Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2008, 03:46 AM   #26
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: THRSS #2 / CGM#1
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 25,926
3rd!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
The build of THRSS #2
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:48 AM   #27
Mindz
E.B.A.H.
 
Mindz's Avatar
 
Drives: you wild...
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In the happy padded room wearing a jacket that makes me hug myself...
Posts: 17,917
/signed
__________________
"J, you're my favorite Pokemod" ~Revo1
Mindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 06:26 AM   #28
Camaro68


 
Camaro68's Avatar
 
Drives: 68 Camaro 327ci 2SS/RS 376ci LS3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Prince William, VA
Posts: 2,804
Thumbs up thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by TAG UR IT View Post
http://www.karlperformanceparts.com/...?idproduct=547

Holy snikies!!!

I tell you right now....if my 5th Gen comes w/ an LS3, I'm going to make every attempt at ordering mine w/ a factory installed cam like this one. It's going to kick all the others @sses! Sheat, yeah!!
Thanks for the link awesome motor. If it makes it in the new Camaro
it better have 19....teens in the back
Camaro68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:45 AM   #29
Wedgy
 
Drives: 2004 Aveo
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 35
I hate to break it to you, but it will be a cold day in hell before the "hot cam" is factory installed in a Camaro because it wouldn't pass emissions. you may as well say you want to order your camaro with a 572 crate motor installed.

Also, you don't always have to pull the motor to install a cam. on a 4th gen, you just need to move/pull the radiator to get the cam in. of course that may be different on the 5th gen, but who knows....

this should give you a good idea of what is involved with a cam swap....
http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=23
Wedgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:03 AM   #30
Camaro_Corvette
36.833283,-76.021958
 
Camaro_Corvette's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 VR 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 22,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedgy View Post
I hate to break it to you, but it will be a cold day in hell before the "hot cam" is factory installed in a Camaro because it wouldn't pass emissions. you may as well say you want to order your camaro with a 572 crate motor installed.

Also, you don't always have to pull the motor to install a cam. on a 4th gen, you just need to move/pull the radiator to get the cam in. of course that may be different on the 5th gen, but who knows....

this should give you a good idea of what is involved with a cam swap....
http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=23
i would kill for a camaro with a 572 in it, but we know that aint gonna happen either, if any thing they could put the camshaft in the trunk, and we will install it ourselves when we get home!!!
__________________
Camaro_Corvette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:04 AM   #31
Grape Ape
 
Drives: 96 Bronco w/ a 5 speed
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedgy View Post
I hate to break it to you, but it will be a cold day in hell before the "hot cam" is factory installed in a Camaro because it wouldn't pass emissions. you may as well say you want to order your camaro with a 572 crate motor installed.

Also, you don't always have to pull the motor to install a cam. on a 4th gen, you just need to move/pull the radiator to get the cam in. of course that may be different on the 5th gen, but who knows....

this should give you a good idea of what is involved with a cam swap....
http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=23
Great link, I'm new to GM so I've never seen those rods to hold the lifters up. That is a neat trick.
Grape Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:27 AM   #32
Wedgy
 
Drives: 2004 Aveo
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 35
I used this link as a guide when I did my cam install. everything went very smooth... only tool i added was the Crane Cams Valve Spring Compressor Tool, it saved me A LOT of time. well worth the $120 even if I only used it one time
Wedgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 11:28 AM   #33
Mythic
 
Mythic's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VaBeach VA
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedgy View Post
I hate to break it to you, but it will be a cold day in hell before the "hot cam" is factory installed in a Camaro because it wouldn't pass emissions. you may as well say you want to order your camaro with a 572 crate motor installed.
Thats not necessarily true. The "hot Cam" is part of a GM issued crate engine.
http://www.gmperformanceparts.com/En...1224&engCat=ls
Possible Applications*

·It looks like "just an LS", but you know the truth
·Give your late model Corvette a new lease on life
·Update your fourth gen Trans Am with a LS1 replacement
·Don't forget the GM Performance Parts controller and harness specific for this application

