Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2009, 07:39 PM   #1
Gen5SSRS
 
Gen5SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 1SS RS,
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 52
L99 / LS3 Fuse Mod. Why Not Try it?

After reading the fuse mod threads on resetting the ECM's for the L99, and seeing the improvement. I wondered if the same affect may apply to the LS3? I just completed my pain staking 1500 mile break-in and was working the ECM out of granny mode. After reading the threads I decided to try removing the #5 and #20 fuses for about an hour. I got in and HOLY $#@& here we go!!! We're wide awake now! The car probably would have come around on its own, but no waiting now. I am not suggesting anyone try this, but it worked for me. I'm not saying, I'm just saying. If you're coming out of a break-in period, might be worth a shot.
__________________
Gen5SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:49 PM   #2
Van
 
Van's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 EVO MR - 390 @ wheels
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 384
Are you sure it wasn't a sort of placebo effect?
__________________
2010 2SS/RS 6spd manual -- Victory Red / Black Leather
1100, Preliminary order accepted 7/27/09
2000, Order accepted by GM 8/13/09
3000, Order accepted by production control 8/18/2009 TPW 9/07/2009
3300, Order scheduled for production 8/24/2009
3400, Order broadcast 9/1/2009
3800, Order produced 9/11/2009
4200, Shipped 9/11/2009
5000, Delivered to the dealer
Van is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:50 PM   #3
patriotpa
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 02 Silverado, 09 Vue, 10 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tired of apologizing when we should be kickin' butt!
Posts: 1,966
I don't see how it could possibly hurt anything, so why not?
patriotpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:03 PM   #4
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
I wonder if I would benefit from this when I already have a custom tune.....
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:11 PM   #5
Gen5SSRS
 
Gen5SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 1SS RS,
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 52
Are you sure it wasn't a sort of placebo effect?

Yep, I didn't time the car, but I know my cars. It definately woke it up. Other threads have reported their cars "waking up", I just shortened the process. Note: I may have gotten the same result by horse beating it a few runs like my 4th gen SS, but I didn't have to on this one. I have rolled on the accelerating a few time over the last 100 miles or so with some what dis-appointing results. I rolled on the accelerator after the reset, and the car threw me right back in the seat like it should. Anyway, like I said. It may not work for anyone elses LS3. But it worked for me. I wouldn't have even tried it if I felt my car was running up to par.
__________________
Gen5SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:20 PM   #6
broncosman
 
broncosman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 310
Send a message via Skype™ to broncosman
I'm at 900 miles now... should be ok for me to do it right? (auto 2SS) and start getting on her a LOT more?
__________________

2SS/RS with painted Rally Stripes
http://www.h-towncamaroclub.com/index.php
broncosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:27 PM   #7
Gen5SSRS
 
Gen5SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 1SS RS,
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 52
I would only try this if you're finished with your break-in and unhappy with the power output. The same result could probably be acheived by running the car hard for a few passes. I was more curious to see if resetting the ECM would result in the ability to "quick learn" the driver learning portion of the ECM. That appears to be the Result, soooo, I am happy.
__________________
Gen5SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:08 PM   #8
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
I was hoping mine would wake up after my break in period. Like yourself I went by the book. Literally. Wasn't easy. With every passing Mustang and Bonnies big mouth, it was really hard. When I made it to 1500 I was sorely disapponted. Then after almost 6000 miles, I was at the end of my rope. Good thing I tried this. Again. The evidence speaks for it's self.

Interesting yours is an LS3. There hasn't really been a cry about an LS3 with 'the slows'.

I wonder if it would work in conjunction with a tune?
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:12 PM   #9
DDustiNN

 
DDustiNN's Avatar
 
Drives: Soon: 2016 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen5SSRS View Post
After reading the fuse mod threads on resetting the ECM's for the L99, and seeing the improvement. I wondered if the same affect may apply to the LS3? I just completed my pain staking 1500 mile break-in and was working the ECM out of granny mode. After reading the threads I decided to try removing the #5 and #20 fuses for about an hour. I got in and HOLY $#@& here we go!!! We're wide awake now! The car probably would have come around on its own, but no waiting now. I am not suggesting anyone try this, but it worked for me. I'm not saying, I'm just saying. If you're coming out of a break-in period, might be worth a shot.
Hmm, interesting...
DDustiNN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 10:13 PM   #10
JTinFL
 
JTinFL's Avatar
 
Drives: Fast ones
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 310
What exactly do the fuses control? We should dyno it!!
JTinFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:27 PM   #11
LS 1st gen
Kept the Faith.
 
