Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hurst Shifters
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2010, 04:18 PM   #1
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Changing a 6 speed to Automatic

I am still waiting on the convertible Camaro to become available and was thinking of getting an auto this time instead of a 6 speed. (getting older or maybe lazy)

Now I realize it would be easier to just buy an auto Camaro but with all the problems I have read about trying to get the computer tuning right for the 6L80E transmission I was wondering if a trans swap, from 6 speed to 6 speed auto with a stand alone computer would work better.

The engine would still have the extra hp from factory and the VVT would be gone along with the paddle shift setup and extra buttons. Change the shifter on the console to what ever you like and go.

Just an idea I had what do you think.

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:04 PM   #2
Robert91RS

 
Robert91RS's Avatar
 
Drives: Everywhere
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 852
Way too much money to do a swap. The A6 cars I have seen don't seem to be having any issues and it would still be cheaper to delete AFM and VVT.
Robert91RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 05:13 PM   #3
speedster
SST...
 
speedster's Avatar
 
Drives: SST Camaro 2010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: East Coast of Florida
Posts: 6,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KWIK4U View Post
I am still waiting on the convertible Camaro to become available and was thinking of getting an auto this time instead of a 6 speed. (getting older or maybe lazy)

Now I realize it would be easier to just buy an auto Camaro but with all the problems I have read about trying to get the computer tuning right for the 6L80E transmission I was wondering if a trans swap, from 6 speed to 6 speed auto with a stand alone computer would work better.

The engine would still have the extra hp from factory and the VVT would be gone along with the paddle shift setup and extra buttons. Change the shifter on the console to what ever you like and go.

Just an idea I had what do you think.

Danny
There is presently no stand-alone computer for the 6L80E in the Camaro. I tried to get one... :(
__________________
speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:14 PM   #4
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert91RS View Post
Way too much money to do a swap. The A6 cars I have seen don't seem to be having any issues and it would still be cheaper to delete AFM and VVT.

Lots of posts on this site about the auto not being able to handle hp. With saving the money at the dealership by going 6 speed and sell the 6 speed afterward should take the bite out of a pocketbook.

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster View Post
There is presently no stand-alone computer for the 6L80E in the Camaro. I tried to get one... :(

That.......... is a major problem, guess I will just have to wait.

Like I said just an idea, I have done this to another older car (4L60E with a stand alone computer) I thought it could work for a new one.

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:22 PM   #6
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,364
I think it's blasphemy.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:38 PM   #7
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
I think it's blasphemy.


I am sorry.... please forgive me!! Must be a sign of getting older


Danny (the sorry guy)
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 08:39 PM   #8
speedster
SST...
 
speedster's Avatar
 
Drives: SST Camaro 2010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: East Coast of Florida
Posts: 6,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KWIK4U View Post
That.......... is a major problem, guess I will just have to wait.

Like I said just an idea, I have done this to another older car (4L60E with a stand alone computer) I thought it could work for a new one.

Danny
You can do it with a swap to a 4L60E, 4L80E or 4L85E, but then of course you lose the 2 additional gears. The 6L80E is actually a pretty tough unit, but the HP parts are not all out there yet. The lack of stand-alone computer is an issue because the factory trans runs on a digital bus interface to the main computer and the data streams are not public knowledge. Can't blame GM in the least bit, they have a lot to protect.
__________________
speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:54 PM   #9
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Well maybe all it takes is a little more time and someone will work the bugs out and it will hold up just fine. When the 4L60 first came out it wasn't all great either.

By the way, I agree with you "to much hp is almost enough"

Thanks for the info

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:17 PM   #10
speedster
SST...
 
speedster's Avatar
 
Drives: SST Camaro 2010
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: East Coast of Florida
Posts: 6,057
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KWIK4U View Post
By the way, I agree with you "to much hp is almost enough"
Danny - Based on your avatar, you are there too !!!

Factory Five makes nice stuff...
__________________
speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 02:50 PM   #11
2010 SSRS



 
2010 SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 3 V8 Camaros
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Ocean State
Posts: 123,973
wow
__________________
Jannetty Racing JRE Street Package
2010 SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 04:31 PM   #12
Total_Perf_Eng
 
Total_Perf_Eng's Avatar
 
Drives: Corvette
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to Total_Perf_Eng
You can do it..

The C6 Corvette Community has been doing it for a few years now. It is just an EXTENSIVE wiring job, to re-wire the PCM, and all other systems.

You can also do a TCI 6L80E swap, and use their TCI T-com controller. It is an EXTREMELY simple hook up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster View Post
There is presently no stand-alone computer for the 6L80E in the Camaro. I tried to get one... :(
Total_Perf_Eng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 08:52 AM   #13
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Total_Perf_Eng View Post
You can do it..

The C6 Corvette Community has been doing it for a few years now. It is just an EXTENSIVE wiring job, to re-wire the PCM, and all other systems.

You can also do a TCI 6L80E swap, and use their TCI T-com controller. It is an EXTREMELY simple hook up.

Is the wiring job extensive because of changing an auto to auto with standalone computer or going from 6 speed to auto with stand alone computer. I thought with a swap from manual to auto it would be simpler because of using a stand alone computer and harness?

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 08:58 AM   #14
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster View Post
Danny - Based on your avatar, you are there too !!!

Factory Five makes nice stuff...
Thanks, I sure do love my roadster and the company couldn't be nicer to deal with but I have always be a GM man myself. My first performance car was a 74 Camaro and after that I was hooked. I have a gentleman who is buying my FFR roadster so I have money to lay down on a convertible Camaro.

It's hard waiting!:(

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:00 PM   #15
LC
ou mai gad
 
LC's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 2SS x2
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MX
Posts: 640
buy A6... swap engine front cover / cam and MAYBE lifters, some tunning to disable all that VVT crap and boila...

easier, and you dont have to mess with a bunch of complex stuff...
__________________
LC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:26 PM   #16
Total_Perf_Eng
 
Total_Perf_Eng's Avatar
 
Drives: Corvette
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to Total_Perf_Eng
Going from manual to auto is by far the easiest way. Yes, you can just run a standalone. BUT.. If the person wants to re-pin their PCM using factory wiring, it is a nightmare of epic proportions.

Personally, I would ditch the 6L80 (they suck for power capabilities) and install a built 4L80E, with a TCI controller. This will allow you to run their paddle shift kit as well..
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KWIK4U View Post
Is the wiring job extensive because of changing an auto to auto with standalone computer or going from 6 speed to auto with stand alone computer. I thought with a swap from manual to auto it would be simpler because of using a stand alone computer and harness?

Danny
Total_Perf_Eng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 09:20 AM   #17
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Total_Perf_Eng View Post
Going from manual to auto is by far the easiest way. Yes, you can just run a standalone. BUT.. If the person wants to re-pin their PCM using factory wiring, it is a nightmare of epic proportions.

Personally, I would ditch the 6L80 (they suck for power capabilities) and install a built 4L80E, with a TCI controller. This will allow you to run their paddle shift kit as well..

That sounds like a good idea, I will have to look into that.

Thanks

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 09:32 AM   #18
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,401
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 11:15 AM   #19
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
TCI Transmissions claims to have a 6 speed auto that has a lifetime guarantee to 850 HP. I am not sure how it would install in a auto car but it has a standalone computer system with both auto and full manual shifting.

I might have to look into this when the time gets closer for my convertible to come.

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Speed Mustang Automatic vs 6 speed Camaro Automatic ColoCamaro Chevy Camaro vs... 23 06-09-2009 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.