Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion

Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 1/4 mile, 1/8 mile, launch discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2009, 10:59 PM   #1
Breastman
 
Breastman's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Avalanche
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 62
Auto burnouts

I would like to smoke my tires once or twice with my auto tranny. Can i get some tips? Should i actually floor the gas peddal? Can i use the emergency brake? Does the E brake hold all 4 tires, front or back? Don't want to be crazy,just would like to lay some rubber in front of my house
Breastman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:54 AM   #2
RLHMARINES
1st Civ. Div.
 
RLHMARINES's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1 Black, aka "Big SexZ"
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 964
Take the traction control off and put the gear selector in sport/manual position. Hold tour brake pedal down a little just long enough while flooring your gas pedal. Once you gat a good burnout going let off the brakes. Try it, you will like it.
RLHMARINES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 03:04 AM   #3
zebra
just can't seem to leave
 
zebra's Avatar
 
Drives: your mom wild!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: cold & windy
Posts: 11,510
and the parking brake holds your rear wheels... not something you want for a burnout
__________________
zebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:09 AM   #4
HDDAN

 
HDDAN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS 2007 HD FLSTC
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breastman View Post
I would like to smoke my tires once or twice with my auto tranny. Can i get some tips? Should i actually floor the gas peddal? Can i use the emergency brake? Does the E brake hold all 4 tires, front or back? Don't want to be crazy,just would like to lay some rubber in front of my house
I have an L99. Turn off the traction control. Put the tranny in "M". Step on the brake, bring the rev's up to 1,200 rpm, in one motion, floor the gas and release the brake. If you have a V-8, you will smoke em right up. If you shut off the traction control and nail it from a dead stop in "M" or "D", you will also light em up. The E-brake only holds the rear wheels.
HDDAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:31 AM   #5
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 526
pull the #5 and #20 fuse and do it anytime in D or M.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:13 AM   #6
MontyCarlo

 
MontyCarlo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS auto IBM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1camaro70 View Post
pull the #5 and #20 fuse and do it anytime in D or M.
Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"
__________________
FAQs:
1. No, I do not have any strong opinions about the Monte Carlo.
2. Yes, I know what my name looks like.
3. Yes, but the medication helps immensely.

2LT/RS IBM/gray #21,895 ordered April 21st, delivered July 3rd
MontyCarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:23 AM   #7
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 526
[QUOTE=MontyCarlo;1062163]Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"[/QUO

as a V-6 owner you must know more than a L99 owner, the dyno says the fuse pull added 15 HP 20 Ft. Lb. torque AFTER the fuse pull, so it has been tested at least on one L99.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:33 AM   #8
ftshark
 
ftshark's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS CGM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 171
I have squawked them a few times, but smoking them no way those tires are too expensive for that.
__________________
:: Ordered 5/13/09 :: Delivered to Customer 10/6/09 ::
1SS/RS ~ AUTOMATIC ~ CYBER GRAY METALLIC ~ SILVER RALLY STRIPES
ftshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:37 AM   #9
klatterblast

 
klatterblast's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 2ssrs blk.
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: walker la.
Posts: 1,704
[QUOTE=1camaro70;1062213]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"[/QUO

as a V-6 owner you must know more than a L99 owner, the dyno says the fuse pull added 15 HP 20 Ft. Lb. torque AFTER the fuse pull, so it has been tested at least on one L99.
so your saying leave them out i heard this is to reset for octane levels but you have to put them back in ???
klatterblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:40 AM   #10
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,486
No smokin for me, gotta get a good break in first.
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:02 PM   #11
manimsoblack

 
manimsoblack's Avatar
 
Drives: 04 Pontiac Grand Am, 08 Ninja 650r
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bradenton/Ruskin FL
Posts: 1,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1camaro70 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"
as a V-6 owner you must know more than a L99 owner, the dyno says the fuse pull added 15 HP 20 Ft. Lb. torque AFTER the fuse pull, so it has been tested at least on one L99.
And why was the fuse pull necessary?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle2k View Post
You take a shit on everything fun and good on this forum.
manimsoblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:34 PM   #12
1camaro70
 
1camaro70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS L99
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: BUTLER, PA
Posts: 526
do the search function, basically if the dealer (or you) put in 87 octane the computer does not seem to be able to LEARN once the 91 or 93 octane is used, it stays defaulted to the low octane table and you get lower performance. Mine and others on this site were slow to the point of us questioning whether to trade/ sell. If you pull the 5 and 20 fuse, in the fuse box in the engine compartment for at least one hour, the computer resets to the high octane table, and POWER is AMAZING!!!!!!!

V-8 only.
1camaro70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 12:41 PM   #13
AtreidesMarine
 
Drives: 1998 Camaro Z28
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 6
hahahaha
This thread is genius, I'm surprised there were any replies.

AtreidesMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:06 PM   #14
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 5,899
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"
LS3 have the same issue. Glad yo know you know all about us.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:09 PM   #15
67 Convertible

 
67 Convertible's Avatar
 
Drives: 67 Camaro Convertible
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLHMARINES View Post
Take the traction control off and put the gear selector in sport/manual position. Hold tour brake pedal down a little just long enough while flooring your gas pedal. Once you gat a good burnout going let off the brakes. Try it, you will like it.
This even works with my V6 auto....scarey!!!
__________________
_____________________________________________
2LT/RS RJT, Blk Rally Stripes, Beige Interior, Sunroof
Placed order at dealer 4/24/09
1100 - 4/28/09
2000 - 5/01/09
2500 - 5/05/09
3000 - 5/05/09
3300 - 5/30/09
3400 - 6/05/09
3800 - 6/18/09
4000 - 6/18/09
4B00 - 6/18/09
4200 - 6/22/09
5000 - 7/01/09
6000 - 7/01/09 It's Home!!
0000 - 7/14/11 Traded in with 24,000 miles. Currently 5th Gen less
67 Convertible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:19 PM   #16
2010 SSRS



 
2010 SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 3 V8 Camaros
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Ocean State
Posts: 123,989
How about if the car is in M and you use the paddle shift, will the tires keep smoking when the car is manually shifted into second gear?
2010 SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:30 PM   #17
GenetX
NUTRITION, INC
 
GenetX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SSRS REVOLUTIONSS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: DULUTH, GA
Posts: 155
how can I do a burnout with my manual V-8?
__________________
GenetX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:35 PM   #18
coolman
Guest
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 4,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenetX View Post
how can I do a burnout with my manual V-8?
you can do an awesome burnt out with a manual . I'm not trying to be smart, but if you have to ask you shouldn't do it with this car. It can get out from under you real fast.
coolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:40 PM   #19
acatlover13
Emerald Coast Camaros
 
acatlover13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Camaro IOM/IO
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lynn Haven, Florida
Posts: 2,623
Send a message via AIM to acatlover13 Send a message via Skype™ to acatlover13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyCarlo View Post
Disregard this. People have taken the workaround for a specific and rare L99 computer problem and warped it into "pull your fuses and your car will go faster!"
I was skeptical about the fuse pull too, until it got me almost 8 tenths, yes 8 TENTHS at the track. The low octane tables seriously rob this car of power. I went from a 9.22 at 75 mph to an 8.45 at 84 mph. The fuse pull works. Big Time!
acatlover13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 01:46 AM   #20
SZOTSTA24
 
SZOTSTA24's Avatar
 
Drives: Inferno Orange 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: From: Los Angeles Currently: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1camaro70 View Post
pull the #5 and #20 fuse and do it anytime in D or M.
are there any negatives to the fuse pull?
SZOTSTA24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:44 AM   #21
wrek
2G1FK1EJ6-9
 
wrek's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Transformer
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 666
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by SZOTSTA24 View Post
are there any negatives to the fuse pull?
Nope. Worst case, you get no gain (meaning the car isn't running on the low octane tables).
wrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:49 AM   #22
SZOTSTA24
 
SZOTSTA24's Avatar
 
Drives: Inferno Orange 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: From: Los Angeles Currently: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrek View Post
Nope. Worst case, you get no gain (meaning the car isn't running on the low octane tables).
so its not gunna cause the car to have some form of melt-down and die right? lol
SZOTSTA24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 05:40 AM   #23
patriotpa
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 02 Silverado, 09 Vue, 10 1SS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tired of apologizing when we should be kickin' butt!
Posts: 1,967
Just punch the throttle. It'll burn tire just fine. No other little tricks needed.
patriotpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:35 PM   #24
pnyklr

 
Drives: A Gift From My Wife
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by patriotpa View Post
Just punch the throttle. It'll burn tire just fine. No other little tricks needed.
Unless you get a rental from Budget with a full tank of 87 in it. It wouldn't even chirp the tires from a dead stop, TC off and in sport mode. :(

-Funk
pnyklr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:47 PM   #25
TheLazyBrownDog
 
Drives: 98 S10, 97 4Runner
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by SZOTSTA24 View Post
so its not gunna cause the car to have some form of melt-down and die right? lol
Only thing I noticed was once I put them back in it ran a little rough (depending on how sensitive you are to how the car idles you may not notice) for a few minutes untill the comp readjusted.
__________________
2SS/RS IBM M6 Sunroof : She's home. 03SEP09
It is better to have loved and lost...
Than live with a Psycho for the rest of your life.
TheLazyBrownDog is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Consensus Feb 6th Plus lots of other key dates UCF w00t 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 16 01-22-2009 11:39 PM
Camaro does the Nurburgring test track in 8:20 2sharp 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 45 07-23-2008 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.