LS 1st gen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 313
Send a message via AIM to LS 1st gen
I don't know that pulling a couple of fuses really qualifies as a "mod" but it could be a worth a shot. As far as I have read here, the only reason this is working is that for some reason the PCM's are not properly switching between the low an high octane tables, so really we're just compensating for that.

All that being said, I think I'll pull some fuses overnight
__________________
GORDON 2010 Camaro # 13694 Victory Red 2SS manual | White rally Stripes | Polished Wheels | Rotofab CAI| MGW Shifter| Kooks LT's| Magnaflow X-pipe|FM 40 Delta Flows | Elite Tunnel Brace | "Ginger"
LS 1st gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:13 AM   #12
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
I am wondering if it will work with a tune also pq. I guess I can try it and let everyone know.....
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:46 AM   #13
PQ
Booooosted.
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Supercharged SS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,704
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAkrish View Post
I am wondering if it will work with a tune also pq. I guess I can try it and let everyone know.....
How was yours running before you got it tuned? If it was running good you may not notice it anyway. If not, it would be cool to see you get an even bigger boost.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:56 AM   #14
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
Mine was running real good b4 the tune and amazing after the tune. I also did my tb porting b4 I got the tune. Just amazing! I might not even mess with it. I don't want to lose the tune, if that's even possible?
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 09:38 AM   #15
gtbaldini
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 153
If you have a custom tune and are happy I wouldn't try this. It may reset the computer and your out a custom tune.
gtbaldini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 10:25 AM   #16
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAkrish View Post
I am wondering if it will work with a tune also pq. I guess I can try it and let everyone know.....
It'd seem to me that the tune might already compansate for this I'm sure it wouldn't hurt to try though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAkrish View Post
Mine was running real good b4 the tune and amazing after the tune. I also did my tb porting b4 I got the tune. Just amazing! I might not even mess with it. I don't want to lose the tune, if that's even possible?
I can't speak for the new PCMs, but the ones that were used with the LS1 cars wouldn't simply default to the OEM tune, because it's my understanding one is actually writing over the OEM tune and the PCM doesn't know the otherwise. I'd disconnect my battery for nights at a time and plug it back in and it was still fine. I'd remove PCM fuses and it was still fine. (FWIW - I could tell the custom tune was in there because I had my idle RPM raised from like 550 to 750, because of my converter, and it remained the same before and after.) That's just what happened to me though, and that wasn't with the current model PCMs...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtbaldini View Post
If you have a custom tune and are happy I wouldn't try this. It may reset the computer and your out a custom tune.
See above...
__________________
"...What IS true: We anticipated that this would happen - we are never finished - and yes, Ford DOES deserve to win now and then. To think that GM can come out with a car to make ford throw in the towel is simply foolhardy..." - fbodfather
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 10:33 AM   #17
monza66mo
Driving daily
 
monza66mo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS L99 SIM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 75
All the buzz about this so I figured why not try it. I pulled mine last night. No change in my car at all this morning. None. Zero. Zip. Nada. My L99 launched like a rocket from day one so I didn't expect anything.
__________________
Art in Missouri
2SS/RS (delivered 7/29 vin 123496)

Last edited by monza66mo; 08-25-2009 at 11:51 AM.
monza66mo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse Pull: Low Octane Fuel Fix For L99 and LS3. Reset Fuel Map for High Octane Fuel. radz28 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 2752 02-02-2016 10:00 AM
LS3 engine specifications Tran Wiki 3 10-06-2010 11:56 PM
LS3 vs L99? SGOS252382 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 34 09-18-2010 04:55 PM
Check your Order here bvonscott Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 665 06-29-2009 02:00 PM
L99 engine specifications Tran Wiki 0 10-19-2008 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.