Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2009, 11:57 AM   #1
E85LSX
 
E85LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 244
Engine Reduced Power- After Cam Install

So after fireing her up with the new cam she was running great then when I reved the engine it said "Engine Reduced Power" on the dash. Has anybody seen this before?

I am going to try a few different things like disconecting the battery and maybe reflashing the computer. . .
__________________
Mods: TVS2300, 3.2 pulley, American Racing Headers, Custom Cam, Coil Overs, Tuned for E85, 610RWHP* 570RWTQ
Follow me on Twitter
www.e85lsx.com

E85LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
THUMPER20X
GM fix my PAINT U suck!
 
THUMPER20X's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 1SS/RS 6Spd
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Great Red North
Posts: 1,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by E85LSX View Post
So after fireing her up with the new cam she was running great then when I reved the engine it said "Engine Reduced Power" on the dash. Has anybody seen this before?

I am going to try a few different things like disconecting the battery and maybe reflashing the computer. . .
If I recall its the computer trying to reduce output because its seeing something really bad. You better get it checked. Its like a self preservation mode in the factory programming.
__________________
THUMPER20X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:30 PM   #3
E85LSX
 
E85LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 244
Still not sure why this message was displayed. It flashed when I was revving the engine in neutral, I then shut the car off, disconnected the battery and when I restarted it it was gone.

I did have a DTC P0106 which is for the MAP. With my new cam the vacuum is low at idle which caused this CEL to come on. I tuned it out and now have no problems at all. I think the reduced engine power could have had something to do with this code but I'm not sure.

I'll update this thread if it happens again. . .
__________________
Mods: TVS2300, 3.2 pulley, American Racing Headers, Custom Cam, Coil Overs, Tuned for E85, 610RWHP* 570RWTQ
Follow me on Twitter
www.e85lsx.com

E85LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 11:46 AM   #4
Matt TuneTime

 
Drives: 2008 G8 gt / 2010 Camaro L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 198
Get it tuned ... must be a choppy cam ?
Matt TuneTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:26 PM   #5
BADBLACKSS
Xtreme Horsepower
 
BADBLACKSS's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 25
Sounds like a tuning issue
BADBLACKSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 06:58 PM   #6
E85LSX
 
E85LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 244
The problem is solved. The P0106 will throw the car into limp mode. If you guys are tuning in a big cam you may need to tune this code out. You may also have a random misfire code at idle, I had to tune my misfire tables to keep her from throwing the P0300 at idle.
__________________
Mods: TVS2300, 3.2 pulley, American Racing Headers, Custom Cam, Coil Overs, Tuned for E85, 610RWHP* 570RWTQ
Follow me on Twitter
www.e85lsx.com

E85LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:09 PM   #7
boostedyards86
 
boostedyards86's Avatar
 
Drives: Cummins 3500
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pgh PA
Posts: 601
must be a serious cam.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS-758rwhp, 664rwtq STOCK BOTTOM END!!! 10.52@134mph 1.63 sixty foot.... 93OCTANE!

06 Cummins- 466whp 940wtq EFI LIVe
boostedyards86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 02:50 PM   #8
fuffl
 
Drives: #3124!!!
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 130
Quote:
If you guys are tuning in a big cam you may need to tune this code out. You may also have a random misfire code at idle, I had to tune my misfire tables to keep her from throwing the P0300 at idle.
Did you have to do anything else to tune out the problems with low vaccum? I'm having the same problem with my new cam, the MAP is reading 100 at idle. Currently it actually seems to be misfiring, but I'd be greatly encouraged if I could just adjust the misfire tables. Any help would be greatly appreciated. So far I've checked:

-Pushrod length
-Cam degree and install
-Rocker tightness
-coil packs being on the wrong side
fuffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 08:24 AM   #9
E85LSX
 
E85LSX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuffl View Post
Did you have to do anything else to tune out the problems with low vaccum? I'm having the same problem with my new cam, the MAP is reading 100 at idle. Currently it actually seems to be misfiring, but I'd be greatly encouraged if I could just adjust the misfire tables. Any help would be greatly appreciated. So far I've checked:

-Pushrod length
-Cam degree and install
-Rocker tightness
-coil packs being on the wrong side
I don't think your map should be reading 100 at idle, that is atmospheric pressure, even with a huge cam there should be some vacuum. If I remember correctly my map is 60 at idle, I think it was 30 stock. You need to check out that map sensor, maybe it needs to be reset or somthing. Does the reading ever change or is it stuck on 100?

