it to a real tuner and problem was gone. Some tuners will say they are good and some are but most just know the basics.

I was having slow starts and rough idle when I first Added the Blower. And fell for the ID850 sales pitch on here and bought a set. Found a new tuner and took the car to him with the ID850's to put in and he said there was no reason to use them. After about 30min he had the start and idle perfect. He said the data that came with them was right on. Listed and sold the ID's. Now using FIC80lbs with no problems. And there is a time when a bad part will go out. Happens to ever manufacturer.
Alright I'll have the tune checked out ten if it's all good I'll call the injector company
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 05:18 PM   #20
Nitroman28

 
Nitroman28's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,571
If you have fic Jeff's a good guy. He will take care
Of you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Nitroman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:21 PM   #21
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
tune is good and the fuel rails were pulled to see if the injectors leaked overnight, nothing. any other ideas as to what it might be?
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:25 PM   #22
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake2212 View Post
tune is good and the fuel rails were pulled to see if the injectors leaked overnight, nothing. any other ideas as to what it might be?
Is it better if you step on the throttle while cranking?
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:28 PM   #23
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
Is it better if you step on the throttle while cranking?
haven't tried that, I'm at work right now I'll try stepping on the throttle while starting when i get home.
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:45 PM   #24
TOYMARO
 
TOYMARO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS/RS 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: here
Posts: 573
TOYMARO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 06:46 PM   #25
jake2212

 
jake2212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss/rs A6 Supercharged
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,003
Okay, so it's not the injectors, injector data, fuel pressure or the tune
__________________
Check out my build thread: Project Ultimate Street Camaro
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=378443

jake2212 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.