The late model Corvettes and 4th Gen listed would have to pass emmisions

The LS3 and LS373 use, according to the GM Tech sheets, the same
Block: P/N 12584727
Comp Ratio: 10.7:1
Rocker Arm Ratio: 1.7:1
Cylinder Heads: P/N 12598594
Connecting rods: P/N 12617570
Pistons: P/N 19165089
Valve size (in): 2.16 intake / 1.59 exhaust

Main Differences
LS3 Camshaft P/N 12603844 - LS376 Camshaft type P/N 88958733
LS3 Camshaft duration (@.050 in): 219 degree intake / 228 degree exhaust - LS376 Camshaft duration (@.050 in): 204 degree intake / 211 degree exhaust

According to the Corvette forums, some people are already getting dealer upgrades.
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show....php?t=1967097

Looks like you would also need a new controller unit.
P/N 19201327 LS376/480 Engine Controller Kit

Caution: With the harness details I keep seeing a note that it won't run in a production vehicle unless you use all of the kit parts and that it will not run the stock gauges, you must get aftermarket gauges.
- Need to find a GM shop to ask a tech. -

Last edited by Mythic; 04-22-2008 at 11:42 AM.
Mythic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:33 PM   #34
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,039
If I remember correctly, the Hotcam didn't make as much power as the second LS6 (MY 2002) cam did. If I remember correcly, didn't the LS6 have more lift and a little less overlap and LSA?

I agree that GM wouldn't get a Hotcam into an OEM car but I'm sure they, if not many other companies have custom grinds that will give good power. To me though, GM engineered the engines as a package, and operate within a certain range. Typically, adding a cam will change the operating range in order to achieve maximum power, and sometimes that range goes outside of the parameters the engineers went by. Anyhoo, I'd prefer to keep things nice and simple and stay out of the long block.

To each his/her own
__________________
"...What IS true: We anticipated that this would happen - we are never finished - and yes, Ford DOES deserve to win now and then. To think that GM can come out with a car to make ford throw in the towel is simply foolhardy..." - fbodfather
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 05:44 PM   #35
Wedgy
 
Drives: 2004 Aveo
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 35
I did alot of research before selecting my cam. And the conclusion i came to was that the "hot cam" was not nearly as good as other cams on the market.

Also I'm not saying it cant ever pass a smog test, but it would be close and depend alot on how well it was tuned. But as factory installed option, it would never fly.

I think the ls1 hot cam would put out around 380 RWHP around 400rwtq. the cam I went with TR224/224/114 will/did pass smog in CA and made 395 rwhp and 390 rwtq. And it ran much smoother than the hot cam (per my tuner).

If i didnt have to worry about smog tests, or drive ability then I wouldn't even look at the hot cam, I would go much much bigger, can you say trex... LOL
Wedgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 07:38 PM   #36
Mythic
 
Mythic's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VaBeach VA
Posts: 349
The Hot Cam for the LS3 is not the LS1 cam.
My point was Never that it was the best cam out there.

But if you look at the tech specs for both the LS3 and LS376/480 the only real part difference is the cam. The block, heads, pistons etc are exactly the same. You should only need new valve springs and gaskets. And, appearantly a new engine controller kit.
Mythic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:19 PM   #37
Jose_The_Great_Cuervo
 
Jose_The_Great_Cuervo's Avatar
 
Drives: Purple/Pink Ford Escort Lx
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 65
Will adding a performance cam mess w/ AFM in the Camaro?
Jose_The_Great_Cuervo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 10:59 AM   #38
MerF
Go Rays!
 
