Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Test
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2014, 01:47 PM   #1
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
CEL P1153 2010 Camaro SS

Hey guys! Went to remote start the car the other day and waited to hear the growl of the Kooks LT's and Corsa Cat back and nothing.. Hmm.. Hop in the car, crank it up, lo and behold.. CEL. Car seems to be running fine, so I head to Autozone to get the code and the guy says there are 3 codes, all of them the same. He prints me out the little receipt explaining what it is and it seems to be the Bank 2 Sensor 1 O2 sensor.

I've probably driven the car a total of 300 miles since having the LT's and Corsa installed and my tuner is telling me to replace the O2 sensor. I don't mind replacing it, I am just wondering if replacing it is going to fix the root cause of the problem. The tuner is a guy from work, and he seems very knowledgeable, but at the same time, I feel that he may need to freshening up on his skills. I understand that this can be a very tedious process (tuning), and it only took him 30 minutes to "butt dyno" tune it. The stock tune, I am pretty sure he just took most of the restrictions off, but after the LT's, he just adjusted everything by 1%. I have no experience in tuning at all, but it seems like it would take more than that. So, I am not sure if the car is actually tuned right, and if that may be the root cause of the CEL. Any feedback and suggestions are welcome and I appreciate all of it.

Oh and he said he deleted the rear O2 sensors. I

Thanks,

Zane

Last edited by Zaneschevy; 11-05-2014 at 01:55 PM. Reason: Additional Info
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 11:57 AM   #2
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
BUMP.. No recommendations or advice to send my way?

Thanks
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 01:18 PM   #3
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
***UPDATE***

I just got back from my tuner and he cleared the code. Drove the car home, liberally, and did not get a code. I would assume if it was a bad O2 sensor, the code would have came back immediately. Or is this not the case?

Thanks
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 04:43 PM   #4
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,382
depends , codes may not show up immediately. sometimes they can come back within 50 miles. only way to know for sure is to keep driving it and see if it comes back or not
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:38 PM   #5
scottymac
 
scottymac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 21
Do you have a cold air intake? Have you tried cleaning the MAF? Did your friend adjust the timing or the fuel trims? I would first suspect the code you got is a result of something upstream of the O2 sensor causing an air/fuel ratio problem. Of course it is possible the O2 sensor is fouled too. Start with cleaning the MAF then verify timing & fuel trims. Don't just throw parts at it assuming the error code is the root cause. YMMV...

p.s. DO NOT let someone dick with your timing and/or fuel trims based on a "butt dyno". You can grenade your engine real fast like that.
scottymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:41 PM   #6
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
Scotty,

First, thank you for your reply. I do have a CAI intake and a VMAX throttle body. As far as cleaning the MAF, I am not sure what to do exactly. Mass airflow sensor is what comes to mind when I see that. Do I just pull the MAF and wipe it down? Also, I know he indeed messed with the fuel trims after the header install; though, he himself said he didn't adjust much just bumped the fuel a little bit. Like I said, he performed the stock tune on the car which pretty much took all of the restrictions off, then he did the post-header install tune and bumped the fuel trim by 1% from the first tune he did.

Ugh the term "grenade engine" is my worst nightmare. I am seriously considering just getting an email tune and let him throw it on with HPTuner software.
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:44 PM   #7
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
Mydream,

Thanks for the reply. I drive the car like once or twice a week due to having a work truck, and even when I do drive it, it's only a 30 mile round-trip. I will definitely keep my eyes on it and take it easy so as not to snap my chit up. At first I thought my lack of driving may have been the cause of the issue, but that does not seem to be the case.
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 05:47 AM   #8
scottymac
 
scottymac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaneschevy View Post
Scotty,

First, thank you for your reply. I do have a CAI intake and a VMAX throttle body. As far as cleaning the MAF, I am not sure what to do exactly. Mass airflow sensor is what comes to mind when I see that. Do I just pull the MAF and wipe it down? Also, I know he indeed messed with the fuel trims after the header install; though, he himself said he didn't adjust much just bumped the fuel a little bit. Like I said, he performed the stock tune on the car which pretty much took all of the restrictions off, then he did the post-header install tune and bumped the fuel trim by 1% from the first tune he did.

