Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection

Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection Anything related to keeping your Camaro clean and in good cosmetic condition.

Old 08-20-2009, 09:04 PM   #1
southpawblues

Drives: 2SS, RS,IOM,Tan leath. DEC 09
Any tips on using a clay bar???

Never had a nice enough car with a paint job that deserved the kind of attention my new Camaro will deserve. I am reading a great deal about using a clay bar and some type of lubricant but I have never used one before. Any tips on technique etc. so I don't screw up a perfectly beautiful paint job? Thanks in advance for any tips from the experts.
Scott
Southpawblues
southpawblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:07 PM   #2
ljustin293

Drives: 2010 VR CAMARO 2SS/RS
I don't think you can screw it up...I really overcomplicated it the first time I tried it..it's really easy..just spray a quick detailer or some sort of lubricant and the cllay should move across the paint like a hockey puck on ice..if it sticks..add more lubricant..take your time and work in 2 x2 areas..it's really simple..good luck
ljustin293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 09:12 PM   #3
Windy City

Drives: Not enough room here!
Griots Garage www.griotsgarage.com
Windy City is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 06:46 AM   #4
Angelo@Autopia

Drives: 2014 Ford Focus ST
There are some major causes of paint contamination:

1. Rail dust - produced from the friction of train wheels against railroad tracks. Over 60% of new vehicles are shipped by rail. Rail dust can contaminate a new car's finish before it even reaches the dealership. Anytime a vehicle is parked or travels near a railroad it is subject to rail dust contamination.