MerF's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 Trailblazer
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St Pete, Florida
Posts: 2,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose_The_Great_Cuervo View Post
Will adding a performance cam mess w/ AFM in the Camaro?
Not really. However getting a custom tune done afterwards will ensure you are getting the most out of it.
MerF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 01:32 PM   #39
Kyle2k
LVL 50 Troll Stomper
 
Kyle2k's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 3,159
I have heard that putting a new cam in actually will disable AFM, it would be nice if they were wrong.
__________________
Kyle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 04:04 PM   #40
Camaro_crazy
 
Camaro_crazy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 Cobalt SS/TC
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to Camaro_crazy
Do you think GM could install it later on down the road after you buy the camaro? And I'm young and not as experienced with engines. Where could you go to get the custom tune? And what all would need to be done in addition to the cams so it would all go smoothly and pass emissions.
__________________
"America is all about speed. Hot, Nasty, Bad-Ass Speed." - Eleanor Roosevelt
Camaro_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #41
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
what about the lsx motor....... here is a link http://www.gmhightechperformance.com...ock/index.html

2500 horses http://www.gmperformanceparts.com/En...6454&engCat=ls

Last edited by lil_red_v6; 05-11-2008 at 07:17 PM.
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 11:48 AM   #42
Mythic
 
Mythic's Avatar
 
Drives: '03 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: VaBeach VA
Posts: 349
the LSX is an awesome motor if all you want to do is go from the tree to the line.

Its solid and can handle just about all of the mods you want to throw at it. However, is a big solid cast iron bitch. You put that and the mods needed to get half that HP and you won't turn for squat.
Mythic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 10:34 PM   #43
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
o i see i thought it was aluminum block now i see why its capable of 2500 hp
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 10:41 PM   #44
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wedgy View Post
I hate to break it to you, but it will be a cold day in hell before the "hot cam" is factory installed in a Camaro because it wouldn't pass emissions. you may as well say you want to order your camaro with a 572 crate motor installed.

Also, you don't always have to pull the motor to install a cam. on a 4th gen, you just need to move/pull the radiator to get the cam in. of course that may be different on the 5th gen, but who knows....

this should give you a good idea of what is involved with a cam swap....
http://www.ls1howto.com/index.php?article=23
572= no gas miliage at all
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 11:28 PM   #45
DGthe3
Moderator.ca
 
DGthe3's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 21,726
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_red_v6 View Post
572= no gas miliage at all
not quite true. when properly built, the 572 should be give numbers measured in gallons per mile. anything better and you're not trying hard enough.
__________________
Note, if I've gotten any facts wrong in the above, just ignore any points I made with them
__________________
don't believe a thing you read about the next gen Camaro -- as history has proven time and time again:

WE DO NOT TALK ABOUT FUTURE PRODUCT PLANS PERIOD FbodFather
__________________

Camaro5 Fest sub-forum
DGthe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 04:00 AM   #46
swazworth
the nerd king
 
swazworth's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 scion xb...
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: phoenix, az
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by lil_red_v6 View Post
572= no gas miliage at all
that is ok.... i suspect your getting a v6 anyways.
swazworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 06:03 AM   #47
Sterling


 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 5,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle2k View Post
I have heard that putting a new cam in actually will disable AFM, it would be nice if they were wrong.
It shouldn'e disable it if you don't need to change out the lifters. AFM engines have a special two piece lifter that allows the valve to be disabled when it's not needed.
Sterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 09:18 AM   #48
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
no im getting the ss but im getting a bike also to cruiz around on to go to work and stuff like that......the camaro is the weekend worrior
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 12:31 PM   #49
Good53X
 
Drives: 1988Nissan Pulsar (meh,beater)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 83
Funny thing is that depending on the bike it'll be ultimately faster than the Camaro anyway xD
Good53X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2008, 08:13 PM   #50
lil_red_v6
one wheelin
 
lil_red_v6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2004 yamaha r6
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: saginaw
Posts: 2,214
Send a message via Yahoo to lil_red_v6
lol
richous
lil_red_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LS3 Specs revealed: GM's 436hp Sick 6.2L LS3 TAG UR IT Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 07-30-2009 06:02 PM
Voice Your Comments/Suggestions/Input for Focus Group on 2010 Camaro Mr. Wyndham 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 236 04-22-2008 12:43 AM
Edmunds: GM Foreign-Exchange Program: Holden Special Vehicles Getting LS3 Scotsman General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 5 03-27-2008 12:51 AM
5th Gen Camaro LS3 info from Chevy Hi-Po...READ TAG UR IT Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 295 03-07-2008 10:06 AM
0-60 Article on the LS3 JeepinMatt Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 15 08-28-2007 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.