Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-29-2009, 04:34 PM   #1
kozzmo49
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss rs
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: arizona
Posts: 407
cam installation

im looking to get the stage 1 cam from ADM Performance. Does anyone know what a cam installation entails? and how long it takes?
kozzmo49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:01 PM   #2
radz28
Petro-sexual
 
radz28's Avatar
 
Drives: Ultra-Grin
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Crapramento, Crapifornia
Posts: 13,061
Probably take an experienced back-yard guy a good weekend and special tools. Otherwise, a shop will probably charge a good 8 hours for the install - $800? You're going to probably want to upgrade springs too.
__________________
05 Hummer H2 SUV on OEM Air Ride
Forged 11.4:1 408 LQ4 (K1 crank & rods; Mahle pistons)/CPP LS3 CNC heads/BTR Stage IV LS3 cam/home ported L92 intake manifold/ported 90mm TB/custom Volant CAI/mid-length headers/AFE dual 3" CB/Corvette Servo/el cheapo lift/Cognito UCAs/Sphon poly adjustable TA/Sphon adjustable rear LCAs/e'fan conversion/DirtyMax radiator/Moroso catchcan/HPTuners/HID conversion/LED exterior lighting/LED interior accents/Autometer Cobalts/AEM WBPioneer AVH-5600BHS/Pioneer GM-9601/2-Pioneer TS-W310D4s/Obcon Labyrinth dual-12 box/lots of other little stuff
radz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:17 PM   #3
o2camaross
 
o2camaross's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS & 04 silvy
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Driving
Posts: 362
It's really not hard at all. U can prolly keep ur stock springs if ur goin with the stage 1 cam bc there isn't much difference in lift.
o2camaross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:19 PM   #4
kozzmo49
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss rs
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: arizona
Posts: 407
yea they said i wouldnt need to change the springs.
kozzmo49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:34 PM   #5
Ringo
Politically incorrect
 
Ringo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Soggy Seattle
Posts: 782
What's the gain in a stage 1 cam?
__________________
2SS/RS M6 IO interior. Built 8/14/09. Delivered 9/9/09.

Ringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:41 PM   #6
rodimus prime
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Cargo van.
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metal Metal Land
Posts: 1,247
Seriously I would change the springs reguardless of the cam you put in. A tiny bit of valve float will cost you more than the $400 for decent springs. Oh, might as well throw in some hardened pushrods to.

If you havent done a cam swap before or are not real experianced with working on cars, do youself a favor and bring it somewhere, or get a buddy who knows what hes doing. Its easy cheesy after the first time, just like sex.
rodimus prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:02 PM   #7
ADM PERFORMANCE

 
Drives: 2016 CAMARO SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DfW - Texas
Posts: 4,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringo View Post
What's the gain in a stage 1 cam?


DYNO 1 = Completely stock(Tune and all) with 14 miles on it.
DYNO 9 = Completely stock(Stock Tune) with ADM Stage 1 cam.
DYNO 11= Completely stock(Stock tune) with ADM Stage 1 cam
and ADM Offroad downpipes.
DYNO 17= Completey stock(Stock tune) with ADM Stage 1 cam and
Headers
ADM PERFORMANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:11 PM   #8
camaro1

 
camaro1's Avatar
 
Drives: 550+RWHP 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,588
shouldnt take more than a few hours,
__________________
415ci stroker, TVS 2300 Magnacharger, cnc heads, cam, yank ss3200 converter, Kooks long tubes, Bwoody true cold air kit, ZL1 Pump, magnaflow 3" cat-back, lowering springs,BMR control arms and tie rod bars, 3.73 gears, diff mounts, RX can, ADM fuel controller
camaro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 07:23 PM   #9
o2camaross
 
o2camaross's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS & 04 silvy
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Driving
Posts: 362
Honstly if ur gonna go through with it go bigger than that stage 1 cam unless ur goal is most hp without a tune. You'll thank urself later
o2camaross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:04 PM   #10
Bungalowbandit
 
Bungalowbandit's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 black 2ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rockland County
Posts: 110
can any one post a step by step link 2 an install
Bungalowbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:12 PM   #11
mike@newera

 
mike@newera's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 525
That depends on if it is the LS3 or the L99, quite a few differences there.
mike@newera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:14 PM   #12
Bungalowbandit
 
Bungalowbandit's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 black 2ss/rs camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rockland County
Posts: 110
ls3
Bungalowbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:31 PM   #13
chromepusher
 
chromepusher's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RS/SS B on B
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 22
I checked Shopkey for some labor times for cam R&R. Nothing listed yet for the 2010 but a Corvette with LS3 takes 22.5 hours and an Avalanche with an LS engine takes 25 hours. An 02 Camaro takes 15.5 hours. These are the labor times many shops refer to when quoting a job.
chromepusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:38 PM   #14
tandtperformance
 
tandtperformance's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2011 PACE CAR 2012 ZL1
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: frederick
Posts: 968
Send a message via Yahoo to tandtperformance
if you call me i will tell you everything you need to do i just got done with mine and will be starting in the am when my tune guy gets there i can tell you i have a auto shop and it takes longer and is alot more to it than what i have seen alot of people on here make it out to be so pm me and i will give you my number
ps you will need to get a/c sucked out before you start

also if your new cam is a 3 bolt then you will need to get and top gear for and ls7 vette because your ls3 stock cam has a single bolt gear

Last edited by tandtperformance; 08-29-2009 at 08:43 PM. Reason: fixing
tandtperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LS3 CAM AND HEADERS DYNO ADM PERFORMANCE Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 53 02-13-2016 06:15 PM
Cam basics CamaroSpike23 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 76 11-25-2015 11:42 AM
Cam Vs. Cam Vs. Cam My First Camaro! Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 12 12-11-2010 01:54 AM
Camshaft Basics Milk 1027 Wiki 1 12-09-2009 12:00 AM
Help me find a Cam want you? jpsuperman81 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 6 07-31-2009 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.