Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Forced Induction - V8 V8 Supercharger, turbo, nitrous discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2014, 02:59 PM   #1
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
Camaro 2012 Procharged L99 Only 3 PSI

Hello, i'm new in the forum, my name is Jordan from Andorra (EU), i have a procharged (p1sc-1) Camaro 2012 L99. I installed the procharger and after i contact with ted of Jannetty Racing for a custom tune file, the first problem was that no dyno for solve this i installed a AEM o2 sensor for adjust air/fuel ratio. After Ted detect the fuel pump have a very low pressure and I install a ZL1 fuel pump with ADM control module, Ted detect a very low pressure in the intake manifold, only 3 psi, I made a cap and I removed the air filter to installa cap and pressurize the system with 15 psi, I found a leak in the black procharger bypass valve I remplaced this for a vortech race bypass valve and I pressurized the system now with 15 psi and no leak found at this time, after I checked the vaccum line and the installation, no problems found, the crankshaft is been pinned. I've also thought the problem is the belt slipping or the tensioner no work properly, I test this with the procharger install manual tension and with the max bolt tension, I have the same result. 3 PSI. I've also tried with a new map sensor, only 3 psi. I've also tried. Any idea? Defective procharger?





Last edited by jordaromera; 08-09-2014 at 03:14 PM.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 07:48 PM   #2
cal45
 
cal45's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Orlando & Flagler Beach,FL
Posts: 428
Call Procharger, I'm sure they can give you a list of things to check.
cal45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:27 AM   #3
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
Reviewing the other post with the same problem the problem is the gauge, i don't have a gauge i read the data direct to odb2 port but in the manual of aeroforce gauge have a comment and that says: "Depending on how the source of the analog signal is
grounded, a voltage offset can result. For example, in our test vehicle, an ’03
Mustang Cobra, there was a 0.01v difference between the chassis ground which
we used for a 3 bar MAP sensor, and the signal ground on the OBD2 port which
our Interceptor was connected to." i tested this in my car and without start the car i have 1,9 psi, that is normal? Should not make 0.0Psi? Even so 1,9 psi + 3,2 psi = 5,1 PSI far that should mark the 7psi. i'm at 700m but with 1013mbar the day of the test, no altitude problem.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:47 AM   #4
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,573
What MAP sensor are you using?
blake-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 03:53 AM   #5
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
3 Bar MAP sensor AcDelco
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:21 AM   #6
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,573
Make sure the linear and offsets are entered correctly in your tune.
zr1 map part # 12592525
Map sensor linear: 312.50 kpa
Map sensor offset: -11.25 kpa
Enter at Engine Diagnostics -> Airflow

The aeroforce also requires the user to set the slope and intercept for it to read properly if you were using one.
blake-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:32 AM   #7
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
i donīt have aeroforce gauge i read the data dircetly from the odb2 with livelink and the sct. Ted has made my tunning file, was will be considered. how i can check?
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:37 AM   #8
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,573
I'm sure Ted did it correctly. However I'm unfamiliar with SCT so I don't where to tell you to look.
blake-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 09:08 AM   #9
Unreal


 
Drives: 2006 Z06
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 2,351
Ted would have to look. User has no access to that.
__________________
Nick
2006 Corvette Z06 -1000+rwhp
Unreal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 01:42 PM   #10
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
with the car should not dial 0?
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 07:15 PM   #11
Trob85
Svt lol
 
Trob85's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ss inferno orange blown
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Topeka
Posts: 1,131
I had the same problem but only after I installed headers. Sounds like your guage might be off. What you should do is first check is take the filter off and try to spin the impeller to see if it's not broke, second check all your couplers make sure one didn't pop off. Then check the blow off valve make sure it isn't stuck open. The last thing simple to check would be adding an extra boost gauge to the break booster and check there. If none of those give bad results I would find a way to measure boost on the coupler before the intercooler and after just to make sure it's not losing boost there.
__________________
Fully built Honda motor swap wit nawwwz, turbo making 214 whp.
Trob85 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:07 AM   #12
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,283
I have been working closely with Jorda, and have looked at numerious logs and have given advice on how to diagnose this issue.

The car makes barely 3 psi boost at 6200 RPM but has a smooth linear boost curve.

It seems that the blower just is not moving any air since we have eliminated the boost leaks.

I provided the 3 bar map sensor and have made the proper settings in the tune here is a screen shot.

It is Possible it just needs a smaller supercharger pulley.

No headers so this is why I suspect a bad blower

Mod List, 2012 CAMARO L99 PROCHARGER P-1 SYSTEM FLOWMASTER CAT BACK ZL-1 FUEL PUMP ADM FPCM ZR1 MAP 98 EURO
Attached Images
 
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 02:32 PM   #13
Kelly@PCMofNC

 
Drives: 2010 RS/SS
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 810
You're not running an under drive pulley are you?
__________________

See what's in our shop on Facebook! Customer Build Blogs!
www.pcmofnc.com
Performance Parts & Installs - Dyno Tuning - Mail Order Tuning
704-307-4227
Kelly@PCMofNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 06:00 PM   #14
Tampa Tuning
Like us on Facebook!