Ugh the term "grenade engine" is my worst nightmare. I am seriously considering just getting an email tune and let him throw it on with HPTuner software.
Well with the mods you have it's definitely going to effect the fuel trims on a stock tune...to what degree I couldn't tell you offhand. I just came from the Mustang 4.6 platform to the Camaro. However, I do know you want to have everything dialed in within a "safety zone" so to speak if yours is a daily driver and you don't want to be replacing an engine. If you don't have 100% confidence in your friend's tuning skills I would strongly suggest taking it to a reputable local tuner or get a mail order tune. Don't leave this kind of thing to chance unless you can afford some potentially expensive repairs. My first guess would be your O2 sensor code is a symptom rather than a cause. I could be wrong but it does no good to replace perfectly good parts only to find out it wasn't the problem but rather a symptom.

As for the mass air flow sensor, DO NOT wipe it off with anything or otherwise handle it by any other part other than the end that plugs in to the wiring harness. Get a can of mass air flow sensor cleaner at Auto Zone or O'Reilly's and just spray the sensor. Set it down somewhere clean and dust-free and let it dry. That's it. Re-install it back in to your intake once dry. One speck of dust on the MAF can confuse your ECM and throw the fuel trims off rich or lean and cause an O2 sensor error as well.
scottymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 11:34 AM   #9
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
I have conceded to getting the car re-tuned, but I haven't decided which route to go. I see and hear a lot of people saying don't do e-mail tunes, but that would obviously be the most convenient. I do have a local dyno tuner that I might just swing by and get them to get everything straight...hopefully.
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 11:52 AM   #10
scottymac
 
scottymac's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaneschevy View Post
I have conceded to getting the car re-tuned, but I haven't decided which route to go. I see and hear a lot of people saying don't do e-mail tunes, but that would obviously be the most convenient. I do have a local dyno tuner that I might just swing by and get them to get everything straight...hopefully.
I had an email tune for my 2005 Mustang GT. It ran like a scalded dog. It was a night/day difference from the stock tune. I never had any issues with an email tune on that car but then again it only had a JLT intake and an exhaust so it wasn't heavily modified. I honestly don't know what peoples' experiences are with the email tunes for the Camaro. I haven't gone that route yet as I still have a warranty. Do your homework and pick a tuner who has happy customers. YMMV...
scottymac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:51 AM   #11
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
**UPDATE**

I finally got the car in to a reputable, somewhat local tuner and pulled some decent #'s with my mods. I was around 358HP and 368T on a mustang dyno (don't have dyno sheet in front of me). I am relatively happy with the numbers, but a week after I got the car back home CEL comes back on. Same code with the addition of another one. I will need to look again tonight to see exactly what the codes are. I am being told by my original tuner (friend) that I cannot simply tune-out the front o2's because they are needed, so I called the new tuner and let him know what is going on. He recommended I replace the o2 sesnor. No problem, I can do that; however, is there a specific o2 sensor I need to get, or will OE work fine? Any other thoughts or suggestions before I go buy the parts? Thank you all very much!
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 01:54 PM   #12
hunter1660
 
hunter1660's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 653
Do you have your rear o2 sensors connected?
__________________
hunter1660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 04:52 PM   #13
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
I want to say they are connected, but have been tuned out. Oh, and it is a P0430 code, which is different than the original one I was getting. I guess now my question is, do I call the tuner and put it back on his plate and if so, what needs to be looked at in the tune? Thanks again!

Zane

Last edited by Zaneschevy; 02-13-2015 at 05:01 PM. Reason: Forgot to add CEL code
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 05:48 PM   #14
hunter1660
 
hunter1660's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: florida
Posts: 653
Disconnect the the rear o2 sensors. Clear the cel and you should be good. Worked for me...
__________________
hunter1660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2015, 10:08 AM   #15
Zaneschevy
 
Drives: 2010 Indy 500 SS
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Odessa
Posts: 13
Still getting a P0420 CEL. My local tuner said the rear O2's are definitely tuned out, so I am not sure what is causing this code. I keep clearing it, but it eventually comes back. Has anyone seen this before? My dyno tuner wanted me to drive back to his shop, but it is a bit out of the way and would require me to take off from work, so I took it to a buddy who also uses HPTuners (same as dyno tuner). Not really sure what else to do at this point..
Zaneschevy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.