Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vitesse Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2009, 10:27 AM   #1
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,449
DIY - AeroForce Interceptor Gauge Install

(temporary while A-Pillar Single Gauge Pod is available) of an AeroForce Interceptor gauge

Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 313
Size:  49.7 KB

Name:  012.JPG
Views: 342
Size:  52.4 KB
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:57 AM   #2
brandotron
I am the internets.
 
brandotron's Avatar
 
Drives: dangerously
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 12,719
The interceptor is a rad little gauge. I've thought about it for my LS1. It would be nice to know my trans temp.
__________________
brandotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 05:10 PM   #3
B.Buster
 
B.Buster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 AquaBlue 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 344
Love the gauge (have one) but cheesey instal IMO. Isn't there any better place for a 2 1/8 gauge ?
B.Buster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:35 PM   #4
ADM PERFORMANCE

 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 #138
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: DfW - Texas
Posts: 3,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Buster View Post
Love the gauge (have one) but cheesey instal IMO. Isn't there any better place for a 2 1/8 gauge ?
No place in this car for a 2 " gauge,But you can always take them apart -

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...=adm+aeroforce

Andy
ADM PERFORMANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 12:44 PM   #5
tjd24
Thank you Oshawa/St.Cats!
 
tjd24's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS 2G1FC1EV4A9103434
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NW NJ
Posts: 3,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Buster View Post
Love the gauge (have one) but cheesey instal IMO. Isn't there any better place for a 2 1/8 gauge ?
As I said - its temporary until the Fesler A-Pillar is available - so thanks for your "cheesey install" comment - at least I get to use the gauge in the meantime...

I posted to give visibility to the AeroForce Inceptor gauge, not to take sarcasm for a temporary install.
__________________
http://www.hubgarage.com/mygarage/tjd24 http://ny5thgen.com/TJD_RS.htm
#3434 Born 4-15-2009, Delivered 5-22-2009 BBOMG 2/3/4 & booked for #5
tjd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 07:16 AM   #6
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
I am getting the duals later on. I still have no idea on where to mount them. The pillar pods aren't ready yet, and haven't heard much about them lately.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 05:34 PM   #7
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 24,403
I'll post up a few pics of my install incase anyone comes across this thread like I did and didn't find much.

Pull the rubber back and pop the top of the A-pillar out.

Name:  Capture.JPG
Views: 503
Size:  54.6 KB

You can see the safety clip here that you will need to pop off and re-install on the new Pod Pillar

Name:  Capture1.JPG
Views: 503
Size:  50.0 KB

I just pulled the bottom of the A-pillar out and twisted it around to get a hold of the clip to easily slide it forward and off

Name:  Capture2.JPG
Views: 494
Size:  58.9 KB

Notice the tab that releases the clip.

Name:  Capture3.JPG
Views: 492
Size:  49.2 KB

Pic of the stock A-pillar removed
Name:  Capture4.JPG
Views: 494
Size:  55.0 KB

Pic of the Autometer Gauge pillar and the silver mount where the clip will slide back on

Name:  Capture5.JPG
Views: 506
Size:  53.1 KB

Pics of where I tucked the extra wire. Note: I have radar detector and footwell wires in here as well so it's a bit messy.

Name:  Capture6.JPG
Views: 490
Size:  70.8 KB

Pic of the OBDII plug. Save this til last and just plug and go.

Name:  Capture7.JPG
Views: 478
Size:  60.2 KB

Just showing the back of the gauges after installed and the small plug attached. This plug only goes one way (slots on the side and ribs on the front) Make sure it is pushed in all the way or it will easily unplug itself.

Name:  Capture8.JPG
Views: 498
Size:  85.4 KB

Once gauges are plugged up and the clip is installed on the new pillar. Stab the end of the Pod Pillar into the slot and push until everything lines up. Peek in the top (Pic #1) to ensure the pin on the clip is lined up to snap the top side back in and you're done.

Name:  Capture9.JPG
Views: 483
Size:  54.5 KB

Before you plug everything up do a test fit to make sure the gauges turned so they are level when installed. I guessed at it the first time and was way off.

