Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Old 09-07-2009, 06:26 PM   #1
general23cmp

Drives: 2010 RS SS
Reprogramming without a dyno

I know it can be done, but are the results good? I don't have a dyno, nor will ever have one, but can get HP Tuners and a laptop. Is it software worth getting to reprogram a car for upgrades if I have no dyno? Can I drive it around and log data and eventually have a very good tune (probably need a wideband, right?)?

No need wasting money on software that will not get me anything better than stock. I know I can learn to use the software with time....I'm an engineer, gearhead, and have read numerous books/forums on ECU programming. I just havent done it yet.

Let's not consider that I would be able to change my gears, speed limits, and other paramters like that....I'm talking strictly about engine performance.

Thanks...
general23cmp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 11:48 PM   #2
khislop007
ZEUSS

Drives: Hard!
We don't have a dyno here in Cayman yet but hopefully soon.
Old 09-20-2009, 03:26 PM   #3
RickyTheStorm

Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS,04 Colorado,06 ZX6R
I would like to know this myself

IOM - 2SS/RS - Auto - IAP - Sunroof - Ordered 10/13 (#7 at dealer)
3000(accepted to production ): 4/19/09
3300 (scheduled for prod ): 5/11/09
3400 (broadcast ): 5/16/09
3800 (produced ): 5/22/09
4150 (invoiced ): 6/01/09
4200 (shipped ): 6/01/09
5000 (at dealer ): 6/12/09
6000 (delivery to me ): 6/12/09
RickyTheStorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 02:04 PM   #4
Darnell

Drives: 11 CTS-V Coupe, 04 Lightning