Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2014, 04:24 PM   #1
salvagelife
 
salvagelife's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pomona ca
Posts: 58
LT turbonetics help

has anyone instaled a LT headers on a turbonetics kit ? i have full bolt ons and have the stock headers and cats which i told my shop and he said he can make it work and fabricate new pipe, should i go this route?
salvagelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 04:54 PM   #2
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,426
Won't help and will be a royal waste of money. That kit is designed around stock manifolds. If you want to do custom might as well just go full out custom front facing manifolds.
__________________
Nick
2006 Corvette Z06 -1000+rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 11:00 AM   #3
ParkerB57
COTW 11/12/12
 
Drives: 1SS RS IBM
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 203
Call Turbonetics and see what they say, also Raymond Performance in Indy has experience at turbonetics mods after the base kit, good luck

Ben
__________________
ParkerB57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 06:25 PM   #4
caper

 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2ss/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SoCal, I.E.
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvagelife View Post
has anyone instaled a LT headers on a turbonetics kit ? i have full bolt ons and have the stock headers and cats which i told my shop and he said he can make it work and fabricate new pipe, should i go this route?
I would just leave the stock manifolds and do a cat delete, that will give you more HP and avoid any catastrophic cat issues. also if you need to put the cats back on for inspection it will be easier. not to mention it will all be cheaper. btw the clearance for the up pipe to the turbo is slim, I don't think the system works with shorties either so a set of long tubes may not have enough room, even custom ones.
__________________
Turbonetics running 8lbs boost at 563/559 tuned by Cunningham installed by K&M w/cat-muffler delete, ACS splitter, Fesler GFX, MPD1 spoiler, Custom painted Rally stripes, Cordon CR1 wheels 275/315s, Hotchkiss comp sways and end links, Barton shifter
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:10 PM   #5
salvagelife
 
salvagelife's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pomona ca
Posts: 58
Ok I had him just installed my stock headers and cat , cats deleted ? I can have any muffler shop deleted them right
salvagelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:39 PM   #6
DaFisch

 
DaFisch's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Barrington, IL
Posts: 1,259
I just ran into this problem today too.. I am having my shop make a custom pipe.
DaFisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 01:25 AM   #7
fox149
 
Drives: Yellow 2010 SS
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: The Swamp
Posts: 2
do they not use the stock manifolds to try to keep it 50 state legal on emissions. You might get more horsepower with out the cats, better flow is ususally better hp with turbos. It'd call them and ask about it. I had a turbonetics kit on a 350z, no cats ran amazing was faster than a stock SS tbh. If the Camaro kit is as good and you can get bigger gains outta a dif toon, lt,s and a dif intake i'd be in for one. Post what you find out
fox149 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 03:16 PM   #8
salvagelife
 
salvagelife's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pomona ca
Posts: 58
Do I have to retune it if I take my cats off ?i know I have too if I want more hp
salvagelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 04:48 PM   #9
DaFisch

 
DaFisch's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: South Barrington, IL
Posts: 1,259
yes to tune out the cats or the check engine light will be on.
DaFisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:19 PM   #10
salvagelife
 
salvagelife's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pomona ca
Posts: 58
Aright thanks just wanted to make sure I wasn't going to mess something up , I just wait until I retune my car , just wanted more sound , to quite for my tastes with cats :/
salvagelife is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.