Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Classic Design Concepts
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2009, 10:01 PM   #51
bkwagonss
 
bkwagonss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Caprice PPV
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 178
Thanks for the write-up.
I just ordered the parts. I'm going to try it.
I ordered 20 ft of the EL lighting and both the 0-4 and 4-8 inverters.
I'll do the dash lighting for now with the 0-4.
Then later I change over to the 4-8 and add the floor lighting.

I have an idea about using the square holes instead of drilling.
What if you attached the wire and connector to the EL.
Then did all the sanding and attach the tube to the trim pieces.
Then plug the EL in and feed it through the square hole from behind.
Then feed the EL through the tube and snap the trim back in place.
I'll try it and take pictures.

I guess I'll go to the trouble of taking the door panels off and exposing the rest of the light tube in the door, so it goes all the way to the dash also.
This is a lot of work for a little bit of extra lighting, but I think it's worth it.
__________________
2011 Caprice PPV detective LS V8 Karma
2010 Camaro SS/RS M6 Victory Red, beige interior, chrome wheels
1994 Caprice Wagon (wrecked)
1971 C10 (restoring, including LT1 from Caprice)
bkwagonss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:09 PM   #52
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagons View Post
Thanks for the write-up.
I just ordered the parts. I'm going to try it.
I ordered 20 ft of the EL lighting and both the 0-4 and 4-8 inverters.
I'll do the dash lighting for now with the 0-4.
Then later I change over to the 4-8 and add the floor lighting.

I have an idea about using the square holes instead of drilling.
What if you attached the wire and connector to the EL.
Then did all the sanding and attach the tube to the trim pieces.
Then plug the EL in and feed it through the square hole from behind.
Then feed the EL through the tube and snap the trim back in place.
I'll try it and take pictures
.

I guess I'll go to the trouble of taking the door panels off and exposing the rest of the light tube in the door, so it goes all the way to the dash also.
This is a lot of work for a little bit of extra lighting, but I think it's worth it.
This would work You could add an extra foot or more of regular wire to the plug, and then when your about to install, you could pull it through and hide it in the dash
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:01 PM   #53
kga10734
Don't Feed the Troll
 
kga10734's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS & 1999 Corvette
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 782
Got mine done, but I still need to go back and glue the tube in place and do the fine sanding to the trim pieces. At least I have it working so far. Once I get the dash fine tuned, I'll start working on the doors. I may go ahead and put El wire in the doors as well.

The sanding is a bitch, but trying to get the El wire down the tubes is worse unless you had a trick to do it.









__________________
kga10734 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:18 PM   #54
khislop007
ZEUSS
 
khislop007's Avatar
 
Drives: Hard!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cayman Islands
Posts: 2,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarorick View Post
Looks great Did you also sand a little where the light was already visible..... Looks much brighter than mine..... Next mod for me
Actually I only sanded the the piece that was covered up. It really does look bright in those pictures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkwagonss View Post
Thanks for the write-up.
I just ordered the parts. I'm going to try it.
I ordered 20 ft of the EL lighting and both the 0-4 and 4-8 inverters.
I'll do the dash lighting for now with the 0-4.
Then later I change over to the 4-8 and add the floor lighting.

I have an idea about using the square holes instead of drilling.
What if you attached the wire and connector to the EL.
Then did all the sanding and attach the tube to the trim pieces.
Then plug the EL in and feed it through the square hole from behind.
Then feed the EL through the tube and snap the trim back in place.
I'll try it and take pictures.

I guess I'll go to the trouble of taking the door panels off and exposing the rest of the light tube in the door, so it goes all the way to the dash also.
This is a lot of work for a little bit of extra lighting, but I think it's worth it.
I was thinking of doing the same thing. I just couldn't bare to put a drill to my dash.....that's why I didn't want to get the GM LED's and light tube.....also having to drill holes in the corners.

I figured with this kit I could get away without having to drill any holes with all of those square slots already there.
__________________
khislop007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 11:25 PM   #55
bkwagonss
 
bkwagonss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Caprice PPV
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by kga10734 View Post
The sanding is a bitch, but trying to get the El wire down the tubes is worse unless you had a trick to do it.
When sticking the antenna wire down the tube on an RC car we used to drip a drop of oil down the tube. It helped the wire slide down the tube easier.
I would think you could do the same for this.
__________________
2011 Caprice PPV detective LS V8 Karma
2010 Camaro SS/RS M6 Victory Red, beige interior, chrome wheels
1994 Caprice Wagon (wrecked)
1971 C10 (restoring, including LT1 from Caprice)
bkwagonss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 01:30 AM   #56
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarorick View Post
Sorry to hear that Tag.... Yeah the Dremel is a great tool, but it can be dangerous. The sanding is the most critical part.

