Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
blackSSRS
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 541
need help with wiring switch for footwell lighting

hey guys, just wired some footwell lights and am going to hook them up to a switch. i researched a bit and found the thread on how to hook them up to a 3 position on/off/on toggle but am looking for something a little different.
I'm looking to use a blue l.e.d. rocker switch with just on and off position. i want to mount this switch in a visible location because it looks better but the back of the switch has a power, load, ground connection... so how do i wire it to make my footwells come on with the dome light in the off position whenever i open the door or turn the dome light on using its switch. i want the on position that makes the little blue light on the switch light up to make just the footwells only come on when i want. basically the on/off/on set up but without the off completely part. either just on with dome light or only footwells on when i flick the switch on. thanks guys sorry i'm new to wiring.
blackSSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:58 AM   #2
blackSSRS
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 541
blackSSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:30 AM   #3
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,606
What you wrote is somewhat confusing but I'll take a stab.

You want the footwell lights to be in sync with the dome light but you also want to have manual control over them (so they can be on without the dome), is this correct? If this is the case, you''ll need that 3-way switch (on-off-on).
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:32 AM   #4
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
You can't have an on/on switch. You would need to use a 5-pin relay set up to have what you are asking. Why not just do the on/off/on switch? The DIY for it is really well done.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:32 AM   #5
blackSSRS
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 541
yep, ya sorry it does seem confusing. i just want an on/off rocker switch. off lets footwells work with the dome light, on turns footwells only on..
but i don't think its possible but i'm not sure, i'm really clueless when it comes to wiring
blackSSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:36 AM   #6
blackSSRS
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 541
Thanks Stieger, ya i had a feeling what i want is hard to do if even possible. i did the on/off/on switch and have it mounted hidden under the dash below the fuse box. i love where it is and how it works. I was mainly wanting the rocker switch with the blue l.e.d. set up because it would just add another button and look cool. but the DIY way was very helpful and works great!! may have to just leave it like this.

thanks again guys!
blackSSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:36 AM   #7
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackSSRS View Post
yep, ya sorry it does seem confusing. i just want an on/off rocker switch. off lets footwells work with the dome light, on turns footwells only on..
but i don't think its possible but i'm not sure, i'm really clueless when it comes to wiring
Not sure it's possible.
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:37 AM   #8
2SSRS@Gen5diy
Salt & Pepper 2014 Z/28

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 11,625
Here you go.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:43 AM   #9
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSRS View Post
Here you go.
This is a much easier way than doing it with a relay. I didn't think to use diodes.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:44 AM   #10
nyrfan
Let's go Rangers!
 
nyrfan's Avatar
 
Drives: 13' AGM 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSRS View Post
Here you go.
interesting. Is there a particular diode to use (sorry I am ignorant when it comes to Diodes)?
__________________
Soprano 4/1/00-6/14/11, Gone but NEVER forgotten!
FSP tuned: 377/389
nyrfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:50 AM   #11
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyrfan View Post
interesting. Is there a particular diode to use (sorry I am ignorant when it comes to Diodes)?
shouldn't be. Diodes are basically just one way valves for electricity.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:51 AM   #12
2SSRS@Gen5diy
Salt & Pepper 2014 Z/28

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 11,625
Look for a 12volt and 4-6 amps you can go smaller but that is what i use for the RS headlight harness.
__________________
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 12:01 PM   #13
blackSSRS
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 541
2SSRS you the man, thanks!! gonna save this because i want to add cup holder l.e.d.'s with the cover plate and i'm gonna mount the rocker switch on the cover plate so waiting till i do cup holder lights until i mount the switch on them.
thanks again guys! this site is amazing
blackSSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 12:01 PM   #14
2SSRS@Gen5diy
Salt & Pepper 2014 Z/28

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 11,625
Here are 3 diodes.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:13 PM   #15
gutterball
 
gutterball's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LS M6 Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Britain, Ct
Posts: 684
Send a message via AIM to gutterball
Blackss - I see 2ssrs has the right hookup,use 1N4001 for the Diodes , they are cheap and you should be able to get them from Radioshack, You proberly don't need the diodes, but it prevents one 12V from getting into the other 12V circuit. I made a schematic for you

Last edited by gutterball; 02-17-2013 at 07:42 PM.
gutterball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 01:53 PM   #16
gutterball
 
gutterball's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LS M6 Supercharged
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New Britain, Ct
Posts: 684
Send a message via AIM to gutterball
blackssrs just a footnote, the 4001 diodes are good for 1 amp, that should be good enough, but to play it safe, when you go to RadioShack , tell them to you want a 2 Amp diode, I'm pretty sure your lights won't don't draw more than that.
gutterball is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:02 AM   #17
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,736
Damn, just found this. I got several cold cathode tubes, now I know how to control them under the dash. Thanks guys. I already put 2 tubes under the rear deck in the trunk, I just soldered the leads directly to the trunk light fixture. Works great and looks awesome. I did this while I was installing the rear speakers so I could route the wires such that they are mostly hidden. I used double side tape to mount the inverters. I am going to install Focal speakers at some point and will move the inverters to the top of the rear deck but under the trim panel so they are hidden as well. Then the wire will come out of one of the existing holes in the rear deck to the lights, no excess wire showing.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S Varad undercar & suspension led lighting kits. urr2slo Local Marketplace 4 05-14-2012 04:16 PM
CEL - P1682 PSU SS Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 4 09-29-2011 07:27 PM
Need help wiring an AAC LED FLUSH switch Strungoutesp Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 12 05-20-2011 04:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.