Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2009, 11:23 AM   #1
AMERICANMADE
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 221
Skip shift function, or malfunction?

I know there have been several threads discussing the M6 skip shift funtion.
My question here is anyone else finding that their M6 skip shift is non-existant? I have yet to be able to even force mine to engage the skip shift at all regardless of speed, rpm, engine temp. Is this typical?
AMERICANMADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:26 AM   #2
Supermans
Camaro & Stang Enthusiast
 
Supermans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Mustang 5.0 in Kona Blue
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 4,752
It is easy to get it to come on.. Go into first gear giving it as little gas as possib;e and just start rolling forward for a few seconds keeping the same amount of small gas going to the engine.. You will see the skip shift show up until you give it more gas and then it disappears..
__________________
Bought my Camaro from Eric Hall(817) 421-7266
Supermans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:26 AM   #3
Baughman
 
Baughman's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 475
Well if it is defective. I may not mind it in this case. No other advice for you though.
__________________
Black/Black, 2SS/RS, Manual, and Polished 20's
VIN# 28396
Baughman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:28 AM   #4
firstmate
 
firstmate's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Blk/Gry SS/RS M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 455
Even if you take off very slowly? Mine always engages in slower take-offs, between about 12 mph and 19 mph. If you go past those speeds quickly, the little picture in DIC disappears. I almost always shift 1st, 3rd and 5th though, so it doesn't bother me any. It shows to go to 4th but it doesn't block 3rd, which is what I am used to anyway... Just my experience anyway...
__________________
Ordered 10-13-08 2SS/RS M6 BLK/GRY
VIN #2386
Delivered 6-11-09 - Woo Hoo!!!

Hey Houston locals--------

Join the H-Town Camaro Club
www.H-TownCamaroClub.com
firstmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:28 AM   #5
O2BQIK
 
Drives: 1991 Camaro RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 596
Depending on your driving habits you may rarely ever see it. I installed the skip shift eliminator, but the DIC still shows when the computer wants it to skip-shift, and it rarely happens. Mostly when I'm driving slowly through a parking lot or something.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS in black/beige: Sold. | '91 Camaro RS: Still the dream car!
'98 Camaro SS: Incon twin turbo. Sold | '99 Camaro SS: Heads/cam/bolt-ons. Sold.
O2BQIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:29 AM   #6
AMERICANMADE
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supermans View Post
It is easy to get it to come on.. Go into first gear giving it as little gas as possib;e and just start rolling forward for a few seconds keeping the same amount of small gas going to the engine.. You will see the skip shift show up until you give it more gas and then it disappears..

That's what I had assumed since so much hoopla has been made of it, but I've tried your suggestion. I don't think I'm going to go complain to my dealer. I like it just like it is.
AMERICANMADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:43 AM   #7
ffrcobra_65
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SuperCharged 2SS/RS IOM MN6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 5,095
It has come on for me several times, mostly when I am slowly rolling out of a stop sign and early up-shifting. I don't mind it at all.
ffrcobra_65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:47 AM   #8
GTengineer
 
GTengineer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 Z06
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMERICANMADE View Post
I know there have been several threads discussing the M6 skip shift funtion.
My question here is anyone else finding that their M6 skip shift is non-existant? I have yet to be able to even force mine to engage the skip shift at all regardless of speed, rpm, engine temp. Is this typical?
Congratulations
__________________
2004 Corvette Z06
1996 Camaro 3.8L (M5)
GTengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:48 AM   #9
Blue Demon
 
Blue Demon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Corvette
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, Tx
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by O2BQIK View Post
Depending on your driving habits you may rarely ever see it. I installed the skip shift eliminator, but the DIC still shows when the computer wants it to skip-shift, and it rarely happens. Mostly when I'm driving slowly through a parking lot or something.

If you installed the skip shift eliminator it will not force a 1st to 4th even "rarely". The light will still illuminate though.
Blue Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:51 AM   #10
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,554
Mine annoys the shit out of me. Theres a lot of traffic around here so I can't accelerate to get past it many times, so I run into it! Gotta get the eliminator soon.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:47 PM   #11
formulahawk
 
formulahawk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 147
Hello, had this on my 4th generation as well, I just pause briefly in neutral and then shift to 2nd as normal.

If you try it a few times you will find it easy to adapt to.

Thanks,

Kelly

__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS, IOM, IO Interior, RS, 6M

Came home 09-07-22
VIN# 25963

1969 Firebird 400
1978 Camaro 305 V8
1994 Firebird Formula LT1
2002 Formula Firehawk LS1
formulahawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:41 PM   #12
mutant chicken
Mutant Member
 
mutant chicken's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 SS/RS, '10 Mini , 07 Harley
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 507
My wife has been getting frustrated by the skip shift feature... I told her to "center herself" in more ways than one, mentally, and physically, just let the shifter go to center like it wants to then push it back to 2nd. If you are going slow enough that it wants to skip shift anyway it's no big deal, if you are pushing the car it won't come on in the first place, either way it won't cause a problem. Just stay calm and be the master of yourself and the car. lol .
__________________
Ordered Oct. 13th, Del. Jun. 29th! CGM, 2SS/RS

mutant chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:07 PM   #13
StoutFiles
 
StoutFiles's Avatar
 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 733
Quote:
I just pause briefly in neutral and then shift to 2nd as normal.
Exactly. If people are hitting the skip-shift, they are taking it easy to begin with so there should be no problem holding the clutch for a extra second till 2nd gear is unlocked.
StoutFiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:11 PM   #14
AMERICANMADE
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 221
I don't know that it would bother me. I have driven this thing every possible speed, motion, stop, roll, no gas, more gas, you name it. My car will NOT engage the skip shift. Maybe I'm blessed. lol
AMERICANMADE is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V6 Skip Shift? B.A.Brunswick V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 10 10-08-2010 10:42 AM
I ABSOLUTELY HATE skip shift zzz28zzz 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 103 05-27-2009 08:40 PM
Avoid skip shift in the break-in? Vash Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 7 05-27-2009 10:39 AM
TUNE and Skip shift eliminator SSCamaro2010 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 13 05-12-2009 09:15 AM
Performance Numbers - Skip Shift fireresq157 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 16 03-23-2009 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.