Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 01:40 PM   #26
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,912
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
That's awesome, can't wait to hear what they say.
Ok. Just talked to them. Kinda funny. She said she got a call from GM technical assistance and first of all, she they 'heard' , that my car was running better. They told her that there was another case here in Alabama that basicaly needed a computer reset. (Hmmmmmmm, wonder who that was? ) And that they were to get my car back in and do the reset, but wondered why my car was running better.

I told her that I pulled the number 5 and 20 fuses and let it sit, yada yada yada, and she started laughing. She said that what I basicaly did is what they were supposed to do according to GM thecnical assistance. (Of course they wouldn't pull the fuses but reset it another way) They have discovered that even a gallon of low OR MID-GRADE fuel will cause this. They have mid-grade fuel at the dealers for PDI purposes and they allway put 3 gallons in new cars when they get them. (Bay Chevrolet)This is what happened. So I asked about my concern of why the computer didn't adjust after 6000 miles of 93 in it. She said "It won't adjust, you have to bring it to the dealer to have it reset". Or of course, pull the fuses. So there seems to be a slowing of information that has still not filtered down to the dealer level. OR, their not taking the info seriously. I gotta admit I am still SHOCKED that it made THAT big of a difference. They have instructed the salespeople and mainenance dept. to NEVER put 'lot fuel' (89 octane) fuel in the Camaros when they come in.

Then she asked if I wanted to bring it in and have it looked at for general purpose. I asked if I needed to and she said that what I did is all they would have done and I would be fine but bring it in if there are any other problems.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I guess we better add this to the "Instructions to the dealer" page for when you order your car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
They probalby saw his face in the video and are going to say GM wants you to quit posting pictures and videos of yourself. Photos and videos of Bonnie only.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:53 PM   #27
Dakota Kid

 
Dakota Kid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RJT/L99
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,158
Sounds to me like this "mod" is Camaro 101 for new owners.
__________________
2SS/RJT/L99
Dakota Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:56 PM   #28
Camar0wn3d
formerly "wh0rsep0wer"
 
Camar0wn3d's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS RS CGM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 483
LOL - we need a "your dealer is a spy for Ford" smiley.
__________________
2010 1SS/RS - CGM/Gray Interior - M6
SOLD (stupid recession)
Kooks 1 7/8" headers, Solo Mach-X, Vararam.

2012 2LS - I'm back in BLACK!
Camar0wn3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:01 PM   #29
duffmobile
 
duffmobile's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS - IOM/IOM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 376
Did the mod and it worked, thanks to all for the info!
__________________
L99 with 2.8 LC Kenne Bell, Kooks 1 7/8 headers, Corsa Catback, R2C CAI, 491 RWHP / 500 RWTQ ---- 2010 MY #7539
duffmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:06 PM   #30
shiftz33
 
shiftz33's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro SS, SSR, T-Bird, Highlander
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 330
I pulled fuse 5 and fuse 20 yesterday afternoon around 1:30 pm. I let it sit overnight and installed them this morning around 9:00 am before my drive into town.

WOW!

I didn't really feel that I had a "slow" L99, but I could definitely tell a difference during this morning's drive.

When my Camaro was delivered to me, the selling dealership "filled the tank". I questioned them on what fuel was used and the two dealership reps stated 87 octane. I stated that 91 octane (I live in CA with 91 being the best available) is required for the V8 Camaro. Then they changed their statement to "I'm sure they used that to fill it up".

I've always put 91 octane fuel in my Camaro, but I wonder if the dealership fill didn't cause mine to run a bit slow too.

I'm looking for a good location to try a 0-to-60 run, but I haven't found one just yet. There are a lot of hills around where I live. There is an extremely steep and long hill I drive up near my house and while driving up that hill I definitely could feel a difference.
__________________
12 Charger SRT8 | 04 Chevy SSR | 04 Ford Thunderbird PCR #428 | 06 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
shiftz33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:10 PM   #31
DDustiNN

 
DDustiNN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MI
Posts: 1,845
Send a message via Skype™ to DDustiNN
Quote:
Originally Posted by irpq11 View Post
Ok. Just talked to them. Kinda funny. She said she got a call from GM technical assistance and first of all, she they 'heard' , that my car was running better. They told her that there was another case here in Alabama that basicaly needed a computer reset. (Hmmmmmmm, wonder who that was? ) And that they were to get my car back in and do the reset, but wondered why my car was running better.

I told her that I pulled the number 5 and 20 fuses and let it sit, yada yada yada, and she started laughing. She said that what I basicaly did is what they were supposed to do according to GM thecnical assistance. (Of course they wouldn't pull the fuses but reset it another way) They have discovered that even a gallon of low OR MID-GRADE fuel will cause this. They have mid-grade fuel at the dealers for PDI purposes and they allway put 3 gallons in new cars when they get them. (Bay Chevrolet)This is what happened. So I asked about my concern of why the computer didn't adjust after 6000 miles of 93 in it. She said "It won't adjust, you have to bring it to the dealer to have it reset". Or of course, pull the fuses. So there seems to be a slowing of information that has still not filtered down to the dealer level. OR, their not taking the info seriously. I gotta admit I am still SHOCKED that it made THAT big of a difference. They have instructed the salespeople and mainenance dept. to NEVER put 'lot fuel' (89 octane) fuel in the Camaros when they come in.