EVERYONE, start with 400 grit.... work your way to 800, and finish off with 1000. Be prepared to be at this for a few hours, take your time or you'll be ordering new dash inserts.


By the way, I've added two daylight photos of the trim on the first post


Passenger side is $80 and the driver side is $40!

...I went ahead and checked it out today. The paint is called Graphite Silver, if I remember correctly. I'm going to see if I can find some matching paint, re-tape the back (but from the opposite side) so that I get a cleaner line when painting over the pre-painted surface.

FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING GOOD.....


TAKE YOUR TIME SANDING AND DON'T RUSH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




Do just what is said above with starting out with the 400, to 800, and eventually go to the 1000 grit. You'll be fine.

DO NOT USE THAT D@MN DREMEL TOO!

Here's a couple pix. When I used the dremel, I went back and retaped the back of the panel. It looks PERFECT at night. But, you can see how jacked up it is with daylight hitting it. A little paint and it'll be good as new. If not, I'm buying that new passenger side panel. The drivers side is perfect.
Attached Images
  
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:15 AM   #57
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by kga10734 View Post
Got mine done, but I still need to go back and glue the tube in place and do the fine sanding to the trim pieces. At least I have it working so far. Once I get the dash fine tuned, I'll start working on the doors. I may go ahead and put El wire in the doors as well.

The sanding is a bitch, but trying to get the El wire down the tubes is worse unless you had a trick to do it.
It could be that there were internal burrs on the tube after you cut it ? If I recall correctly, you ordered the 2.5mm wire too. I know the tube here in Canada can accommodate 2.5mm wire easily, maybe the U.S. aquarium industry uses a thicker wall

I don't think there's an issue with spraying a little lube before you insert
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:29 AM   #58
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Here's a comparison of the two sanding methods, this should convince everyone to take their time

Last edited by camarorick; 04-10-2013 at 09:56 AM.
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:30 AM   #59
sugar'n'spice


 
Drives: .
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: .
Posts: 19,731
sugar'n'spice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:03 AM   #60
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 666
I figured out where I'll put some extra footage of wire to compensate... GLOVE BOX. It needs a light... maybe I'll run a few inches of it back to the arm rest storage area also.
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:04 AM   #61
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 666
Oh and why can't we just use a paint remover or oven cleaner to remove that bead of paint instead of all the tedious sanding? I haven't looked or tried yet but isn't the plastic smooth/glossy under the paint?
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:29 AM   #62
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrek View Post
I figured out where I'll put some extra footage of wire to compensate... GLOVE BOX. It needs a light... maybe I'll run a few inches of it back to the arm rest storage area also.
As long as the footage of wire is in spec of the driver, you should be okay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrek View Post
Oh and why can't we just use a paint remover or oven cleaner to remove that bead of paint instead of all the tedious sanding? I haven't looked or tried yet but isn't the plastic smooth/glossy under the paint?
DO NOT TRY ANY SOLVENTS ON THE PLASTIC..... You'll probably FUBAR the trim, besides, How are you going to give it a straight line.

The plastic is smooth under the paint, but as your sanding, that smooth/glossiness disapears..... I actually sprayed a clear coat on the trim after I sanded to see what it would look like, and it looked absolutely amazing with the EL light off..... I then put the EL light on, and it didn't look too nice. The sanded part of the trim NEEDS to have a "MAT" finish for the light to diffuse properly .
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 11:39 AM   #63
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarorick View Post
Here's a comparison of the two sanding methods, this should convince everyone to take their time
EXACTLY!!!




I'm looking for who sells the touch up paint now. It's called graphite silver according to my GM guy. My plan is to re-tape the backside on the edge (opposite where the tape actually was when I started to sand), and repaint. That way, I'll get that perfect line.

I really can't believe I screwed it up....It was late. I was tired. I figured I could just take shortcuts. Not smart to do on this mod.

