Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Flowmaster Exhaust
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing

Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing Discussions on mechanical maintenance and servicing of your Camaro

Old 09-05-2009, 11:43 AM   #1
Maclain

Drives: 2LT
Break-In revisited.... auto trans?

Hiya folks,

I'm not only new to this forum, I'm new to Camaros, and new to fast cars in general. I've owned and driven trucks as my daily vehicles, but I used to race motorcycles (track "road-raced" V-twin sportbikes) back when I was younger, 30 pounds lighter, and less concerned for my physical health. A couple of my family members own Ram Air Trans Ams (they call 'em Ram-Ams?), and they got me interested in replacing my aging truck with a Fun Machine.

I have Seen The Light with the '10 Camaro. After weeks of reading, watching, poking, squeezing, and sniffing at 5 different dealerships, I am going to order a 2LT with an auto transmission, and I am as excited as a teenager with a pocket full of cash in a house of ill-repute (to put it nicely for this forum).

I have found a few threads here about break-in -- which is how I found the Motoman site -- including Darin Morgan's thread, and he certainly seems to know his stuff. I am a bit hesitant to be quite that hard on my new engine, but then again I’m just not sure. I am sticking with dinosaur oil for at least the first 5k miles, but since I'm not a mechanic, I don't know who to believe about the Motoman vs. owners manual break-in process. My 2LT will be my main vehicle, and I need it to last, but of course I want it to have power.