Then she asked if I wanted to bring it in and have it looked at for general purpose. I asked if I needed to and she said that what I did is all they would have done and I would be fine but bring it in if there are any other problems.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I guess we better add this to the "Instructions to the dealer" page for when you order your car.

Great info, thanks!

Also, I think it should be noted in the OP that anyone doing this mod/fix should make sure their tank only has premium gas in it... So if you have any 87/89 octane in it at all, then you should run it down and fill it up with premium first.

Just to make it clear to everyone, ABSOLUTELY NO 87/89 OCTANE GAS!!!

That will be all
__________________
DDustiNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:40 PM   #32
Verio
Taking it 1 day at a time
 
Verio's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS Auto
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 751
Send a message via MSN to Verio
So, if a general person ever puts regular octane (87) in the car, they would have to have the ECM reset by the dealer?

I'm talking about Joe Shmoe on the street here, who has never been to C5 before. I think this still needs to be addressed by GM. Putting a lower octane fuel in my car shouldn't hinder it until action is performed by me... it should reset after a few good tanks.
__________________
Order#: NJWGTF
1100, Preliminary order accepted 04/27/2009
6000, Delivered to the customer 07/23/2009 - 3 Months (worth the wait!!)
Verio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:29 PM   #33
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by irpq11 View Post
Ok. Just talked to them. Kinda funny. She said she got a call from GM technical assistance and first of all, she they 'heard' , that my car was running better. They told her that there was another case here in Alabama that basicaly needed a computer reset. (Hmmmmmmm, wonder who that was? ) And that they were to get my car back in and do the reset, but wondered why my car was running better.

I told her that I pulled the number 5 and 20 fuses and let it sit, yada yada yada, and she started laughing. She said that what I basicaly did is what they were supposed to do according to GM thecnical assistance. (Of course they wouldn't pull the fuses but reset it another way) They have discovered that even a gallon of low OR MID-GRADE fuel will cause this. They have mid-grade fuel at the dealers for PDI purposes and they allway put 3 gallons in new cars when they get them. (Bay Chevrolet)This is what happened. So I asked about my concern of why the computer didn't adjust after 6000 miles of 93 in it. She said "It won't adjust, you have to bring it to the dealer to have it reset". Or of course, pull the fuses. So there seems to be a slowing of information that has still not filtered down to the dealer level. OR, their not taking the info seriously. I gotta admit I am still SHOCKED that it made THAT big of a difference. They have instructed the salespeople and mainenance dept. to NEVER put 'lot fuel' (89 octane) fuel in the Camaros when they come in.

Then she asked if I wanted to bring it in and have it looked at for general purpose. I asked if I needed to and she said that what I did is all they would have done and I would be fine but bring it in if there are any other problems.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I guess we better add this to the "Instructions to the dealer" page for when you order your car.

Well, at least we have some indirect confirmation that this is the right way to do it and there is no real risk...
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:33 PM   #34
MJ
 
MJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 403
Hmmm... wonder if the LS3's are impacted by this too?
MJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:43 PM   #35
SSOOCH
Camaro SL,UTs
 
SSOOCH's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS #16429
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South Jordan, UT
Posts: 7,436
I'll try it on my LS3 tonight! With my pants on of course...
__________________
SSOOCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:47 PM   #36
Dakota Kid

 
Dakota Kid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RJT/L99
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSOOCH View Post
I'll try it on my LS3 tonight! With my pants on of course...
Yeah dude! The guys over on www.challengertalk.com have a thread with your pic...making fun of Camaro owners.
__________________
2SS/RJT/L99
Dakota Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:54 PM   #37
Verio
Taking it 1 day at a time
 
Verio's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS Auto
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 751
Send a message via MSN to Verio
Well... pulled the fuses on mine since I know the dealer through 87 in it. Gunna let it sit for about 3-4 hours, and give it a try tonight.
__________________
Order#: NJWGTF
1100, Preliminary order accepted 04/27/2009
6000, Delivered to the customer 07/23/2009 - 3 Months (worth the wait!!)
Verio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:02 PM   #38
DDustiNN

 
DDustiNN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MI
Posts: 1,845
Send a message via Skype™ to DDustiNN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Kid View Post
Yeah dude! The guys over on www.challengertalk.com have a thread with your pic...making fun of Camaro owners.
Wow, the maturity level there is very high school (or even junior high). At least, the comments I could find after wading through the billion advertisements plastered all over the page...
__________________
DDustiNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:04 PM   #39
Dakota Kid

 
Dakota Kid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RJT/L99
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDustiNN View Post
Wow, the maturity level there is very high school (or even junior high). At least, the comments I could find after wading through the billion advertisements plastered all over the page...
Amen to that. That is the single WORST automotive forum I have visited.....period.
__________________
2SS/RJT/L99
Dakota Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:06 PM   #40
TitanTerry
 