 
Tampa Tuning's Avatar
 
Drives: C5 Corvette/ 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 2,542
I like the price of the procharger unit, but the clamps they use leak, and the BOV leaks. I had the same problem with one. I did my first dyno, and it dyno'd at bolt ons level. Hooked up pressure to head unit, and you can hear it leaking from all the clamps and the BOV.

Replaced them and made 8 pounds of boost.
__________________

Read this :
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...20#post7838320

www.TampaTuning.com
Camaro Corvette CTS GTO Tuner Tampa Orlando Bradenton
Tampa Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 01:51 AM   #15
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
hello again, today i have installed a 3,9" pulley (procharger has sent me), at this moment i have 5,2 max psi read in the map sensor... My BOV is discarted, i have the vortech bypass valve ted has recommended me and this BOV don't have any leak, i'm sure of this.
My clamps don't leaks, i'm sure, i presurized the system and i don't have any leak.
Is possible i have a cap in the intercooler? a defective procharger or intercooler?
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:51 AM   #16
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordaromera View Post
hello again, today i have installed a 3,9" pulley (procharger has sent me), at this moment i have 5,2 max psi read in the map sensor... My BOV is discarted, i have the vortech bypass valve ted has recommended me and this BOV don't have any leak, i'm sure of this.
My clamps don't leaks, i'm sure, i presurized the system and i don't have any leak.
Is possible i have a cap in the intercooler? a defective procharger or intercooler?
Pressurize the system again and use a spray bottle with soapy water and check all the connections.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 01:31 AM   #17
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
Hello, today i presurized the system again with an spray bottle with soapy water and my connections is ok, don't have leaks or problems.
I have check again the BOV and works fine, no problems.
The PCV line affect the performance of ProCharger? i'm desesperate, what else I can do?
I can only think that the ProCharger is defective for any reason.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:42 AM   #18
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordaromera View Post
Hello, today i presurized the system again with an spray bottle with soapy water and my connections is ok, don't have leaks or problems.
I have check again the BOV and works fine, no problems.
The PCV line affect the performance of ProCharger? i'm desesperate, what else I can do?
I can only think that the ProCharger is defective for any reason.
What is your elevation in Feet above sea level?
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 07:50 AM   #19
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
2600 feet. but i tested the car at 1016 qnh, not the problem im sure.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:23 AM   #20
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordaromera View Post
2600 feet. but i tested the car at 1016 qnh, not the problem im sure.
That would explain 8% Loss in boost read on a gauge.

Weather combined with the altitude could be a lot higher loss

See if you can find out what the average Density altitude is.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 03:19 PM   #21
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
Hello again, today i have installed a mechanichal boost gauge after the procharger, i have 8,7 psi after the procharger, and after the intercooler 8,4 psi, in the intake i conclude aproximately 8,2 psi. but i have two questions, procharger with my 3,9" pulley expects 12 psi, is normal i have only 8,7? the map sensor reads 5 psi and the mechanichal boost gauge 8 psi? that is normal? i have a bad map? thanks.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:09 PM   #22
Iam Broke
PHAT B33
 
Iam Broke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 TF3 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dark of the Moon
Posts: 1,338
Your MAP sensor scaling may be incorrect in the tune giving the false reading.

You are at a higher altitude so there is less air density to start with so you will not build as much boost as someone at sea level.
__________________
Another 1 of 371 '12 T3 LS3 M6's built. 10 psi on corn.
Iam Broke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:10 AM   #23
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iam Broke View Post
Your MAP sensor scaling may be incorrect in the tune giving the false reading.

You are at a higher altitude so there is less air density to start with so you will not build as much boost as someone at sea level.
Already covered that Screen shot above.

We read Absolute intake manifold Pressure so it is a final number

His gauge test is invalid as he did it in neutral against the rev limiter.

The throttle closes with the rev limiter so the pressure in the pipes will be higher than when driving and the engine is consuming the air.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 09:37 AM   #24
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
I test with the car running? Procharger with this pulley expect 12 psi. At 2650 feet is possible a less of 7 psi????? Thanks i need adjust the tunne file or not?
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 11:21 AM   #25
jordaromera
 
Drives: CAMARO SS 2012 L99 PROCHARGED/METH
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: ANDORRA (SPAIN)
Posts: 62
Today i have tested this with the car running and after the procharger i have only 5,5 psi... Me and ted suspect a bad procharger. I contact procharger to solve this... I hope to hear soon.
jordaromera is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
camaro 2012 procharged only 3psi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.