Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 06:25 PM   #52
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ject View Post
I guess what I ment was.. from a technical point of view. I am very analytically minded so I like to know major details of stuff. (possibly why im in the IT business lol)
Pulling the fuse will actually discharge the ECM? Thus making it a blank and have to re-learn.. that sound correct? That's what I am to assume after reading everything.
__________________
"...What IS true: We anticipated that this would happen - we are never finished - and yes, Ford DOES deserve to win now and then. To think that GM can come out with a car to make ford throw in the towel is simply foolhardy..." - fbodfather
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:26 PM   #53
Thrillz


 
Thrillz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Charger R/T / 2012 Dodge Ram
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSOOCH View Post
I'll try it on my LS3 tonight! With my pants on of course...

Dude your one funny person. That post of you in your garage had me laughing all day at work the following day. Guys at work thought i was on drugs or something laughing all day
Thrillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:30 PM   #54
Mosher
 
Mosher's Avatar
 
Drives: 1LT Cruze Summit White
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bedford
Posts: 708
Man... I think also Dealers should be warned to NOT put regular in the V8's period! Really good find.
Mosher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:32 PM   #55
tribone
Searchin' ....
 
tribone's Avatar
 
Drives: Powered by Bowtie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Camaroville
Posts: 6,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by radz282003 View Post
.......


Great pic', and thanks.

.............
No problem.
__________________

-Guillermo
My Pictures
tribone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:36 PM   #56
silverfox
 
silverfox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: portsmouth,va.
Posts: 502
I have no problems with my l99 since i had the procharger and arh installed. Getting 476whp and i don't care about the warranty.
silverfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:46 PM   #57
hot ss

 
hot ss's Avatar
 
Drives: aqua 2ss l99
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,217
paste your high tables into your low table, and never loan out your car when its almost out of gas.

is this a good time to poke fun at the 87 octane lovers that may be jumping on the "my L99 is slow" bandwagon!
__________________
May your exhaust note, sing in harmony with your blower.
hot ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:49 PM   #58
Yakory1ss
Can't Wait
 
Yakory1ss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1ss/rs cyber grey
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Yakima
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosher View Post
Man... I think also Dealers should be warned to NOT put regular in the V8's period! Really good find.
I totally agree. I think all dealers expecting camaro's to arrive should definitely get on the same page with this info. I'm going to make sure my dealer reads and understands this
Yakory1ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:50 PM   #59
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ject View Post
I guess what I ment was.. from a technical point of view. I am very analytically minded so I like to know major details of stuff. (possibly why im in the IT business lol)
Pulling the fuse will actually discharge the ECM? Thus making it a blank and have to re-learn.. that sound correct? That's what I am to assume after reading everything.
No. I think it sets the computer to factory defaults that were changed with the low octane gas.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 06:52 PM   #60
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,306
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
I already sent a note to my dealer saying IF they fill it, use the maximum possible grade! Else, I said don't fill it...Too bad here in CA we don't get better than 91 octane :(
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; ********; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:14 PM   #61
Info@PeddersUSA.com
 
Info@PeddersUSA.com's Avatar
 
Drives: 5th Gen Rental
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New England
Posts: 1,904
Pedders has a SS and drove it about 1500 miles. We had a new style ProCharger installed on it. However, the motor is missing about 25hp before and after the install. Not really sure if the average person would even feel 25hp, but it is missing. Software, of coarse was updated. We will be doing long tubes, complete exhaust, and an electric waterpump with a custom tune. Hopefully we will be able to find the 20-25hp loss.

thanks
mike
dms
Info@PeddersUSA.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:16 PM   #62
FunkyELF
 
Drives: 1999 Pontiac Firebird
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimpfromwv View Post
My LS3 had a full tank of 87 in it from the dealer but I've been running 93 since then. I just pulled the fuses so we will see if it helps in 3 or 4 hours.
The car has been 8.72@85.03 mph in the 1/8 so if this helps it sholud be a bad mofo!
Awaiting your results.
__________________
FunkyELF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:31 PM   #63
DDustiNN

 
DDustiNN's Avatar
 
Drives: Soon: 2016 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ject View Post
I guess what I ment was.. from a technical point of view. I am very analytically minded so I like to know major details of stuff. (possibly why im in the IT business lol)
Pulling the fuse will actually discharge the ECM? Thus making it a blank and have to re-learn.. that sound correct? That's what I am to assume after reading everything.
This is from another thread, and I posted it here but I think people are skipping over this since it's in a quote block, so I'll just paste it below:

Credit to wh0rsep0wer:
I tuned in HPTuners on my LS1 and if it is the same for an L99/LS3, this is what happens when you pull the fuses:

There are two tables values used for spark timing - high octane table and low octane table. If you use 93 octane from day one, your computer is using spark timing from the high octane table. If you got a tank of 87 from the dealer, the engine experienced premature detonation and the knock sensors went crazy, and told the computer to use the low octane timing table. What is supposed to happen is after a while of not seeing detonation from the knock sensors, the computer (ECU)tries the high octane spark timing table again. (This doesn't appear to be happening - THIS IS THE PROBLEM!!!!).

The values in the high octane and low octane tables are NON-VOLATILE MEMORY (meaning they are there even if you lose power -like when you do the fuse pull). These tables are usually adjusted when you get a custom tune, and burned into the non-volatile memory. So therefore if you get a custom tune YOU WILL NOT LOSE THESE "TUNED" VALUES with the fuse pull.