TitanTerry's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2LT, RS, ABM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 112
I read most of these post but did not see a reference to the V6. Is 87 ok for it or should I up my octane?
__________________

~ It's not a car...
~ IT'S A CAMARO!
~


Ordered: 07/02/09
HOME - 9/25/09
TitanTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:07 PM   #41
Dakota Kid

 
Dakota Kid's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RJT/L99
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanTerry View Post
I read most of these post but did not see a reference to the V6. Is 87 ok for it or should I up my octane?
87 is fine for the V6.
__________________
2SS/RJT/L99
Dakota Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:08 PM   #42
Rikarus
I can't tpye!
 
Rikarus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RS/SS Victory Red
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 581
Curious to see hwat this does fo rthe LS3 keep us posted!
Rikarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:10 PM   #43
TitanTerry
 
TitanTerry's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 2LT, RS, ABM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Space Coast, Florida
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota Kid View Post
87 is fine for the V6.
Thank YOU Dakoda!
__________________

~ It's not a car...
~ IT'S A CAMARO!
~


Ordered: 07/02/09
HOME - 9/25/09
TitanTerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:20 PM   #44
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,912
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verio View Post
So, if a general person ever puts regular octane (87) in the car, they would have to have the ECM reset by the dealer?

I'm talking about Joe Shmoe on the street here, who has never been to C5 before. I think this still needs to be addressed by GM. Putting a lower octane fuel in my car shouldn't hinder it until action is performed by me... it should reset after a few good tanks.
This is correct. IF they even realize they have a problem. A lot of people feel the power that's still there and believe they are good to go. I think a lot of people here had the 'slows' and didn't realize it.

As I said before, I could feel power, just not speed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTAHVIT View Post
Well, at least we have some indirect confirmation that this is the right way to do it and there is no real risk...
Yup.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:42 PM   #45
khislop007
ZEUSS
 
khislop007's Avatar
 
Drives: Hard!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cayman Islands
Posts: 2,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by matteo View Post
why is this only an L99 problem? have no LS3s seen this?
I'm taking no chance! I just emailed my dealer to make sure they put 93 in my LS3 when they fill the tank.

It's also nice to know that it is as simple as just removing 2 fuses to reset the ECM if there is a problem. Hope GM sorts it out all the same.

Thx guys for the info. Scott, you just need to see if your tires are covered by warranty now!
__________________
khislop007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:45 PM   #46
jimpfromwv
 
jimpfromwv's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 camaro ss, 2010 camaro1ss
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: ripley,wv
Posts: 55
My LS3 had a full tank of 87 in it from the dealer but I've been running 93 since then. I just pulled the fuses so we will see if it helps in 3 or 4 hours.
The car has been 8.72@85.03 mph in the 1/8 so if this helps it sholud be a bad mofo!
jimpfromwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:54 PM   #47
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 531
PULL THE FUSES, pulled for one hour, with rolling start, in D (so in second gear) with Traction control ON, churped 2 to 3 AND 3 to 4 shift, had to let off, need longer road for other gears, before fuse pull did get 2 to 3 churp. You can feel smoother idle and MPG seams to be going UP, will watch the MPG for a few tanks, this is at 2000 miles and before oil change, probably do that tonight. So my L99 did benefit.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:01 PM   #48
Ject
aka Patrick
 
Ject's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS '04 Silverado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Derby Kansas
Posts: 3,097
Send a message via Yahoo to Ject
How is pulling the ECM fuses actually doing anything?
Lets it discharge or something ?
__________________
Current Modifications: Your average Bolt-ons & Suspension Upgrades
GForce Engineering: 9" Rear End, Strange Pro Iron Case w/Moser Nodular 3.70:1 Detroit locker, 3.5" Solid Drive Shaft
Ject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:02 PM   #49
Tran
Administrator
 
Tran's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro of course....
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NE baby
Posts: 5,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ject View Post
How is pulling the ECM fuses actually doing anything?
Lets it discharge or something ?
Please read: http://www.camaro5.com/?p=1942
__________________
>>> Visit our CAMARO BLOG <<<<
>>> Visit our CORVETTE BLOG <<<<
Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 05:03 PM   #50
Shardik2SS
How U Doin?
 
Drives: #21,644
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Californication
Posts: 24,566
This is great news and thanks to everyone on this forum who post helpful solutions to problems. I didn't realize there were so many L99 owners other than myself who thought the car felt sluggish. I just thought that maybe my expectations for the car were higher than they should have been. Will go home tonight and pull #5 & #20. Thanks again!
Shardik2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Camaro PCM Pin-out Description and Wire Colors (LS3 & L99) raptor Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 7 01-11-2014 02:38 PM
What kind of gas are you filling up with in your '10 Camaro? JewelZ 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 42 08-02-2009 09:31 AM
Check your Order here bvonscott Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 665 06-29-2009 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.