Name:  Capture91.JPG
Views: 482
Size:  61.9 KB
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 05:51 PM   #8
mst504
 
mst504's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Orange SS L99 HPE Supercharged
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Woodstock, Georgia
Posts: 977
Any videos of the install? I called a shop local to me about doing the install, and just to install the gauges was $300 ($150 per gauge). I have been sitting on these gauges for probably a year or so lol.
mst504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 05:57 PM   #9
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 24,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by mst504 View Post
Any videos of the install? I called a shop local to me about doing the install, and just to install the gauges was $300 ($150 per gauge). I have been sitting on these gauges for probably a year or so lol.
These are virtually plug and play. Can't see anyone charging over 30 bucks to install.

The A-pillar pops right off and I provided a good pic of how the clip comes off of the stock one.

Pop off the side fuse panel as well and just tuck the extra wires in where I circled. I think the hardest part was plugging the small plug up to the back of the gauge. Before I snapped the new A-pillar into place I turned the key on and made sure they came on.

Really not much to it.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:08 PM   #10
mst504
 
mst504's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Orange SS L99 HPE Supercharged
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Woodstock, Georgia
Posts: 977
Thank you for adding the text for each step, definitely helps out.

I can't wait to install mine, had no idea it was so easy. Hopefully the weather is nice enough tomorrow for me to do it.

I don't think I'll be able to read boost pressure until I have a shop install the new ZR1 map sensor though. The shop I mentioned above, wanted to do a complete retune to install the sensor, another $300 - $400 I think. So the gauge install would have ran me $600+ if I had went with them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
These are virtually plug and play. Can't see anyone charging over 30 bucks to install.

The A-pillar pops right off and I provided a good pic of how the clip comes off of the stock one.

Pop off the side fuse panel as well and just tuck the extra wires in where I circled. I think the hardest part was plugging the small plug up to the back of the gauge. Before I snapped the new A-pillar into place I turned the key on and made sure they came on.

Really not much to it.
mst504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:15 PM   #11
blake-b

 
blake-b's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,578
In order to read boost correctly with zr1 sensor, you will need a tuner to input the necessary adjustments. Im on a phone or I would link threads but a search will turn them up.

Installing the sensor is as easy as unplugging the wiring and removing a screw. Pulling stock sensor out and putting zr1 sensor in, replacing screw and plugging connector back in. 5 minutes at the most

Last edited by blake-b; 12-06-2013 at 07:32 PM.
blake-b is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 07:42 PM   #12
mst504
 
mst504's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Orange SS L99 HPE Supercharged
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Woodstock, Georgia
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by blake-b View Post
In order to read boost correctly with zr1 sensor, you will need a tuner to input the necessary adjustments. Im on a phone or I would link threads but a search will turn them up.

Installing the sensor is as easy as unplugging the wiring and removing a screw. Pulling stock sensor out and putting zr1 sensor in, replacing screw and plugging connector back in. 5 minutes at the most

Yeah I know, but this shop was telling me that they had to do a complete retune, because they used different software than my previous tuner (ATLPF.com).

I don't know if that is true or not, but I know the MAP sensor install is easy, the tune adjustments is what is holding me up. I'd rather not get a complete retune if I'm not upgrading any parts.
mst504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 03:10 PM   #13
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 24,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by mst504 View Post
Yeah I know, but this shop was telling me that they had to do a complete retune, because they used different software than my previous tuner (ATLPF.com).

I don't know if that is true or not, but I know the MAP sensor install is easy, the tune adjustments is what is holding me up. I'd rather not get a complete retune if I'm not upgrading any parts.
I'd stay clear of that shop. If you have further questions on something tune specific post up a new thread or ask the guys in this thread. That's what the forum is for.

Glad the text helped.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY : Radar Detector Hardwire Install themossman Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 181 07-29-2014 07:30 AM
DIY Rally Stripe Graphic Installation Tips (wet install) SUPERSPORTED Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 26 10-11-2010 02:36 AM
ADM PERFORMANCE DOES CUSTOM AEROFORCE INTERCEPTOR INSTALL ON CAMARO ADM PERFORMANCE Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 48 05-01-2010 06:51 AM
AeroForce Interceptor Gauge Install tjd24 Audio / Visual / Electronics/ Gauges / Nav 7 10-21-2009 08:38 AM
DIY Body Kit Install & Paint scythezo6 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 0 08-21-2009 03:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.