After you figure the map situation out you will most likely have to adjust the misfire tables. I would only adjust the idle portion of the tables and I would just keep making it less sensitive little by little until you don't throw the code. This way you will still have real misfire detection.
__________________
Mods: TVS2300, 3.2 pulley, American Racing Headers, Custom Cam, Coil Overs, Tuned for E85, 610RWHP* 570RWTQ
Follow me on Twitter
www.e85lsx.com

E85LSX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 03:30 PM   #10
EAkrish
Scout Sniping
 
EAkrish's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Ford F150 Lariat SuperCrew
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to EAkrish
HUM, I wonder if I cam my camaro will the warranty still be intact if i blow the motor
__________________
Eric
Previous Car:1SS/CGM 6MT w/ Sunroof & FACTORY BLUETOOTH!!!: New Era OTR, Steeda Short Shifter, Ported TB, Stg 2 ported intake manifold, Fasterproms, Poor man down pipes, MBRP 3" Exhaust!!!


Now I drive a F150 Supercrew
EAkrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 03:45 PM   #11
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
The MAP should not be 100kpa at idle. It should be 100kpa with the engine off & key on.

Check you MAP wiring and make sure it is plugged in. Also make sure your MAP is seated fully into the intake.

Sometimes just deleting the code does not work, you must delete the P0106 test in the ECM.

Give me a call and send me a scan if you want.

586-790-2970
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #12
CrazyTurbo98TA
 
Drives: 1998 WS6 25.2 Twin Turbo
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: mi
Posts: 35
kirk pm sent
CrazyTurbo98TA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 06:18 PM   #13
fuffl
 
Drives: #3124!!!
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 130
MAP wasn't seated. Solved that one.

...now for the new one. haha.

Now that I've got the tune nailed, it purrs (or shakes violently) like a kitten. Problem is with the rockers. I keep snapping off Intake rockers. Correctly installed, but it's not the bearing breaking. Harland Sharp rockers, so the quality isn't suspect. Did you switch valve seals when you did the spring swap? I've never had to do that before but that's the only thing I can think of that would be causing enough resistance to break them.
fuffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 06:22 PM   #14
playcorn99
 
Drives: 2010 2SS CAMARO V8 6.2L
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Posts: 2
Engine Reduced Power

i am getting this same error, but i dont have any major mods done. I have a new exhaust put in, cut out from the resignators on back. straight pipes to flow master mufflers. I have a k&n intake and a jet mass flow air sensor. i've been riding around for months and now i get this engine reduced power light while driving. the car starts to shake and gets weak, and so i pull over to turn the car off. after about 5 minutes i start her back up and its fine, but leaving the check engine light on. i took it to the dealer and they told me to take my throttle body spacer off and they tightened a wire leading to somewhere in the throttle body. so they cleared the light. few days later it happened again. so i park my car at home. came out later and the engine light had cleared itself. what do you guys think i should do? get an auto programmer?
playcorn99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 06:36 PM   #15
DSteck
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Corvette Z06
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 590
Throw the JET MAF in the trash, because they are worthless on any cartridge MAF equipped car (like a 2010 Camaro SS). That stupid MAF is part of why you're getting the code. Other than that, it's P0068 criteria tripping the reduced engine power because of absolute airflow limits, along with airflow and MAP delta limits.
DSteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 03:52 PM   #16
Madmatt29
 
Drives: 69 camaro & 2011 camaro
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuffl View Post
MAP wasn't seated. Solved that one.

...now for the new one. haha.

Now that I've got the tune nailed, it purrs (or shakes violently) like a kitten. Problem is with the rockers. I keep snapping off Intake rockers. Correctly installed, but it's not the bearing breaking. Harland Sharp rockers, so the quality isn't suspect. Did you switch valve seals when you did the spring swap? I've never had to do that before but that's the only thing I can think of that would be causing enough resistance to break them.
You might want to check your pushrods length.
Madmatt29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:31 AM   #17
treedoc2000
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Midland
Posts: 79
Im not sure about the new camaro, but I had the same problem on my 2001 Z06 vette. After a cam install the rockers started falling apart one by one. After close inspection, we found that we forgot to remove the washer type spacer under a few of the rockers because most of them stuck to the rocker inside. But a few stuck to the head. Just a thought
treedoc2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Supercharger / Turbocharger Results (INFO) Thread radz28 Forced Induction - V8 231 07-10-2014 05:42 PM
Anybody Spray'n their SS yet - nitrous ? WeeZee Forced Induction - V8 37 12-29-2012 09:56 PM
Camaro ls3 news...true or false? Dark Knight Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 74 06-05-2008 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.