Just follow the directions and do it RIGHT!
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 02:25 PM   #64
TJ91
:chevy:
 
TJ91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,490
Tag, lmao you butchered that panel hahaha
Hopefully the touch up should work fine....btw your light looks bright as hell and a really thick strip. Looks great, just got to fix it up a bit
TJ91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 02:26 PM   #65
TJ91
:chevy:
 
TJ91's Avatar
 
Drives: 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,490
Hey rick, you did a GREAT job on that line...did the tape work that well?
TJ91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 03:18 PM   #66
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ91 View Post
Hey rick, you did a GREAT job on that line...did the tape work that well?
Sure did, and that's because I took my time
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:25 PM   #67
third1
speed freak
 
third1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cadillac Escalade,10 IOM 2ss
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Neenah Wi
Posts: 1,131
I started to sand on mine (IOM) It was very noticeable, I'm not sure I want to see that line during the day.Is the silver very noticeable when sanded ?
__________________
Current:2012 Cadilac Escalade.2011 CVO StreetGlide cammed,tuned&loud. 2010 IMO/IO,custom stripes,GFX,sunrf,solo exhaust,JBA shorties,rotofab,Jannetty tune,Pfadt,JLw6 Audison&Hertz,7/4/09 2GIFKIEJ6A9123779Del 7/10/09 Former Camaros 72 LT1 Z28, 86 z28
third1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 12:57 AM   #68
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ91 View Post
Tag, lmao you butchered that panel hahaha
Hopefully the touch up should work fine....btw your light looks bright as hell and a really thick strip. Looks great, just got to fix it up a bit


That's what happens when you try to take shortcuts and use a dremmel tool.

Won't happen again! Yeah...the light is bright. And, I'm thinking of widening the door lights as well. THINKING....

BTW, I completely fixed the driver side insert today. It looks GREAT. NOTHING like the passenger side.
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 01:10 AM   #69
Dax1592
 
Dax1592's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS inferno orange/blk rally
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: san antonio
Posts: 46
anybody know what size plug fits the power source plug that came on the car,,,,Model number, size, anything?
Dax1592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:09 AM   #70
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 666
Good question. Item #2 on the photo in the original post is a little vague. What plug and where can we get one?
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:47 AM   #71
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dax1592 View Post
anybody know what size plug fits the power source plug that came on the car,,,,Model number, size, anything?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrek View Post
Good question. Item #2 on the photo in the original post is a little vague. What plug and where can we get one?
DOH

Sorry guys, this piece I found in a local wholesale electronics store.... It didn't exactly fit, but with my trusty dremel, it finally did .... Ultimately you need to connect to the power source, it could be with a plug, hardwired, or some type of crimp connector
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:52 AM   #72
garcmol


 
garcmol's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 1LT SIM; 91 B4C sleeper Z
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft. Mitchell, Alabama
Posts: 7,382
I think this looks awesome! Question though. Is the female power connector above the fuse box present in all trim levels of camaro? Have a 1LT and would like to see this in my car.
garcmol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:54 AM   #73
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by kga10734 View Post
The sanding is a bitch, but trying to get the El wire down the tubes is worse unless you had a trick to do it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarorick View Post
It could be that there were internal burrs on the tube after you cut it ? If I recall correctly, you ordered the 2.5mm wire too. I know the tube here in Canada can accommodate 2.5mm wire easily, maybe the U.S. aquarium industry uses a thicker wall
I measured the I.D., and O.D. of the tube I used, and it should accomodate 2.5mm wire with no problems

Last edited by camarorick; 04-10-2013 at 09:56 AM.
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:08 AM   #74
yubman
 
Drives: paid for
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarorick View Post
DOH

Sorry guys, this piece I found in a local wholesale electronics store.... It didn't exactly fit, but with my trusty dremel, it finally did .... Ultimately you need to connect to the power source, it could be with a plug, hardwired, or some type of crimp connector

I believe this is the "offical GM" connector (from one of your earlier ABL threads) if you want to buy it for $27:

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=209

For that price it shouldn't be too hard to find something that can be modified to work.
yubman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:19 AM   #75
camarorick

 
camarorick's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: .
Posts: 2,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by garcmol View Post
I think this looks awesome! Question though. Is the female power connector above the fuse box present in all trim levels of camaro? Have a 1LT and would like to see this in my car.
I believe these plugs are only on the 2LT / 2SS....Not sure You could always pull the panel off to check
camarorick is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.