Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2009, 10:01 PM   #1
jrpxxii


 
jrpxxii's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 427ci
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Posts: 3,226
Help with Check Engine Light after tune

About 2 days after I got tuned, my check engine light came on and the car stumbles all over itself at low throttle and cleans out after you get some rpms up. I had it checked at AutoZone to see what it read and here is what I got: "Bank 1, Sensor 1, Low Voltage" So what I did was check all fuses, for o2 sensors and they are good. Checked all plug in connections and they are good. I swapped the o2 sensors to see if it would give a different reading and it was the same, so its not the o2 sensor itself. I am asking if this is a tuning issue with getting too much fuel or not enough, or oxygen? What can I do to figure what is causing this? When I got tuned we set are fuel more towards rich than lean at 11.5 to.11.75 which is what we felt was good performance and also safe. Any HPTuners guys that could give some input on their opinions would be great. This may have nothing to do with tune but I don't know how to tell. My car is modified alot. S/C Cam, Injectors, ARH/Borla, CAI.
jrpxxii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:31 PM   #2
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpxxii View Post
About 2 days after I got tuned, my check engine light came on and the car stumbles all over itself at low throttle and cleans out after you get some rpms up. I had it checked at AutoZone to see what it read and here is what I got: "Bank 1, Sensor 1, Low Voltage" So what I did was check all fuses, for o2 sensors and they are good. Checked all plug in connections and they are good. I swapped the o2 sensors to see if it would give a different reading and it was the same, so its not the o2 sensor itself. I am asking if this is a tuning issue with getting too much fuel or not enough, or oxygen? What can I do to figure what is causing this? When I got tuned we set are fuel more towards rich than lean at 11.5 to.11.75 which is what we felt was good performance and also safe. Any HPTuners guys that could give some input on their opinions would be great. This may have nothing to do with tune but I don't know how to tell. My car is modified alot. S/C Cam, Injectors, ARH/Borla, CAI.
What is the tuner telling you may be the problem? I'd take the car back to the person that tuned them and ask them what is going on versus wasting time asking people here to diagnose it. It probably isn't a problem that is going to permanently damage your car...but better safe than sorry. Have you done any work to your car since your tune? If not, I'd think the tuner would be more than happy to take a look and make sure their work is not causing the issue.
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:37 PM   #3
POWERFREAK
I.AM.
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS/M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 2,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryTucker View Post
What is the tuner telling you may be the problem? I'd take the car back to the person that tuned them and ask them what is going on versus wasting time asking people here to diagnose it. It probably isn't a problem that is going to permanently damage your car...but better safe than sorry. Have you done any work to your car since your tune? If not, I'd think the tuner would be more than happy to take a look and make sure their work is not causing the issue.

__________________
2010 R6P-2SS/RS/LS3 - IBM w/ silver rally stripes / UNDER CONSTRUCTION.

NY5thgen.com
POWERFREAK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:55 AM   #4
jrpxxii


 
jrpxxii's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 427ci
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Posts: 3,226
Tuner is more than willing to help but he doesn't think it is in the tuning. The other thing is the closes person for a tune is over an hour away. If I don't figure it out, I am taking back to him to go through the tune.
jrpxxii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:14 AM   #5
2Tightwads
Banned
 
Drives: 2002 LS1 swapped into a 1994 Z
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpxxii View Post
About 2 days after I got tuned, my check engine light came on and the car stumbles all over itself at low throttle and cleans out after you get some rpms up. I had it checked at AutoZone to see what it read and here is what I got: "Bank 1, Sensor 1, Low Voltage" So what I did was check all fuses, for o2 sensors and they are good. Checked all plug in connections and they are good. I swapped the o2 sensors to see if it would give a different reading and it was the same, so its not the o2 sensor itself. I am asking if this is a tuning issue with getting too much fuel or not enough, or oxygen? What can I do to figure what is causing this? When I got tuned we set are fuel more towards rich than lean at 11.5 to.11.75 which is what we felt was good performance and also safe. Any HPTuners guys that could give some input on their opinions would be great. This may have nothing to do with tune but I don't know how to tell. My car is modified alot. S/C Cam, Injectors, ARH/Borla, CAI.
Thats the code for the driver side front O2 sensor not getting a correct signal. This sensor along with the passenger front sensor is what controls the fueling for the vehicle when in closed loop. Could be the tune if he didn't tune it for the longtube header install. Placement of the sensor itself has been moved down stream further requiring some ajustment in the tune itself. Something you can do yourself to see if its mechanical issue...Have you tried to see if the sensor is plugged in correctly? I would uplug and replug in to confirm the front 02 sensor is plugged in correctly. Also follow the wires from sensor to connection point to be certain nothing has been destroyed by accidentally resting against the headers/engine. Connection is up directly behind the head. Read the ARH LS3 header install instructions for more...
2Tightwads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:18 AM   #6
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpxxii View Post
Tuner is more than willing to help but he doesn't think it is in the tuning. The other thing is the closes person for a tune is over an hour away. If I don't figure it out, I am taking back to him to go through the tune.
From your description, this is the best thing you can do. You can't go to the dealership for a diagnostic on the O2...so its either the tuner you used or a local repair shop that is willing to work on it. Good luck-hope the repair is easy to find and correct. I know what its like to chase gremlins...
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:22 AM   #7
Scott@Bjorn3D


 
Scott@Bjorn3D's Avatar
 
Drives: Kami, 2013 2SS LS3 Luvin
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Eufaula, Alabama
Posts: 6,157
Send a message via MSN to Scott@Bjorn3D
And as soon as you go to the dealer they kill the warranty on the drivetrain do to the tune.
__________________
2013 2SS, GM Strut Tower Brace, CAI Intake Black, VMAX TB, Elite Catch Can, Hotchkis Chassis Brace, Hurst Shifter, 3.91 1LE Complete Rear End, NPP, 1LE Track Pack,Factory Reproductions Style 41 ZL1 Fitment Wheels 10" on all 4 corners
Scott@Bjorn3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:33 AM   #8
GaryTucker
 
Drives: 09 Vette GT1, 06 350Z, 82 MSE
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott@Bjorn3D View Post
And as soon as you go to the dealer they kill the warranty on the drivetrain do to the tune.


His drivetrain warranty is already toast even without the tune with the mods he says he has...but you sure don't want the words "warranty block" showing up on your service history!
GaryTucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:37 PM   #9
jrpxxii


 
jrpxxii's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 427ci
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Posts: 3,226
I have traced all the wires and its not connections or damaged wiring. I am going to take it to my tuner and let him go through it. My dealer and everyone else in this town know what this car has as it is a big interest in a smaller town. I never planned on worrying about warranty issues when I did the build as its kinda hard to hide all the mods when there right in front of you and the sound alone denies warranty. Anything that breaks will be replaced with stronger aftermarket items.
jrpxxii is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 2809 Yesterday 12:49 PM
List of Intakes that will work with the TVS-2300 MagnaCharger JJ2010 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 26 03-19-2010 03:11 AM
AirAid Cold Air Intake anyone? Flynnaz Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 12 01-01-2010 10:05 PM
Why i think you cant do a Dyno in the same day 2SSRS@Gen5diy Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 123 10-22-2009 08:37 PM
Voice Your Comments/Suggestions/Input for Focus Group on 2010 Camaro Mr. Wyndham 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 236 04-22-2008 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.