What WILL happen with the fuse pull is your volatile memory will be reset. This includes long term + short term fuel trims, knock retard, etc... but what is important in this case is the little parameter that determines which spark table to use will reset...meaning if you were running from the low octane tables before (safe + slow mode), after the fuse pull it will force the computer to try the high octane table again (super giggle fun happy rockin' mode).

However it is important to note that you shouldn't need to try the fuse pull if you've only used high octane gas since getting a custom tune, because burning the tune to the ECU resets all volatile memory. This is why it will go through the idle re-learn process and may run a little weird for the first 20 minutes or so after burning a tune or pulling the fuses.

Pulling the fuses is no different from recovering from a dead battery. The only reason I could see that it would be a problem to pull the fuses is if GM wanted to run diagnostics on the cars with the problem and needed to see the volatile values.
DDustiNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:34 PM   #64
mlee
Charter Circle Member
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 27,210
Damn this is good stuff PQ... Congrats to everyone with fast cars now.

Maybe if you had let your dealer keep the old wheels and tires he would have put 93 in the tank...

Sooooo what would happen to someone with a tune... would it wipe out everything. Could be a good fix if you didn't want to blow your warranty and needed work done.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:42 PM   #65
007s 'Vert
Formerly Lil'BlueCoupe
 
007s 'Vert's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2LT/RS Vert, Summit White
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vegas Baby!!!!!!!!
Posts: 1,769
Talking

I already knew about this trick, from what I understand this has been a long standing big secret about cars with computers. I tried this on my avalanche......unhook the battery(either post doesn't matter) turn the ignition key on and let it sit for at least an hour, turn the ignition back off, hook the battery back up and Whala! it actually works. Like any computer it has capacitors that hold a charge like that little lithium button battery you find on a mother board of a PC, whe the car battery is unhooked the computer has residual energy stored up, by turning on the ignition it helps dischsrge the computer and thus resetting the learning cycle that the computer has to go through.
Another thing to note that is very important, if you are to ever need to jump start someones car with yours, then make sure that your car is NOT on or running!, make sure the keys are out of the ignition! like any computer the one in your car can can collect information from the other car and whatever may be wrong with that car will be misconstrued as a problem with your car. If their car wont start straight from your battery then there is a whole lot more wrong with their car than just a bad battery.
007s 'Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:51 PM   #66
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
Maybe if you had let your dealer keep the old wheels and tires he would have put 93 in the tank...
I spit coffee.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:51 PM   #67
Ject
aka Patrick
 
Ject's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS '04 Silverado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Derby Kansas
Posts: 3,072
Send a message via Yahoo to Ject
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDustiNN View Post
This is from another thread, and I posted it here but I think people are skipping over this since it's in a quote block, so I'll just paste it below:

Credit to wh0rsep0wer:
I tuned in HPTuners on my LS1 and if it is the same for an L99/LS3, this is what happens when you pull the fuses:

There are two tables values used for spark timing - high octane table and low octane table. If you use 93 octane from day one, your computer is using spark timing from the high octane table. If you got a tank of 87 from the dealer, the engine experienced premature detonation and the knock sensors went crazy, and told the computer to use the low octane timing table. What is supposed to happen is after a while of not seeing detonation from the knock sensors, the computer (ECU)tries the high octane spark timing table again. (This doesn't appear to be happening - THIS IS THE PROBLEM!!!!).

The values in the high octane and low octane tables are NON-VOLATILE MEMORY (meaning they are there even if you lose power -like when you do the fuse pull). These tables are usually adjusted when you get a custom tune, and burned into the non-volatile memory. So therefore if you get a custom tune YOU WILL NOT LOSE THESE "TUNED" VALUES with the fuse pull.

What WILL happen with the fuse pull is your volatile memory will be reset. This includes long term + short term fuel trims, knock retard, etc... but what is important in this case is the little parameter that determines which spark table to use will reset...meaning if you were running from the low octane tables before (safe + slow mode), after the fuse pull it will force the computer to try the high octane table again (super giggle fun happy rockin' mode).

However it is important to note that you shouldn't need to try the fuse pull if you've only used high octane gas since getting a custom tune, because burning the tune to the ECU resets all volatile memory. This is why it will go through the idle re-learn process and may run a little weird for the first 20 minutes or so after burning a tune or pulling the fuses.

Pulling the fuses is no different from recovering from a dead battery. The only reason I could see that it would be a problem to pull the fuses is if GM wanted to run diagnostics on the cars with the problem and needed to see the volatile values.
Thank you very much, that's exactly what kind of detail I was looking for!
__________________
Current Modifications: Your average Bolt-ons & Suspension Upgrades
GForce Engineering: 9" Rear End, Strange Pro Iron Case w/Moser Nodular 3.70:1 Detroit locker, 3.5" Solid Drive Shaft
Ject is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 07:55 PM   #68
Verio
Taking it 1 day at a time
 
Verio's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2SS/RS Auto
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 751
Send a message via MSN to Verio
Well, let it sit for 1.5 hours, didn't notice any difference. Then again, wife was in the car with me... and she said it seemed faster. Either mine is operating as it should, or it needs to sit longer. Pulled em again for the rest of the night... we'll see in the mornin
__________________
Order#: NJWGTF
1100, Preliminary order accepted 04/27/2009
6000, Delivered to the customer 07/23/2009 - 3 Months (worth the wait!!)
Verio is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Camaro PCM Pin-out Description and Wire Colors (LS3 & L99) raptor Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 13 11-14-2015 05:07 AM
What kind of gas are you filling up with in your '10 Camaro? JewelZ 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 42 08-02-2009 10:31 AM
Check your Order here bvonscott Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 665 06-29-2009 02:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.